We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Provence Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Le Moulin Vieux

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Moulin Vieux
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Provence Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I had never tried the bed and breakfast route, but our experience at Moulin Vieux was on par with our best hotel stays. We arrived in Provence without a real itinerary after our stay at Moulin Vieux and not only did Claude and Sylvaine give us great tips on where to visit in Provence, but they helped us figure out where to visit next, with Claude scouring the country's weather reports. We stayed in the "romance" room and it was marvelous, with an extremely comfortable bed and huge bathroom and shower (and elegant tub). The entire home was spotless and it was a supremely pleasant and relaxing experience.The breakfast we enjoyed every morning over our five day stay was epic, with homemade jam from Sylvaine's copper pots. If you ask me, the accommodations were way underpriced, but I can't recommend a stay here highly enough. We stayed in early May and it was a great (relatively non-touristy) time to visit Provence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
162
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had an amazing time at Le Moulin Vieux. Claude and Sylviane are wonderful hosts and went above and beyond to ensure our comfort. Their recommendations for things to do/places to see in the area were spot on - the towns they suggested visiting were beautiful and the B&B is perfectly located to allow for travel all around Provence.

We stayed in two rooms over the course of three nights due to availability and both rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was great, too, with a larger selection than I've had at other European B&Bs - pastries, bread, cheese, cereal, fruit, jam, juice, coffee, etc.

My boyfriend suffered a bought of food poisoning from a lunch in near-by Avignon and Claude was kind enough to offer to take me to the pharmacy so he could translate everything to the chemist in order to get the proper treatment. He and Sylviane went well above their duty to make sure he was well taken care of. They also took us to the neighbor's home to see their goats (we heard them in the morning and, being from the city, I was curious to see them up close).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jami E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had a great time at Le Moulin Vieux - the best bed (amazing mattress and sheets) and shower of our trip. (every other place we stayed came up a little short in comparison)
A great base for seeing the area - Avignon is 10-15 minutes away, Chateauneuf-du-Pape is 20 or so minutes (and worth the trip - we had a great dinner at Le Pistou and the ruins of the Chateau were beautiful in the sunset). We got some good recommendations from Sylviane and Claude - Vaison-la-Romaine was worth the day-trip - the old town was picturesque (they also have a large market in the newer part) and the roman ruins were unreal.
If we are in the area again, we will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwitkows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights the first week of May 2012. Sylviane and Claude were warm, friendly, informative and so helpful! They gave us excellent recommendations on where to go with our limited time. The entire property was in great shape and beautiful. The Provence Room was spacious, comfortable, charmingly decorated, and just immaculate. Great location as base to visit so many other areas of Provence and southern France. The breakfast was generous with variety and excellent quality. Wifi connection in Provence Room was spotty, but downstairs it was great. Most importantly, I felt like we were friends of Sylviane and Claude the entire stay and always looked forward to seeing them. I can't wait to visit again and enjoy more time there for another lovely vacation.

Room Tip: The shower in the Provence Room has a rain shower head, excellent water pressure with natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerfrCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Moulin Vieux was decidedly the best B&B we stayed in during our month in Provence. It is 15 minutes from Avignon and within a half hour of other nearby places of interest, such as the Chateauneuf-du-Pape, the Cote de Rhone vineyards, the Rousillion clay pits, and the lovely hill towns of the Luberon (e.g., Gordes, Menerbe, Lacoste, Lourmarin). The breakfasts were delicious and substantial--bread, cheeses, jams, croissants, yogurts, fruits, fruit juice, cafe au lait, tea, chocolate. But as good and varied as they were, the ever-smiling Sylviane also cooked a daily treat, such as crepes, apple tarts, or almond cakes. The rooms are large and airy. The beds large and comfortable. There is an indoor lounge. The gardens are beautiful with trees, shrubs, and flowers. There is a pool and a three-sided, roofed facility for outdoor meals and relaxation. It was wonderful to awaken to the call of birds each morning and return at the end of a busy day to the quiet of the country. Most importantly, Sylviane and Claude took good care of us. They provided dishes for our evening picnics, helped with travel suggestions and directions, and were unfailingly delightful company. Moulin Vieux is among the very best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude M, Propriétaire at Le Moulin Vieux, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you very much you have been great guests and we wish you a lot more happy trips around the world and we hope to see you again !
Claude 1 Sylviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed five nights in mid-March 2012 and had a truly lovely stay in this magnificent home. Sylviane and Claude welcomed us warmly and made us feel immediately at home. They are generous hosts and were very kind, friendly and helpful during our stay. We had the Provence Room on the second floor and found it very roomy, quiet and comfortable. The room is heated and airconditioned, but we used neither as the weather was mild. The windows open wide for fresh air ventilation. There is a large wardrobe, desk and lounge chairs, and the bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom is large and immaculately clean. The flat screen TV had a wide range of channels available. Wifi had to be connected on the ground floor but, once connected, worked well upstairs. Sylviane provided wonderful breakfasts in the dining room, often with extras such as crepes or a flan. Parking is available within the grounds. Claude and Sylviane provided us with lots of information on places to visit and suggested tour routes. We were made to feel like family during our stay, rather than guests and we found it very hard to leave when our time was over. We highly, highly recommend Le Moulin Vieux.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Situated fifteen minutes outside Avignon, Le Moulin Vieux is ideally suited for a stay of a few days in Provence. The guest rooms are large and comfortable (though ours lacked any place to hang clothes), and the breakfasts were substantial and varied. WiFi was a bit flaky in the guest rooms though fine downstairs. The proprietors might seem a bit over enthusiastic but they are well meaning. We found their advice about places to eat worth a second opinion but owe them introducing us to a marvelous and special all truffles meal(a November speciality) at Chez Serge.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude M, Propriétaire at Le Moulin Vieux, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your advice
You are wright regarding the hanging space in the cocoon bedroom we will do something about this.We hope the rest of your visit in Europe goes well and we wish you both a merry christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
8.6 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.2 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
14.9 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 53 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.3 mi away
Domaine de Rhodes
Domaine de Rhodes
#2 of 53 in Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
14.8 mi away
Le Mas des Etoiles
Le Mas des Etoiles
#1 of 50 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin Vieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin Vieux

Property: Le Moulin Vieux
Address: 346 allee du Moulin Vieux, 84320 Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, between Avignon et Carpentras, beside the river Sorgue and on the edge of the village lies the old Mill. This property is full of character and charme and as been tastfullydecorated troughout.The stone construction of this old country house will delight you.The pathways which run next to the old mill and alongside the river are perfect for walking, jogging or even cycling.Suitable for singles, couples, families or even travelling with friends, your host, Sylviane and Claude will offer you a warm welcome troughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Vieux Entraigues-Sur-La-Sorgue, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing