We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Welcome in a Great Spot”
Review of Zur Alten Brucke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zur Alten Brucke
Ranked #1 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2011

A close friend and I recently stayed at Zur Alten Brucke with Michael and Lisa
Mogler who are the nicest hosts you could ever imagine. They welcome
guests like family and go out of their way to insure you have a wonderful
stay in the Black Forest. Schiltach is a lovely village with a babbling brook
running right out in front of the hotel. It's location makes it a great place for
day trips in the surrounding area. The Moglers also serve delicious dinners
in their restaurant. We also got a warm welcome each day from their little
dog, "Max". I recommend Zur Alten Brucke most heartily.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

We loved the place: small nice & beatifull village with typical black & white houses.
The owners are German & US (from San diego), friendly and nice. Reasonable good dinner and nice bedrooms. Nice for a family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank famille_LENIQUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Anyone traveling through the Black Forest should make an effort to stay at the Zur Alten Brucke in Schiltach. My wife and I discovered this great small hotel by accident on our first visit to the Black Forest. We were so impressed with the town, hotel, and the owners, Michael and Lisa, that we returned for four nights on a return visit to Germany. You won't find a better breakfast anywhere and after a day exploring, you will want to return to the Hotel for dinner. Michael is a wonderful chef. Their beer garden next to the river is a beautiful spot for either dinner or to relax with a beer and chill out. If you are looking for desert or just a snack, Lisa will direct you to a bakery with the best cake anywhere. Don't look for a lot of excitement in Schiltach, but I can promise that you will not leave disappointed in either the town or your accommodations at the Zur Alten Brucke.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfs38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

It was great having you stay here. Someday we are going to see you in Colorado! Thanks for the great review and the wonderful time while you were here. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

If you are looking for true Black Forest hospitality and excellent value for money then this is it. Schiltach is the picture postcard village in the heart of the forest. Michael & Lisa welcomed us warmly. Our room, which overlooked the river and a street of timbered houses fit for a chocolate box cover, was spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were cooked by Michael who is a qualified chef and were good & hearty. They were a font of local knowledge and pointed us in the direction of a couple of fabulous walks from the hotel doorstep. Thoroughly recommend staying at this little gem - forget the big hotels and opt for the personal touch!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atkins888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night just to be in the Black Forest and to also break up our journey but we didn't realise what a fantastic place it would be!

We were greeted as we pulled up in the car by super friendly Michael and Lisa who were absolutely lovely and very helpful our whole stay! Our room was spacious and we had a gorgeous view out our window.

We had dinner downstairs and it was delicious!! The dumplings were amazing! Our kids then got to meet Max, so they had fun too. Breakfast as well was great with fresh strawberries and blueberries our highlight!

The only downside was that we wish we could have stayed longer! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TatiP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogler, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

No, we wish you would have stayed longer. We're happy the kids loved Max. He wanted to stay in your room with you! Thanks for everything and come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

You have to give it 110% for everything ... sweet owners, brilliant town and our favourite hotel for service and great food during our whole holiday trip.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have a pretty view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belinda_pring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jingerrogers, Owner at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

It was more our pleasure having the two of you. Hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful. We hope to see you again! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This gasthaus (Restaurant / Inn) has been serving it's single purpose for almost one and a half centuries, and has a real charm.

The Inn Master, Michael, is extremely pleasant and accommodating. Speaking only English is not a problem, and I also met other guest (in this case American) who specifically came back to this Inn after having spent only one night the previous year, only because they liked it so much. To be sure, Schiltach is not the center of excitement in Europe or Germany, rather, the point is to really relax in a peaceful and beautiful environment, and get a little taste of Black Forest life and culture. I recommend this to everyone !

Room Tip: Room 8, good size for 1 -2 people, plus balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvanniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jingerrogers, Manager at Zur Alten Brucke, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Thank you for the awesome review. We love meeting people from all over and you were no exception. We hope to see you again someday! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alten Brucke

Address: Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range: $87 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Alten Brucke 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small intimate hotel on the bank of the Schiltach River. Incredible restaurant with full bar and menu. The outdoor beer garden on the river is described by all who visit as "Boardwalk in Schiltach." Panoramic views from every direction sitting on the waters edge. If you want to stay where everyone will know your name, come to the Brucke. You will love our town and our little Black Forest Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing