We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley”
Review of Zur Alten Brucke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zur Alten Brucke
Ranked #1 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Michael, the owner, and Lyuvo, the cook, were outstanding hosts.. it was a very friendly tavern through the evening. We loved the food. English spoken easily here. Make sure you take some time to eat at their riverside dining pavilion. We toured Europe for a month and this was by and far the best place we stayed. Additionally, the location is central to all towns on the Romantic Road. Thanks Michael - Martie a

Free and plentiful parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Michael the owner is a great host.Friendly and warm who will go out of his way to help with anything.What I liked the most is actually to eat dinner at the enchanting peaceful beer garden outside by the river.
That can be only when the weather is warm enough .The room was clean with balcony that have view of the river. No elevator in the Inn but the staff helping carry the luggage up stair.
Nice breakfast and free Wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirit-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent two nights as a family of four. We knew when we booked the room that it will be a stretch for us (they were sold out of the larger rooms), so our 6 year old slept on a small cushion but he didn't mind (nor did we), we were all so exhausted from all the fun we had in Schiltach and Black Forest, so the room was really just a place to sleep.

Michael is very friendly and he made an effort to greet everyone in the morning and asked about our stay. The breakfast was great, we loved the vast amount of fruit selection. We also had dinner at the restaurant by the river twice, the food was absolutely delicious. Michael takes pride in his cooking and we all enjoyed it very much. The staff is friendly and they serve the best beer around -- Alpirsbach Dunkel. It was very pleasant to have dinner by the river and you can just walk up to your room after a wonderful meal.

Based on the room we stayed in, it is not the best we experienced in Germany, but everything else (friendly people, great food, location, beer) makes up to be one of our most memorable experience.

I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Definitely eat at the restaurant and try the maultaschen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinnievinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our group consisted of 3 adults, 1 toddler and a baby staying in 2 rooms. Everything asked for was provided (baby cot). We were welcomed warmly by Michael and shown our rooms. Naturally, during our stay a table we had chosen was reserved for all meals (a plus). The room we stayed in was facing the brook and I found it refreshing at night to listen to the water while in bed. Our room had a shower, with good water pressure and temperature.

The restaurant had a good menu, and importantly served Alpirsbacher beer on tap... which compared to other local beers is hands down the best. (I'm a Bitburger/Budvar drinker). Could not find anything to complain about with the food and it was on par with the prices.

Overall, good value for money, a great base for exploring the Black Forest. We would stay again. The hospitality being a huge plus.

-John

Room Tip: Anything with a view of the creek would be a plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Michael was SOOO helpful and kind. He gave my family and I great reccomendations of what to do. He gave us a rail pass, and drove us to the station (as we had gotten lost and while he was out running an errand graciously put aside his needs and helped us.) I cannot reccomend this enough! He was so kind and went above and beyond in service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IFR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

It hardly seems worthwhile adding yet another commendatory review to the existing long list of them but Michael's help to download photos first through his lap-top (unsuccessful), then through the restaurant Pc (successful) deserves a mention as another indication of just how helpful he is.
Also a great help is that he speaks English well, and his American wife even better, but she was away. Yes, we've had a meal there before-it's good enough to warrant more than one visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gonwarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Michael made this hotel one to remember. What a lovely guy. Did not realise the hotel was a pub and restaurant when I booked it. The day we arrived it was raining so we stayed in the pub and had the best soup I've ever tasted. We drank white beer which was gorgeous and then had a superb steak and chips for our evening meal. Great food in a nice atmosphere. And the breakfast was really something. Loved it, thanks Michael.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, this one comes with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
0.2 mi away
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
#1 of 2 in Schiltach
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
96 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wellnesshotel Basler Hof am Schlosswald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Die Reichsstadt GmbH
Die Reichsstadt GmbH
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
242 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
#1 of 7 in Wolfach
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alten Brucke

Address: Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range: $87 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Alten Brucke 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small intimate hotel on the bank of the Schiltach River. Incredible restaurant with full bar and menu. The outdoor beer garden on the river is described by all who visit as "Boardwalk in Schiltach." Panoramic views from every direction sitting on the waters edge. If you want to stay where everyone will know your name, come to the Brucke. You will love our town and our little Black Forest Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing