We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Jardin de Bacchus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jardin de Bacchus
Ranked #3 of 4 Tavel B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nothing to be describe just try it.
To us it is the best we ever had.
Christine and Erik make you fell home and share good addresses for day trip and restaurants.
The swimming pool area is a jewel, location of the house is perfect to visit Avignon and surroundings

Room Tip: Indigo was perfect with a private little garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived to the lovely town of Tavel which gave us the feel of Provence immediately. We were warmly welcomed by Christine who is very friendly and charming. After she familiarized us to the Jardin de Baccus, which is an a two hundred plus years old farmhouse. We had lovely local wines on the patio with another couple spending time at there.

I loved with the old farm house feel of the establishment. Walking on the wood floors with antique furniture surrounding us behind a true heavy wood door hinged to a heavy wooden frame giving us the sense of being in a home. Our bathroom bath was better than some of the hotels we stayed at. Our bedroom's view of the vineyard behind the house inspired a pleasant joy which no hotel I know would equal.

On one of our nights we enjoyed an very excellent meal cooked by Christine cooked an meal. We had excellent dinner conversation. This was very easy as Eric and Christine along with the other couple were all great conversationalist. Christine and Eric being warm and friendly people are excellent host who willfully engage articulately in many topics. They have great stories to tell and are patient to answer questions you we had about things that are French. There was never a dull moment and the dinner ended far too early even though it was late.

My wife regretted after tasting Christine's cooking that we did not have time to take a class.

Breakfast on the patio in the morning was great. Christine provided us excellent tips and directions for touring the area which gratefully we used. From basing ourselves out of the Jardin we went easily to Arles, Pont du Gard and Avignon.

The only issue we had was the poor WIFI connection in our rooms. Our cells work without a problem and once we were downstairs our WIFI worked without issue. I found this only a minor issue and easily understood as the old farm house walls and floor boards being very thick. They graciously offer several times the usage of their computer which I decline; after all, when you are having a great time in Provence and you are without real worry, why bother. I relaxed and had a great time sleeping comfortably, eating well and being in the company of a great hostess and host. When next in Provence we will be scheduling a stay and some cooking lessons.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mollymook
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Jardin de Bacchus was our first B&B in France and we totally loved it and loved Tavel. A very quite village that is close to lots of places to see. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom, which was comfortable and quite. The pool was fabulous as the weather was very hot, as was the fridge and honesty box in the pool bar area, for a cool beer or wine - very handy and very thoughtful. Eric and Christine were so friendly and helpful with local hints of places to go. They gave us 2 lovely recommendations for dinner, which we were able to stroll to for dinner! beware of getting lost on the way walking home, you don't think you can but after a few lovely wines you might! all good fun though! Breakfast was simple but lovely. We genuinely loved our stay and greatly enjoyed meeting Christine and Eric. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s2539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

A small B&B with only three guest rooms' all with private baths. Christine and Eric (owners) are great and do everything possible to make sure your stay is excellent. Quiet surroundings with multiple restaurants in walking distance. Breakfast on the patio in good weather. Beautiful pool and patio area for relaxing. Excellent local wines! Christine will also provide info on nearby attractions!

Write for exact directions, not easy to find; no signs to B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Late this spring, we stayed at Jardin de Bacchus and were very disappointed. Before coming to Jardin, we had been in Provence for two weeks and stayed in three other B&Bs converted from farmhouses, so we were expecting simple but comfortable. That's our favorite type of accommodation.

We arrived about 5:30 pm (no check-in is allowed before that) Christine greeted us and took us to our room. (Eric was traveling). The first problem at Jardin was the room. We were assigned the Indigo room. Its entrance is outside the main house, opening on to a patch of grass. The room is very small, like a small dark cave. The website photo is misleading! It is shallow, only as deep as the length of the bed plus 10-12 inches, and it is painted a dark color. With the entry doors and shutters closed, it felt claustrophobic. (Christine advised keeping everything closed, during the day against heat and at night for security). There are no other windows. The bathroom is also very small. We felt uncomfortable but were willing to try it out.

However, the next problem made this hard to do. There is a long printed list of DO NOTS: do not eat anything in the room, do not eat on the outside terrace, do not wash out undies (that uses too much water), do not let anything wet touch the tile floor because it makes marks, do not break the special bed, and so on. This made us feel very unwelcome.

Breakfast the next morning made us feel even worse. We were served two plastic containers of applesauce, one cup of coffee/tea each, and bread. No yogurt, or cheese, or cake, as other B&B's had provided. That cinched it. We left to find a better place in the area.

When we returned to the United States two weeks later, I checked the Tripadvisor reviews of Jardin. Most were glowing, but a couple of other people had had our disappointing experience, too.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the Indigo room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2ontheroadCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Christine makes your stay memorable with her warm personality and great cooking. Excellent value for the money. Tavel is right out of a postcard. You will love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmh200886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I cannot recommend this divine little B & B more if you want a true French experience. I booked for a week that included 3 cooking lessons with the amazing Christine. As a solo traveller, Christine and Eric welcomed me into their home and i felt at ease immediately. I urge you to partake in one of the cooking lessons that Christine offers. The food is simply divine and Christine expertly showed me and helped me to make some amazing French dishes. The last cooking lesson was my favorite as we talked and cooked and talked and cooked for almost 3 hours! When dinner wasn't available, a short walk up the cobbled streets to an amazing french restaurant, on their recommendation, was lovely.
Dining at Jardin De Bacchus is a true experience - from the apartifs to the delicious 3 course meal with wine. Eric and Christine are amazing hosts, very friendly and will go out of their way to help you with any query that you may have.
The room that i stayed in was beautiful. opened up onto a small courtyard that looked over a small vineyard. Room was very clean, beds very comfortable and the fact that it was located in a smaller village away from the main tourist area made the trip all the more authentic.

Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple. Great laughs and a truly authentic French experience. If you are after the same, don't hesitate to contact Christine. I know i'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jardin de Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Bacchus

Property: Jardin de Bacchus
Address: 223 rue du Tourtouil | Christine Chapot et Erik Van Greuningen, 30126 Tavel, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Tavel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tavel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing