We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed dinner choice”
Review of La Genestiere - CLOSED

La Genestiere
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxed dinner choice”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent a lovely evening relaxing under the trees enjoying the superb rose wine and good food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leila16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely spot for a long lunch”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have been to La Genestiere several times over the past few years. Lunch for two or a table for eight as been during the summer under trees in their lovely gravel courtyard. The set menu, that we always choose, is simple but always delicious. I look forward to lunch again this year.

Customers should drink Genestiere rosé with lunch and then pop next door to the vinyard shop and buy a few bottles to take home

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“romantic evening”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

excellent place as romantic as it can be but ... no English menu; Nevertheless friendly waiter

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent setting, poor English”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

At a walking distance from our B and B good food and romantic setting for a nice evening. Only minus no English menu

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank fairley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“VERY peculiar ....”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We found La Genestiere very peculiar. It's a very pretty and seductive place with good-ish food but with tired and bored and sloppy staff who give off the feeling of how much nicer their lives would be with no customers. Does this explain why there was almost no one there on a beautiful late-July Saturday?
We would give the ambience 9/10, the food 7/10, the staff 2/10, the Management ZERO/10. Why on earth doesn't the Management get the place clean for a start - dirty tables, fag-ends all over the place - sort out the staff, get them smiling, and encourage the good cook to cook even better? It could be so VERY good so VERY easily! Meanwhile ....... !

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank FussyUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Genestiere also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing