We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel-Gasthof Sonne
Ranked #2 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for one night while in the Black Forest. The town is picturesque, cobbled and on a hillside. The hotel was great and reasonably priced. The staff we so friendy and welcoming. They helped with luggage and where to park. It went beyond the call of duty yet was very much appreciated. Travel light or with overnight luggage, as these places tend to have stairs only and in hindsight we must have looked odd wth such big bags compared to the local visitors The room was spacious and comfortable and had the character of a simple lodge in the mountains. We have a view over the town square and the hills beyond. It must be even more lovely in winter time.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Iristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Hotel-Gasthof Sonne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 43 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in the sonne room, very cozy. liked the atmosphere. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. the black forest was a very great area with fresh air. hotel was very clean and set in a wonderful yet updated historic atmosphere. The best part was probably the restaurant were we ate multiple times. My suggestion is to try some of the impressive menu items which are very good portions and excellently prepared. I still remember the food there to this day as being some of the best I had in Germany. The hotel staff and restaurant staff were very kind and knowledgeable of the history and area. This may be the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Pick the sonne room, it has a great view of the courtyard
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbyG561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed one night while touring around the Black Forest, and Schiltach is indeed a quiet and peaceful village (at least in the old part, well away from the industrial area on the outskirts of town). The guesthouse was clean and comfortable, and the rooms are individually styled; ours looked out onto the market square, where limited parking was available (I understand additional parking can be found elsewhere in the village, which wouldn't be much of a walk).

The guesthouse includes a bar/restaurant, although we ate elsewhere and simply returned there for a drink in the evening. The breakfast the following morning had a reasonable selection and was satisfying.

Although we didn't interact much with the owners of the guesthouse, they seemed friendly and welcoming at check in/out, and overall the Gasthof Sonne felt that it represented good value.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, be aware that if you get a room facing the square, the church bells s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a very cute hotel with a helpful staff. We stayed in room #2 with our 2 dogs; although we had no view, the room was large enough with nice big windows that opened. It was very clean and the bed was especially comfortable. Breakfast every day was plentiful with good coffee served in little personal pots. But the downside is that we really count on having internet access (which they claim is available in each room) and that wasn't the case. We couldn't even get reliable internet by going to the dining area and sitting there - although the wi-fi did work there once in a while. For someone who is relying on wi-fi for their next set of travel instructions, this is a non-starter.

Room Tip: We liked Room #2 - it is on the lowest floor, so has the fewest stairs to climb.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arriving as a walk-in guest late in the evening, after a whole day on the road, I was relief to have a bed to collapse onto. Gasthof Sonne was easy to locate with the free public car parking not far away, down by the stream near the train station, which is about 5 minute uphill/downhill from the B&B.

The B&B has about 7 themed rooms and it only has the Angel room left by the time I arrived, the room has a pink colour theme and is adequately decorated. There's a small round table and two rattan chairs, a medium size wardrobe, TV, free WiFi, heating, comfortable and firm bed with good quality linen (pink) and bedside tables. The shower and toilet is windowless but has a good ventilator and heater. The room and the toilet were very clean.

The Angel room is located on the ground floor at the back of the B&B, the window of my room overlook an alley with more cute black and white buildings. Getting in and out of the Angel room was not heavenly as the entrance stairways are steep and rather inconvenient to get my luggage in and out.

Furthermore, to get to the Angel room, one has to pass the kitchen's backdoor, an outdoor smoking deck for the kitchen staff and the staff toilet, smell of cigarette smoke often linger in the corridor immediately outside my room as well as 2 other rooms.

Am not sure of the B&B's smoking policy as there is a cigarette vending machine on the passage way.

The breakfast was hearty with a variety of selections and the host was happy to offer more coffee after the official breakfast time, which was appreciated.

I used Schiltach as an overnight stop while exploring the Black Forest, the village was not exactly buzzing but has character, very cute and is very tidy. There weren't many shops that were open during my stay, especially at Marktplatz so don't be misled by the name. I would visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Classic timbered Black Forest Gasthof set in a medieval square. Our room was quirky and quite sweet with a four poster bed. It was clean and the best was made of the small space. The restaurant and bar are the heart of the Gasthof. The food was wholesome and good and most of the customers local Germans. Such guesthouses should not be compared to international hotels. What they may lack in modern facilities and sophistication (though they did have free wifi) they more than compensate for with character and warmth. We had a difficulty with our car and the staff could not have been more helpful and supportive. An exceptionally pretty village and the beer garden down by the river is a lovely place to relax in the sunshine.

We have fond memories of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Just to be clear, we didn't actually stay at Gasthof Sonne. We ate at the restaurant only. We found that the service was friendly and genuine. We ordered what was billed as traditional meals from Swabia/Baden. It was good. The portions were hefty and they had no problem splitting a meal for our children. The atmosphere was traditional German, although there was a smoking section that was not very well-separated. That being said, the food was good and a reasonable value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JLGabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiltach
0.2 mi away
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
#1 of 2 in Schiltach
201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
95 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wellnesshotel Basler Hof am Schlosswald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wellness und Tagungshotel Krahenbad
6.9 mi away
Schwarzwaldgasthaus Linde
Schwarzwaldgasthaus Linde
#2 of 2 in Tennenbronn
14 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Winterhaldenhof
Hotel Winterhaldenhof
#2 of 2 in Schenkenzell
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Sonne

Address: Marktplatz 3, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range: $100 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Gasthof Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Gasthof Sonne Hotel Schiltach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing