We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, wonderful host”
Review of Zur Alten Brucke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zur Alten Brucke
Ranked #1 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great B&B, wonderful host”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night in September of 2012 on our honeymoon. The B&B is lovely. Our room was comfy and the bathroom newer and very clean. We didnt get to try the food for dinner, as there was a large group of senior citizens having some sort of gathering the night we were there. It was off-season, so there weren't a lot of evening dinner options to choose from in Schiltach, but we found a pizza place.

Breakfast was very good, and the owner was very patient with the demanding families at breakfast. We had a chance to talk to him after breakfast and learned that his wife is from the States and they spend some time in California every year. We let him know that some of the children in the B&B the night before were prank calling rooms -- but there's nothing he could do about that, understandably.

The location is excellent and prices very reasonable. Don't hesitate to stay here if you're heading to the black forest!

Room Tip: We had a small room in the back of the house with a HUGE deck attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    44
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
173
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We just spent the one night at the Zur Alten Brucke in December during a tour of the Black Forest. Michael, the owner, is a lovely guy and extremely helpful. The hotel was very pleasant and the food (breakfast and dinner) was good. We were the only guests the night we stayed and Michael was closing the hotel for a couple of months the day we departed. Schiltach was very snowy and cold the day we were there, and the town was dead as a doornail as it was a Sunday. However, Schiltach seems like a lovely little Black Forest town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

if you plans call for a stay in the Black Forest of Germany do yourself a favor and plan a stay at Gasthoff Bruucke. We came here after staying in Istanbul for a week and found the inn owner Michael a great guy and his waiter very attentive and helpful. My luggage had never caught up to me and Michael went out of his way to help me out. The dinners were great, even if he wouldn't share his recipe with me, and breakfast was more than enough. Rooms airy and clean with great views. It was a great place to stay and one I hope to revisit in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side. Not sure what you see on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Let me start by saying that I booked what I thought was the Zur alten Brücke hotel in Schiltach for two nights (two rooms) in September. As it turned out, I had actually booked the other Zur alten Brücke hotel, which has the exact same name but is in Heidelberg. But I did not know this. Just before leaving for my trip to Germany, I sent the confirmation email from the other Zur alten Brücke hotel to Michael and Lisa to re-confirm my reservation. Although I did not have a reservation at their hotel, they replied "Reservation is confirmed. See you soon!", signed Michael and Lisa Mogler. So I still did not know that I actually had a reservation in Heidelberg instead of Schiltach. When we arrived at the Zur alten Brücke hotel in Schiltach, I handed Michael the confirmation email. He read the email and looked puzzled, then he checked us in. Two days later I was notified that the Zur alten Brücke hotel in Heidelberg charged me $832 for a no-show for two rooms for two nights. This is how I found out that I never actually had a reservation at Michael and Lisa's hotel. If they had replied to my re-confirmation email that I did not have a reservation at their hotel, this problem would have been avoided. If Michael had looked at the email I handed him on arrival and told me it was for the hotel in Heidelberg, this problem would have been avoided. After working with my credit card company for three months, I was finally able to get the amount reduced to $432. I asked Michael and Lisa to split the cost with me. They said " It was not our fault" and refused to pay any part of the cost.

The Zur alten Brücke hotel in Schiltach is a nice hotel in the beautiful Black Forest. Michael is a good host and serves up excellent food.

If you plan to visit the Zur alten Brücke hotel in Schiltach, be VERY careful when you book the reservation. I was not careful enough, nor were Michael and Lisa, and it ended up costing me $432.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PCHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo - Brasil
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

First of all, if you decide to stay in the Black Forest it's sometimes hard to choose the best city to stay in as a travel base in the region (too many options).
I recommend Schiltach for some reasons.
- It's the typical small German village, with cobblestone streets and those houses we picture when we think about Black Forest;
- it's centered, in the heart of the "Forest";
- home of Michael, the owner/chef of Zur Alten Brucke.

Speaking about the hotel itself, be aware that it's not a Hilton or a Sheraton, even though they can surprise you with a small chocolat in your pillow everyday. Note taken, booking done, you will get much more value than you expect.
- The place is as clean as a hotel can be;
- You feel at home;
- Michael is the kindest host you will ever meet;
- The restaurant is great and so are the prices. I don't know how, but Michael runs the hotel AND cooks everything you will eat there. We tried the first night and loved it. I had previously planned to have dinner somewhere else in my other 2 nights, but it was pointless because we had the best place just downstairs - local cuisine, well made and with great value;
- We were there in october and we had the chance to meet the waiter - Lubomir. What a great guy! Michael, keep him close!

The place doesn't have a reserved parking space, but during my 3 nights there it wasn't a serious issue.

That's it - I would definetely go back to Zur Alten Brucke

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed our two-night stay at Alten Brucke located in the pretty village of Schiltach. The room was clean and the heating was good. Breakfast was delicous and dinner, cooked by Michael the friendly owner, was tasty. It was an easy drive from Schiltach to Triberg to visit the Cuckoo Clock Museum and the water-fall, and to Hausach to explore the outdoor museum. A few steps away from the B&B is a supermarket and a bakery. Would have loved to meet the owner's wife but she was away on home visit to the US. Michael speaks English, and his assistant is also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is in a great location overlooking the river near the centre of town - the street is picture perfect! We had a room on the top floor overlooking the river, while the room was a bit small, the view was great, clean, comfortable and plenty of room for me and my husband. The stairs were not a problem as Michael (a very welcoming host) was happy to assist in carrying the luggage. Restaurant has the ambience and the beer was excellent! Breakfast was good and he will even cook bacon and eggs if you so desire. If we ever travel to the Black Forest again - we'll certainly stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: request top floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdict1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
1.9 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
91 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
#1 of 7 in Wolfach
86 reviews
3.7 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Winterhaldenhof
Hotel Winterhaldenhof
#2 of 2 in Schenkenzell
36 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wellnesshotel Basler Hof am Schlosswald
12.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Schwarzwald Residenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alten Brucke

Property: Zur Alten Brucke
Address: Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Alten Brucke 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small intimate hotel on the bank of the Schiltach River. Incredible restaurant with full bar and menu. The outdoor beer garden on the river is described by all who visit as "Boardwalk in Schiltach." Panoramic views from every direction sitting on the waters edge. If you want to stay where everyone will know your name, come to the Brucke. You will love our town and our little Black Forest Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing