We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful owners wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schiltach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel, rooms, bathroom spotless,breakfast perfect. The owners couldn't have been more helpful

There is no no need to look any further for the ideal accommodation

Parking is available at side of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 206 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Schiltach is a quiet, beautiful little town near Schramberg in the Black Forest. It's old wood timbered houses lead to a very interesting square with paintings on the house walls depicting Schiltach's past industry of logging.
Hotel Weyssen Rossle (old German spelling of White Horse) is a very old and well run establishment. It has been in the same family for 19 generations. Rose your hostess speaks English very well and is an absolute delight. Food is superb and the rustic dining room is just amazing. We have stayed there twice now and would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Although Schiltach might not be high on the list of tourist destinations in Germany, the quaint old town had everything we wanted to see in the Black Forest and the small hotel couldn't have been more perfect. Rose Wolber, who ran the hotel and restaurant, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and served outstanding food. My only criticisms are that the menu was only in German (with a difficult to read font) so Rose gave us one of their "special" English menus, and the food tended to be on the heavier side with no chicken or fish. However, my wife said that her schnitzel was the best she had ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakprk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked at this hotel after reading TA reviews and were offered the room with the four-posterbed.

The hotel is located at the edge of town (very small) and has parking for guests. The lovely wood-timbered houses start from the street right next to the hotel. This street leads to the center of the old town and is magical at night, lit by lanterns. Schiltach is a town out of a fairy-tale book.

Our room looked out onto the main street but Schiltach is small and there weren't many cars so it wasn't noisy. Not sure if the windows were double glazed or not. The view is not particularly overwhelming as there are the offices of a large company right across - which makes it popular among businessmen as well.

The bathroom had a very fancy shower system with rainshower head.

We tried out the restaurant for dinner. Our choices were well-presented and the portions huge. Unfortunately, I found my dish a little too salty for my palate but Germans seem used to salty food.

The breakfast selection was sufficient and eggs were made to order.

Not a bad choice although some people might wish to stay right in the center of town surrounded by the fairy-tale houses.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franinmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for visiting the Black Forest. It is spotlessly clean and owned by a lovely couple. He is a chef and the food is delicious. She runs the front of house and is so helpful and pleasant. She speaks at least German, English and French and I suspect other languages as well. He is the 19th generation to own the Inn and they take care of it so well; their ancestors would be proud and we would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a family run guest house & you'll feel like one of the family. Rose will welcome you & make you feel at home. It's a popular hotel for returning guests.
Breakfast is traditional German - boiled egg, freshly baked breads, meats, cheese, jams, fruit, cereal & yoghurt
Free wifi is a great bonus, especially for working travellers on a budget.
There's a restaurant in the hotel which has a good traditional German menu
It's perfect for travelling in small groups as you'll have the hotel to yourselves and it's easy quick walk to the pub, which does good pizza.
The only downside is the pillows - they're European with little neck support.
Location is perfect in the centre of town - walking distance to shops, supermarket & attractions.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small by Aussie standards, made for the solo traveller/business people. The double ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ncmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed overnight in the lovely town of Schiltach on our way to Slovenia. We received a very warm welcome on our arrival at the hotel. The room was very comfortable with a good shower.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had food recommended by Rose which we thoroughly enjoyed. The restaurant is very very charming with lots to look at!
The breakfast was buffet style with freshly boiled eggs cooked to order.
Next time we visit the Black Forest we will hopefully have more time and will stay at the hotel zum Weyssen Roessle again and enjoy their hospitality for a little longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazpDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
12.4 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
300 reviews
3.8 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Oberwolfach
49 reviews
24.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Nagold - Schwarzwald
17.7 mi away
Nationalpark-Hotel Schliffkopf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle

Address: Schenkenzeller Str. 42, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schiltach
Price Range: $97 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our guestrooms in our landmarked building are equipped carefully and with much love. Raindance shower, hair-dryer, minibar, W-Lan and landline phone calls for free, TV, of course, you can benefit from the advantages of the Konus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing