We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thanda Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$134
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$91
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Ama Zulu Guesthouse(Hluhluwe)(Great Value!)
$48
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlulala Guest House(Hluhluwe)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
338
38
12
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
38
12
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reserveplunge poolgame drivesday bedoutdoor showerzulu cultureout of this worldsouth africaherd of elephantsthree nightsvery special placedining roomland roverattention to detailspent nightswatering holehigh tea
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 398 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon - only rather than staying at the lodge we stayed in the tented camp. I would really recommend this if you really want to get close to the bush but keep the 5 star treatment.
There are only 4 'tents' in the camp so a max of 8 people. They are completely separate from the lodge so you are away from it all.
Each tent has its own big bed, shower, toilet ( dressing gowns !) etc so its not really camping. The decor is very luxurious and its all extremely comfortable.
The camp also has a dining room where we had amazing dinners and breakfasts. Also a plunge pool and a relaxation area
The drives themselves were great, we really felt like it was just us there. Paul our ranger was extremely knowledgable and really friendly and helpful. We saw a whole array of birds and small animals as well as all the big ones, and this really added to the experience. All of the staff were very friendly and service was great.
Just go its brilliant!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jo7236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of our Honeymoon and Wedding in SA.
The lodge villas really are fantastic with a plunge pool, decking and private sala which we used for a doze in the afternoon.
We had dinner in our private boma next to an open fire after the afternoon drive which was a nice touch.
The food was better than some other more expensive lodges in Kruger and as it was a fairly new reserve some 3 or 4 years old, the staff were great and keen to impress
The owners of the reserve sent their personal chef to the lodge to keep the standards up and a great job he did too!
Overall, a very professional set-up with a great future.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shropshirebonzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Thanda for three nights in October of this year. It is a great lodge. The villas are enormous and decadent; though they could have somewhat more comfortable seating in the living room. The outdoor bedroom (sala) is about the best place on earth for a lazy nap between game drives. The private plunge pool is a great way to relax as well. The service was excellent in every respect...it seemed that nothing was too much to ask.

The game drives are very good and the guides and trackers are very knowledgable. In addition to the game aspects of the experience, our Zulu tracker, named Ephriam, shared a story with us about the passing of the human spirit in Zulu culture that was one of the most memorable moments of our three weeks in SA.

The food, wine and cigars at the lodge are all excellent, though there is a choice of only two entrees at dinner. We each had a spa treatment and thought it was excellent as well. Overall, the experience was luxurious and the game drives were wonderful (we saw the Big 5).

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Firstly I have done a number of safari's in Southern Africa and also visited Kruger which is the better know safari location I booked Thanda as it fitted in with the itinerary I was doing and meant I could do a few days beach with easy travelling to the safari part of the itinerary. I was interested to see how the game would stack up against Kruger, but first the accommodation.

We stayed at the tented lodge which has 4 tents so a maximum of 8 guests and it is situated away from the lodge about 10 - 15 minutes drive so it has the amazing feeling of being right in the bush. The tents themselves are fully furninshed, desk wardrobes etc not double beds but 2 singles made into a double which you commonly find in south africa with four posters and mosquito nets which aids to the romantic feel. The bathrooms are lovely with plumbed in loo and hot shower, etc. There is no electricity but storm lights at night, and they will charge any electricals up at the lodge if you need them. They could not be better. The tents are also well positioned so they are far enough apart not to feel that everyone can hear every word but close enought to the main camp areas so that you feel secure enough. There is a main tent where breakfast lunch,dinner are served and a viewing platform with leather sofa's a plunge pool and sun loungers over looking the bush. The tented camp is sublime for winding down in luxury in spectacular surroundings.

At night the camp fire is lit and the camp is lit with storm lamps, you walk around at night with a staff member in case any animals are surrounding the camp.

You can visit the lodge and we spent on day there and had some spa treatments which were fabulous, lunch is a higher standard at the lodge but we preferred the seculsion of the camp.

The game is great at Thanda, although it is enclosed camp with a smaller stock of animals the reserve is large, we managed to see the big five, lions, cheetah, elephants, water buffalo and rhino. The elephants aren't as prolific as in Kruger but you will see them, and because it is a newer reserve the guides in particular are very enthusiastic we had two zulu guides who were great and told us a lot about zulu culture. They also have a cultural village which we did go to one night which does zulu dancing, etc I was a bit dubious to start with as I tend to feel uncomfortable in this type of tourist set up but it was interesting and a really enjoyable hour or so.

On occasion they will set up a boma barbecue dinner at the lodge or do breakfast in the middle of the bush.

The lodge seems to be busier with tourists but the tents were fairly quiet and only one other couple were there when we were which was lovely as it felt like we had the place to ourselves.

I can only say that the guys at Thanda have reall nailed the safari experience and have an offering that competes with the best , if you want a game experience with a degree of luxury in easy drive in and out this is fabulous, I would go again in a shot

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SoozeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

We have just returned from our trip to South Africa which included a 2 night stay at Thanda. On arrival at Durban airport we travelled by car to Thanda which takes 2-3 hours - so be prepared for the journey. It's also worth noting that you pass through 3 toll roads so have some rand at the ready.
On arrival you leave your car at the main gates and are driven by safari jeep to the hotel. The journey is stunning and you literally are in the middle of nowhere.
You are greeted at reception with a welcome drink and face towels to freshen up. You are immediately struck by the sheer beauty of the place and the main areas at the lodge are stunning, with a bar & lounge, dining room, shop, reception foyer, library, spa and outside decking areas.
After a brief chat you are then escorted to your room. We opted to stay in the Villas rather than the luxury tents.
The Villas are simply outstanding and I really wished we had stayed longer as I loved them. You have a fireplace, lounge area, bedroom area, huge bathroom, indoor and outdoor shower, plus outdoor dining area, terrace and a wonderful walkway leading to a another huge lounging area which had a circular bed and spectacular views of the reserve. Oh, nearly forgot - you have your own plunge pool too.
The actual game drives are great too - we saw most of the big 5 plus a few more. On the evening safaris you are requested to attend a Zulu show - which to be honest was OK but I would have preferred longer on a night safari, However it was good to see and great to learn more of the Zulu culture.
The food was Good, not excellent but beautifully presented.
We had a super time and the staff were extremely friendly and informative.
It was our first time at a game reserve and we would certainly be tempted to go again.
You will have a great time, and we certainly recommend it. Have fun and enjoy those Villas.
I didn't see the tents as they were a 10 min drive away - so can't comment!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews