We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zur Alten Brucke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zur Alten Brucke
Ranked #1 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night a recent road trip through Europe. Schiltach was recommended to us by my mother-in-law but we hadn't booked any accommodation. I unfortunately was very unwell when we arrived (due to a bout of food poisoning picked up from somewhere else) and so my husband was tasked with walking around and finding us a place to stay. He found Gasthof Brucke and I am so glad he did! It was absolutely lovely. Lisa, the hostess, was so caring and hospitable - she brought me up a cup of tea and gave me DVDs to watch as I wasn't going to be leaving the room. My husband made some friends with other people in the town and ended up bringing them all back to the hotel for dinner - and although the kitchen was closed, Michael and Lisa opened back up for them and they had a fantastic night.
The location is fantastic and the view from the room was over the river which was very pretty. I highly recommend staying in Schiltach and absolutely recommend staying at Basthof Brucke. The breakfast was great (so my husband said - I still wasn't eating) and they cooked him fresh eggs the way he wanted them. My only disappointment was that because I was sick I didn't get to enjoy it as much as I could. However, we will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    43
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
171
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Stayed here recently and it was just perfect. Lisa and Michael were so friendly and helpful during our stay. The river terrace was a wonderful location for afternoon drinks, coupled with cakes from the cake shop over the river (which is AMAZING). We had a meal that night in the guest house and our German friend who was traveling with us thought the food was some of the best he had had in the black forest. Breakfast was also great with lots of fresh fruit and pastries. The location is so central and we spent a wonderful day pottering around this picturesque town. We also went to the bathroom museum, which was surprisingly very good and free!! All in all a perfect stay. Would HIGHLY recommend you stay here,

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2009

My family and I have just returned from Germany and were fortunate to stay at the Gasthof Brucke. We were there only a few days but would have stayed longer. Our hosts were warm and friendly and extremely helpful, accommodations were very comfortable and the view of the river from our window was delightful. The owner of the hotel is an excellent chef. My husband, son and I ordered different things from the menu and each of us said it was delicious, a first class meal. I will recommend this place to family and friends. Our visit here was in the winter when snow was on the ground, extremely pretty, and we look forward to going back one day in the warmer months also. Whatever time of the year, the next time we are in the area, we will stay at the Gasthof Brucke.

  • Liked — The warmth and friendliness of our hosts, our comfortable rooms. We were there for a funeral. They were extremely sympathetic and helpful.
  • Disliked — We had no complaints.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 1950Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

As backpackers we could not find any hostels to stay in at Schiltach so we decided on this hotel due to the recommendation in the Lonely Planet and we were not disappointed. The owner of the business, Mike, is very friendly and a wonderful host. Although we were the only guests staying in the hotel the weekend we were there (travelling in the low season) we were still given the full treatment, i.e. full buffet breakfast, delicious dinners were offered which were very reasonably priced. The hotel room was magnificent too - very comfortable and with a view of the river. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone stopping in the beautiful little town of Schiltach!!

  • Liked — Everything was brilliant! Free wifi even offered!
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
0.2 mi away
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
#1 of 2 in Schiltach
196 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 3 in Schenkenzell
82 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
#1 of 7 in Wolfach
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Rossle
Hotel Rossle
#1 of 5 in Alpirsbach
50 reviews
6.6 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Oberwolfach
43 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel-Pension Cafe Schacher
Hotel-Pension Cafe Schacher
#2 of 4 in Oberwolfach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alten Brucke

Property: Zur Alten Brucke
Address: Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Alten Brucke 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small intimate hotel on the bank of the Schiltach River. Incredible restaurant with full bar and menu. The outdoor beer garden on the river is described by all who visit as "Boardwalk in Schiltach." Panoramic views from every direction sitting on the waters edge. If you want to stay where everyone will know your name, come to the Brucke. You will love our town and our little Black Forest Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing