We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad dealings with zum Weyssen Roessle (a service review, as we did not stay)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schiltach
Certificate of Excellence
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bad dealings with zum Weyssen Roessle (a service review, as we did not stay)”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

*****This is purely a service review, as I was apparently not welcome to eat or sleep there.

Prior to our stay we attempted to book a room at the zum Weyssen Roessle. I was told that the Hotel was undergoing renovations at that they were closed. So, sure enough we walked past during our stay and they appeared very open. I then walked in the restaurant to try and book a table, I was turned away, they told me without a reservation there was no table. The tables were maybe 30% occupied at 1930 (which is late to start a meal in Germany).

All conversations were done in deutsch. And I do not look like riff-raff. Either they are trying to be uber exclusive or they are overwhelmed and should hire more staff and open its doors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
129
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel exceeded all expectations - and those expectations were high after reading earlier reviews! The most wonderful thing about this place is the very warm welcome we received and the great attention to customer care. Mrs Volber came to introduce herself personally when we arrived despite the fact she was in the kitchen producing the most wonderful meal. She knew our names, she offered to help us with our luggage. This was customer service at its best. The food - dinner and breakfast - was excellent;all cooked to order. The room was very nice - good size, extremely clean with lovely touches - fresh fruit etc. And on top of that Schiltach is the most fascinating place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A lovely, spotlessly clean and traditional guesthouse in the Black Forest serving excellent regional meals in the charming dining room. This, alone, would be enough to recommend it, but the real cherry on the torte is Rose, a most remarkable hostess! Upon our arrival, she lugged all our suitcases up to our rooms as if it were her absolute pleasure. Along with the free train tickets provided as part of the (very reasonable) room rate, she downloaded time tables for our intended journey. She seemed to be ever present to answer questions, to include telling us about the history of the Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle, which has been run by the same family since 1491. And when I returned home to Portland, what should be waiting for me but a packet from Schiltach with a cheery note from Rose and a set of the clever coasters she had forgotten to give me! I've traveled a great deal, both for business and leisure, but I have never before met such a delightful hostess! You will love the charming hotel in the historic village of Schiltach, but you will never forget Rose!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluecolumbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Rossle is a wonderful base for exploring Schiltach and the surrounding Black Forest. Such a lot of history here.
Rose is a lovely hostess and nothing is too much trouble for her. Excellent service , comfortable rooms - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spidey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this gem of a hotel as part of our touring holiday and it was one of the best decisions we made. Our hostess, Rose, greeted us with a big smile, immediately took control of our cases and led us to our comfortable clean bedroom, which I will add was cleaned every day. The hotel was meticulously clean and the dining room was tastefully decorated detailing the history of the hotel and town of Schiltach.
We had meals on 2 nights at the hotel and all I can say is that, "it was cooked with passion and served with pride", excellent traditional food, well done Ulrich.
Would definitely recommend the Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle and will we return to this lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCPar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is one of the traditional hotels in the region. This hotel is well located in the heart of the famous Black Forest so you can travel around most of the tourist spots within 1-2 hours of drive. It also has a beautiful neighborhood and the town nearby has most of the required shops, bars and nice restaurants. Given the age of the building, this hotel is well preserved inside out. Rooms are generally spacious, clean and tidy. The host is very kind and helpful as well as willing to provide much assistance/advices as required (dining places, shopping locations, and even local clinics). Moreover, we enjoyed the homey and tasty breakfast very much. This is a very good accommodation with reasonable price in the region.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning in most of the traditional hotels in the region. This may be a concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caveman_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We knew that our stay in this small hotel in Schiltach was going to be special since the very moment Rose, the hostess, came to shake hands and welcome each one in our group of ten, at the time of our arrival. Rose with her husband, Ulrich the "kitchen manager" , handle this extremely nice hotel in a way that makes you feel home, even if your home is very far away. Breakfast, but specially dinner, were outstanding, not only for the quality and quantity of the goods offered, but also for the exquisite details of the eating room and the atmosphere around the table that they prepare and keep with charm . Rooms were of different types and sizes but all showed very clean and the same level of detail as in the rest of the installations.
Price was very reasonable, and for our group which makes every year a trip to different countries within Europe, this hotel has been in our five years of experience, the best site.
It was a pity that we could only stay there for three days. I definitively consider that this hotel will overpass any expectations you may have about "hotels with charm".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmalbisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
3.8 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
17.2 mi away
Die Reichsstadt
Die Reichsstadt
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Winterhaldenhof
Hotel Winterhaldenhof
#2 of 2 in Schenkenzell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Rossle
Hotel Rossle
#1 of 5 in Alpirsbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Ritter Durbach
Hotel Ritter Durbach
#1 of 4 in Durbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle

Property: Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Address: Schenkenzeller Str. 42, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Schiltach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our guestrooms in our landmarked building are equipped carefully and with much love. Raindance shower, hair-dryer, minibar, W-Lan and landline phone calls for free, TV, of course, you can benefit from the advantages of the Konus system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing