We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inn with a heart”
Review of Le Moulin Vieux

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Moulin Vieux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We come together once or so a year either in Europe or North America and this October 1st we landed at the Moulin Vieux for a 10 day sejour. And what a sejour it turned out to be. From the first welcome we were like part of the family - not necessarily of our hosts', Sylvaine's and Claude's, but them of ours. And Le Moulin Vieux, a magnificent inn on the site of the oldest mill of the Entraiges, had a charm that took us right into a "provençal" spirit.

Can you imagine ever that your hosts would take trip to the town to find a way to unlock a suit case that I had not coded correctly, or Sylviane preparing a farewell Ratatouille "a la provençal" for us that we enjoyed outside in the beautiful surroundings of Moulin Vieux. Or how good were their suggestions as to places to see, where to eat, reservations they made and this list goes on and on. And I noticed that while they had all the time for us no other guest of theirs seemed to be left out - incredible!!

Sylviane and Claude are the kind of hosts that are THE reason to return to their care and their Provence.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Toivama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude M, Propriétaire at Le Moulin Vieux, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

We would like to thank you very much for your stay and your kind comments .
You where great guests and you will remain in our hearts!
Now that you have the recipe for the ratatouille you know it's all down to practice!..
We hope to see you again for more gourmets experiences in Provence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently spent two magical days at the Moulin Vieux and can’t say enough good things about it. The location, even though in the unassuming town of Sorgue, is close to so much great things to explore. It was a quick drive to Chateauneuf de Pape and the surrounding wineries, Gigondas and Vacqueyras, Les Baux, the Dentelles and so much more. You will never be bored staying in the region.
The house is fantastic. Very stately and solid looking on the outside, it is bright and homely on the inside, with a great mix of elegance and comfort. The spacious living / dining room made us feel truly at home and made for great breakfasts where you can chat with the hosts and other guests before embarking on the day's explorations (it was great getting additional ideas for places to visit while splurging on Sylviane's amazing crepes).
We stayed at the Provence room, which from the pictures looked like one of the smaller rooms, but in reality was large and very comfortable. The big bed, the TV, the oversized shower and the sheer elegance of the room, made our stay better than any of the 4 and 5 start hotels we had stayed in the few days before coming to the Moulin Vieux (not to mention that it was at a fraction of the price as well).
But probably the best of the whole experience were the lovely hosts Claude and Sylviane. Not only did they accommodate our very late arrival with a big smile, but they constantly provided us with ideas of where to go and where to eat and told us a lot about the region. Again, I can’t say enough about Sylvianne's crepes in the morning and Claude's welcoming sense of humor. It was truly a sad moment when we had to depart.
All in all, I will go back to Provence just to stay in the Moulin Vieux again and would more then recommend it to anyone looking to visit the area.
Just a side comment, even though it was rather cold when we were there and we could not take advantage of the pool, the outside area looked just as gorgeous as the inside of the house and during a warmer time would undoubtedly be a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A friend and I only stayed for just over twelve hours, but the rooms (118 euros each) we had were large, lovely and extremely comfortable, with bathrooms (inc. walk-in showers) that wouldn't look out of place in a five star hotel (finally, towel rails that work!) For breakfast there were three kinds of bread, home-made jams, home-grown fresh fruit and good coffee from a machine, as well as cheeses, yoghurts, patisserie, cereal. Claude and Sylvaine made us very welcome and couldn't have been friendlier. Didn't get time to try the pool unfortunately (Mt. Ventoux was calling us), but would love to go back and do so.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank annwiddecombe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Last June I booked the room "Nickel Chrome" with extremely short notice. Unfortunately the room was only vacant for one night. That was however plenty enough to decide we have to go back next year! Everything was just perfect. Claude and Sylviane's friendly welcome, the lovely room under the roof with its Italian shower and a bed that was hard to quit in the morning and the breakfast served in the garden. We have been to many B&B in France but I must say this is my best experience so far. Definitely worth more than we we have paid for. Thanks again for the great stay and see you next year! Cédric & Maik

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric_Lausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A beautiful house and garden in a very quiet location, with everything you could need for your stay provided for. Although the house was very comfortable we spent most of our time by the pool and in the outside eating area. Exploring the local area was easy to do from here too.

We were a large group with 8 children and Claude and his wife Sylviane were as accommodating and welcoming as could be, being very helpful providing extra fan and ensuring that our stay was most memorable.

As mentioned in other reviews they both speak fluent English so no problems with communication!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank saleh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here after a few days in Avignon itself, during the start of the famous festival in early July. Our beautiful 'Romance' room was stylish, clean and comfortable, with an incredible bathroom and air conditioning that was quiet and very effective.
During our time there Claude and Sylviane were as hospitable and helpful as old and valued friends, stopping their afternoon to offer us wine and great company on our arrival.The next day, Claude guided me in to an auto spare store so I could find a spare fuse to enable the sat nav to work again.
Our welcome interaction always ended with banter, laughs and a general feeling of total relaxation. Although we thought we knew the area well, having stayed in Provence several times before, our hosts advice and recommendations meant that we found new places and experiences. Local knowledge always trumps guide books and brochures!
We still talk about the breakfasts - the freshly baked clafoutis, crepes, jams, specially sourced pastries etc.
All in all, a lovely, quality stay that we think about often and smile.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank andys408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012 while travelling through Southern France with our two children. This B&B was our only disconnect from our internet impression during our 3 week trip to France. This had more to do with the location of the B&B then anything else.
The hosts Sylviane and Claude were extremely nice and helpful. Sylviane has lots of local travel tips for guests. Claude even went out of his way (him driving while I followed in my car) to show me the location of the local laundry facility and arrange for my laundry to be done. Both of their English is excellent.
Our room "Cocoon" was ok with an upstairs bedroom and a pull our sofabed on the main floor. The bathroom was on the main floor and had a large shower but only had a curtain that seperated it from the family room/sofabed area. The room did have air conditioning but wifi did not work in the room. There is a sky light right over the master bed that does not have a shade and the light is very bright at 5am.
Breakfasts were excellent and Sylviane even made homemade crepes every morning. They have an automatic espresso machine, fresh bread, homemade jams, fresh fruit and yogurt.

Our only disconnect was that the B&B is located in a kind of run down suburban town outside of Avignon. To get to the B&B you have to drive down a road past some old warehouses (which are right next door). Once inside the gate to the B&B the grounds are beautiful, the pool was very nice and the house is charming. But all you can see are the high walls around the property. If you have visions of staying in the Vaucluse region and walking out on a veranda to peer at fields of lavendar and/or walking up the street to eat dinner in some cute village this is not the place.
The location is convenient for hopping on the main routes to see the sites in the Vaucluse region although you will be driving about 15 minutes to eat dinner anywhere decent. The drive to Chateauneuf-du-Pape for dinner is well worth the trip.
Lastly, this was the least expensive B&B we stayed in during our trip so maybe that is the reason for why we were where we were.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
4.2 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
21.6 mi away
Le Mas d'Emilie
Le Mas d'Emilie
#1 of 6 in Fontvieille
175 reviews
21 mi away
Le Mas Jorel
Le Mas Jorel
#1 of 6 in Gargas
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Le Mas des Etoiles
Le Mas des Etoiles
#1 of 52 in Gordes
345 reviews
8.2 mi away
Le Domaine des Carmes & Spa
4.7 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 57 in Avignon
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin Vieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin Vieux

Address: 346 allee du Moulin Vieux, 84320 Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range: $82 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, between Avignon et Carpentras, beside the river Sorgue and on the edge of the village lies the old Mill. This property is full of character and charme and as been tastfullydecorated troughout.The stone construction of this old country house will delight you.The pathways which run next to the old mill and alongside the river are perfect for walking, jogging or even cycling.Suitable for singles, couples, families or even travelling with friends, your host, Sylviane and Claude will offer you a warm welcome troughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Vieux Entraigues-Sur-La-Sorgue, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing