We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little spot of Heaven”
Review of Zur Alten Brucke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zur Alten Brucke
Ranked #1 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for only one night but wished we could have spent a week. The hosts Michael and Lisa were fantastic, even doing our laundry for us while we walked through the town. The location couldn't have been better and the little beer garden down by the river was the spot to while away the afternoon. Our room was very large with a king sized bed, couches, tables, desk and en-suite all fitted out with lovely linens and towels. We both tried the the pork medallions for dinner and it was to die for, the meat was so tender and the sauces complimented the meal perfectly.Michael is a truely gifted chef. We ended the evening sitting in the restaurant drinking wine and beer with Lisa and Michael and some other lovely people just like old friends. Breakfast was another superb meal with many choices from cereals, breads, fruit, cold meats and cheeses and to top it off Lisa took requests for bacon and eggs. We felt so welcomed by the hosts, almost as if we were family and we will definately return to visit them again.We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough,definately 11/10, so make the effort to stay here.

Room Tip: We loved room 5 with the king sized bed and ample room for your bags. Michael will help you carry yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review. The reviews are such an important part of our business (both the good and the bad) because they help up fine tune what we do so that all our guests are happy. It was fabulous having you and we hope to see you again! Lisa & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 323 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

We travel often and on rare occasions are lucky to find a place which becomes our good friend. Schiltach, the Alten Brucke, and its proprietors Michael and Lisa Mogler combined to create such a place. We first stayed with the Moglers just over a year ago and now after our sixth visit, the WOW factor remains as strong as ever. The quiet but storybook town of Schiltach is a delight, the hotel's pleasant riverside biergarten is relaxed and perfectly sited, and the old hotel clean and comfortable. But what really makes a stay in the hotel memorable are the Moglers, you arrive as guests and depart as their friends. Michael and Lisa, Michael's American wife, are perfectly suited for their profession; and when they take you into their hotel, they take you into their lives. While you may not find Schiltach in many guide books, this picturesque Black Forest town is an ideal place to enjoy the peace and beauty of this unique area as well as serving as a convenient place for leisurely day trips to most of the Black Forest. Michael is also an exceptional chef, the breakfasts are excellent, and the hotel has a restaurant which features regional specialties for lunch and dinner which can be taken inside or in the biergarten as the weather permits. A few basics: credit cards are accepted, parking is available directly in front of the hotel, and we always found our fellow guests to be delightful people with whom we swapped travel stories and often email addresses.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GauangellochTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

It will be saying goodbye to old friends. We felt the connection to the two of you instantly. It has been a wonderful friendship and we know when you leave Germany (someday) the loss will be ours. I have said it before but I will say it again: Sorry for sending you on that "15 minute" walk that turned out to be 2 hours. :-) We meet some wonderful people here but you two are standouts for sure. Hugs from Schiltach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel/restaurant in early September, 2011. It is situated in the small town of Schiltach which is in the upper parts of the Black Forest. The small river Schiltach runs through the town which together with the old houses make the place very picturesque and relaxing. Parking was available in front of the hotel.
We had two double rooms of which one was with a balcony and cost more. The room with the balcony was slightly smaller and as the balcony did not have much of a better view and it also rained we never used it but had to pay for it. The hotel had seating along the river which by far was better than sitting on the balcony.
Our room was medium sized and clean. It had a writing desk together with a small working fridge and telephone. Free Wi-Fi was available in the room.Wardrobe was very small and there was no safe or slippers. Linen was clean.
Bathroom was of medium size. Running water was of good pressure and temperature. A hair dryer was provided but there was no magnifying/makeup mirror. A mixture of shower gel and shampoo was provided in a small bottle.
Breakfast buffet was very basic but at least had fresh fruits.
Staff/owners of the place were friendly and very helpful. Provided the price is right it is a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahvazi028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thanks again for coming. We really enjoyed your visit. Thanks too for your comments and review, we always strive to be the best at what we do and helpful comments like yours are appreciated. We agree about the balcony room price and so early this summer we changed all double rooms to the same price. The view from the beer garden is better though that view in back is adorable when the weather is good! We are surprised you found our breakfast "basic" as we always offer fresh breads and croissants, butter, jams, Nutella, honey, yogurt, meats, sliced cheese, cream cheese and cheese wedges, nuts and raisons, three kinds of cereals, two kinds of juice, fresh strawberries, raspberries and sometimes blackberries. We also offer any kind of egg the guest would like, bacon or sausage. So, again, not sure about that comment but again, thanks for the feedback and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and we had a wonderful time. Michael is a fantastic host, very friendly and helpful, besides being a wonderful chef. We enjoyed dinner here and breakfast was excellent, loved the berries in the morning. I also came across gorgeous Max, if the weather was better I would have offered to walk him myself! The beer garden is so pretty, just next to the river that we felt compelled to have a drink there regardless of the rain.
Schiltach is such a pretty town that you will enjoy it rain or shine, and Zur Alten Brucke is a wonderful place to stay, wish we stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thanks so much. We remember your visit and hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Everything was great! Michael and Lisa are wonderful hosts, and bend over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. And the meals downstairs are all amazing; we ended up eating every meal there, which we NEVER do normally.
Beautiful location, relaxing beer garden, lovable house dog Max. We hope to go back one day! Schiltach as a village is just gorgeous, too. It's small, quaint, and quiet--just what we wanted for our honeymoon.
We've stayed in many places that looked nothing like the photos found online, but Zur Alten Brücke looks even BETTER in person!
The service definitely puts all competitors to shame. I can't speak highly enough about our hosts. Lisa even packed us a lunch for the train ride on the day we departed. How gracious and generous is that? Stay here, and you won't possibly be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandASwans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

A close friend and I recently stayed at Zur Alten Brucke with Michael and Lisa
Mogler who are the nicest hosts you could ever imagine. They welcome
guests like family and go out of their way to insure you have a wonderful
stay in the Black Forest. Schiltach is a lovely village with a babbling brook
running right out in front of the hotel. It's location makes it a great place for
day trips in the surrounding area. The Moglers also serve delicious dinners
in their restaurant. We also got a warm welcome each day from their little
dog, "Max". I recommend Zur Alten Brucke most heartily.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We loved the place: small nice & beatifull village with typical black & white houses.
The owners are German & US (from San diego), friendly and nice. Reasonable good dinner and nice bedrooms. Nice for a family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank famille_LENIQUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
0.2 mi away
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
#1 of 2 in Schiltach
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
96 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wellnesshotel Basler Hof am Schlosswald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Die Reichsstadt GmbH
Die Reichsstadt GmbH
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
242 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
Hotel Kirnbacher Hof
#1 of 7 in Wolfach
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alten Brucke

Address: Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range: $87 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Alten Brucke 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small intimate hotel on the bank of the Schiltach River. Incredible restaurant with full bar and menu. The outdoor beer garden on the river is described by all who visit as "Boardwalk in Schiltach." Panoramic views from every direction sitting on the waters edge. If you want to stay where everyone will know your name, come to the Brucke. You will love our town and our little Black Forest Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing