We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Bavaria”

Brauereigasthof Maierbrau
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brauereigasthof Maierbrau
Ranked #2 of 2 Altomunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I stayed here for 3 weeks in August, you might be asking why? well i have a job here in Munihc but at the time of starting my job i did not have anywhere to stay so i stayed here at Maierbräu.

All the staff there were fantastic and really friendly, i checked in late and they were very helpful, and polite and have excellent English.

in my experience Munich Germans have very poor English so it was nice to be able to speak to the staff here in English :)

Also the hotel owner Frau Cristl was very helpful and booked me in for an extra week because i had not found a flat in munich, i had a lot of stress trying to find somewhere to stay and she was very helpful,

ALTOMÜNSTER

Altomünster is very quiet except for the chruch bells which go off at 6 in the morning :( THIS IS A PROBLEM WHEN YOU WANT A LONG LIE

everyone here is very friendly at least if you pass them in the street they say hello or "Servus"

theres not a lot to do in Altomünster but it is very nice to walk around, go for an ice cream, eat some bavarian food, or go to lidl.

in order to get out of Altomünster ouy need to take the train to Dachau and change over, the train journey from here is approx 45 mins to Dachau then 15 -20 mins from Dachau to Marianplatz(City centre)

this can be a problem because the trains to and from Altomünster are not very often for example every 45 mins or sometimes later, also Dachau and Altomünster are not in the innenraum(inner circle) so its cost more money for a day ticket or a single ticket.

if you do want a bavarian experience and people serving you in the traditional dress then Brauereigastof Maierbräu is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillsiesince1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

This gasthof was everything that my adult son and I wanted on a weeklong trip to Germany. The hosts were warm and welcoming, the food delicious, the beer outstanding and the city was a perfect example of a small village in Germany. What makes this gasthof so perfect is that the S bahn from Munich stops practically at their doorstep. This was without a doubt the best experience we could have had! The breakfast buffet was delicious and the evening meals excellent. The restaurant was filled with locals playing cards, laughing and enjoying the delicious beer brewed on the property. I hate giving this place such a great review because I am afraid everyone will flock there but there are steep steps to the rooms, no elevator and this place is really for a typical German experience and best for someone who has traveled extensively in small towns in Europe before. A tourist new to Europe would not appreciate this little jewel of a place. Make sure that you walk up and through the church outside of the gasthof.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We chose this hotel because it was the only reasonably priced place we could find within anywhere near the Oktoberfest in Munich - and we booked two months ahead!! If ever we go back to the Munich area, we will stay here again. It is well worth the peaceful hour train ride into Munich. The hotel is spacious with a beautiful beer hall, excellent food (watch the kitchen hours), good continental breakfast, super clean guest rooms, and common bathrooms (should you opt not to go the cheaper route and share). The staff was very friendly, and there was always someone on duty that spoke English. The town of Altomunster was very quaint and we felt like we were able to get a little glimpse of German life amidst our fast-paced week of touring big cities. Another bonus for those interested in the Dachau Museum - Dachau is a stop on the train route into Munich.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Er is geen lift, vrij hoge badrand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank willy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Katharina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Salvatore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brauereigasthof Maierbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brauereigasthof Maierbrau

Address: Marktplatz 2, 85250 Altomunster, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Altomunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Altomunster
Price Range: $101 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brauereigasthof Maierbrau 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Brauereigasthof Maierbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing