We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Balderschwang
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Simply everything”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel offers you everything you could wish for. The lobby and bar with all the wooden decor, the open fire place, the dining area and the spa - all fantastic. And not to forget - the service was great too!

We went cross country skiing in the area and the owner gave us some tips on where to go. This is what is so nice with the hotel - it is very personal without being too personal.

If you are travelling here with car in the winter it is advisable to have your snow chains at hand. The day before we arrived and a few hour after we left a lot of the roads were closed off because of heavy snow fall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc T, Manager at Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review, it is really highly appritiated that you have taken the time to give us a feedback on your recent stay.

We are glad, that you have enjoyed your time in the HUBERTUS and we are really prowd of the compliments you gave us regarding our staff and our hotel.
Balderschwang has in total over 90 km of cross country skiing tracks and our familiy is a huge fan of this sport. Hence the advices we gave you were from our own experience and we are glad that you have enjoyed our tipps.

Balderschwang is one of the snow richest places in Germany and as you have written, the roads are closed quite often. But if we have your mobile number in advance, we will inform you accordingly and give you an advice for an alternative way to our hotel.

We are really looking forward to welcome you again in the HUBERTUS.

With best regards from Balderschwang.

Marc Traubel and the whole HUBERTUS Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    58
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
225
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
378 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I went to this hotel for one night for our wedding anniversary. The hotel comes at a very steep price, but what you get for it is truly great. The hospitality given by all the staff is out of this world,.... it does not matter where and by who in the hotel, the staff always greats you with your name. The spa is really nice as well as the restaurants. The room was tasteful and we had our own jacuzzi and steam in the bathroom. one small negative thing is that the portions are rather small. But this hotel is a true gem and I would advice everybody to go here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchguy_in_Allgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Hubertus Alpine Lodge and Spa for a few days with our two children. The place was fantastic, the hotel staff professional and welcoming, the food absolutely delicious, the spa very good, the rooms beautiful and relaxing. Hubertus is a true gem and the owners and full hotel team do all possible to make your stay absolutely perfect. Breakfast is amazing with a large selection of locally grown produce, the light lunch deserves Michelin stars and the dinner is absolutely delicious and there's more positives, but let me let you discover what. We loved our stay here and would recommend it to families who love to eat good food and want to train the palates of their children to do the same. If you enjoy the fine things in life, want to relax in a calm, customer-focussed atmosphere, this is really the place for you. The prices may seem a bit expensive but every single cent is definitely worth it I can assure you.

Room Tip: If you are with kids, ask for a room with a "hoch galerie", they are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfiniteTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here on a spontaneous two-day-trip. My boyfriend gave this to me as a present. The place is a little far off everything, but just perfect to go on a relaxing holiday. The staff was so welcoming, while filling in all the forms for check-in we were able to enjoy a delicious glass of prosecco. The room was well-equipped, we didn't request room service during our stay. The food was excellent. They have a breakfast and vegetarian lunch buffet, both with great selection. There are four main courses to choose from for dinner. I am not sure if you can place requests for the seating in the restaurant (for dinner), but as other reviewers have stated, you are assigned a table and as I can imagine you will keep that during the stay. The terrace is great, you will find spots either in the sun or in the shade. Great for breakfast and lunch, there is no seating order on the terrace.

We only stayed one night, so weren't able to fully take advantage of all the spa facilities, but we would certainly come back an extend the stay next time.

Room Tip: If you have issues with climbing stairs you should request a room in the main building where there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTraveler508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

All in all a beautiful place to stay!
The staff were polite and attentive greeting us with a glass of prosecco to enjoy while checking in. The room was peaceful and modern with all the little luxuries one really appreciates and the meals were absolutely wonderful offering unbeatable choice, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We came here for a long relaxing summer weekend. And we were absolutely delighted with this hotel and spa.

The hotel has a lovely modern Alpine feel. The terrace was great for breakfast and lunch. Overall, all facilities-gym, pool, spa, restaurants etc. were excellently designed, modern and clean. We loved the decor.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the service in the restaurants was impeccable. We
also participated in a 2 day yoga retreat and were impressed by the quality of the instructor (Fred Tylor) and the serene ambience of the facility.

Our room was modern and clean. Perfectly appointed, but not as welcoming and cosy as the rest of the hotel.

The food in the restaurant was fantastic. The breakfast buffet had nothing to wish for, lunch was light and delicious and dinner was a light wonderfully inventive culinary journey. Who would have thought that red cabbage soup with lemon grass is so delicious. We didn't understand the strict seating order at dinner. Each guest was given a table for their stay and this couldn't be changed!? This is at odds with the totally relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.

Having spent 3 days at the Hubertus, we felt relaxed, fit and full of energy when we left. We would recommend this hotel and spa very highly for a short stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here on a girl's weekend. We were surprised by how far off the beaten path this hotel is, but that makes it an even better place to relax. The Spa is great and spacious, the food delicious (buffet breakfast with amazing selection, a la carte dinner), staff super-friendly. There's tons of very nice details about this hotel- such as on top of bathrobes and slippers, they also put a Rucksack for hiking tours into the room that you get to use during your stay in case you forgot yours. Also, the decor is quite nice. Really loved this place and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balderschwang
1.2 mi away
Wellvitalhotel Bergblick
Wellvitalhotel Bergblick
#2 of 7 in Balderschwang
55 reviews
7.8 mi away
Haubers Alpenresort Hotel
Haubers Alpenresort Hotel
#1 of 40 in Oberstaufen
190 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Bergruh
Hotel Bergruh
#1 of 48 in Oberstdorf
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Schuele's Gesundheitsresort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Bergkristall - Natur und Spa
Bergkristall - Natur und Spa
#3 of 40 in Oberstaufen
106 reviews
8.7 mi away
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hirschegg
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa

Property: Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa
Address: Dorf 5 | 87538 Balderschwang/Allgäu, 87538 Balderschwang, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Balderschwang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Balderschwang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hubertus Alpin Lodge&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing