We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay in Black Forest, Germany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breitnau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Best Western Hofgut Sternin hotel is located in an excellent location which is much far away from bigger cities in Germany. It is surrounded with wonderful thick forest and many small villages. A right place to stay and relax. There is no special season to visit this place but the best season would be during the spring season.

How to reach this place: There are many regional and fast speed trains (ICE) from Frankfurt, Munich and other major cities to Freiburg. From Freiburg, traveller has to change the line and should reach Hinterzarten. From Hinterzarten, you may reach hotel by Taxi or Hotel shuttle.

Many tourists also stay in Freiburg and it is nice place to shop.

I would personally recommend someone who is interested to stay in this hotel. Hotel is built in a typical black forest design and provide good service. If you stay for more than 2 nights, you will also be provided with a special pass with which you may travel in and surrounding places. With this pass, you will also get free entry to many attraction places and special discounts on shopping. Overall, it is great place to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purushottam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 336 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Hofgut Sternen during Christmas last month, while the hotel itself is nestled at the foot of the Ravenna gorge & beautifully done up in typical blackforest architecture getting to the hotel from hinterzarten station can be a challenge if you don’t have your own vehicle.
Pros:
The property has several different buildings - a main building has several rooms and then there are 2 smaller buildings with rooms as well.The rooms are very comfortable & the ambience is very nice. We stayed in a room in the main building on the 2nd floor having a front view. Even though the highway is close by it does not disturb you in any way. There was a giant cuckoo clock on the outside of one of the buildings which was a treat to watch when it chimed the hour. There was also a cuckoo clock shop on the property.
There are plenty of sightseeing options around the hinterzarten region.
1) The train journey to Lake Schluchsee is very scenic & passes by Lake Titisee.
2) The bus journeys to St Martin & St Morgen are also very scenic.
3) Mt Feldberg is also another option.
4) A trip to the waterfalls at Schaffhausen is a must.
5) Freiburg is the closest major town & quite good.
Cons:
The location of the hotel is at a fair distance from hinterzarten station & with the shuttle available at a 2 hour interval between 10:30 to 16:30 (during the winter season) it hampered our sightseeing schedule. Also on the 1st day we were told by the reception staff (sheila) that the 18:30 shuttle would be available which was not the case (apparently during the winter months the last shuttle leaves hinterzarten at 16:20) & this caused us great inconvenience to get back .My advice to fellow travelers would be to ensure that you inform the hotel in advance about the pickup timings from hinterzarten station as the shuttle will not be waiting for you if this is not done.
When we checked in we were told that each day there would be Christmas activities that were optional, however when we wanted to have normal dinner on Christmas Eve we were very rudely told by Sheila that all the tables were reserved & we couldn’t be accommodated. Which hotel in the world refuses their guests dinner!!!!!!! I AM SURE THAT ALTERNATIVE ARRANGEMENTS COULD HAVE BEEN MADE!
The only positives were the excellent service provided by Fabio who took a genuine interest in making our stay memorable and Bernadette at the restaurant who always served with a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skymir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I traveled with mom in Germany, we loved the hotel building by woods.
It's lovely and worm located in the snow.
And there is a huge clock in the garden, nice place to take photo.
The food is so so, but the stay is perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very good service and friendly staff. We will be back to see the Ravennaschlucht in spring and I'm pretty sure that we will stay at the Hofgut Sternen. Titisee and Schluchsee are not far away from the hotel, so you can do some sightseeing. If the weather's not that fine you can use your Schwarzwaldkarte and go to the Badeparadies swimming parc in Titisee-Neustadt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0gerS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My family of 4 stayed here with out pet. It was in the perfect location for driving around and still seeing the black forest. Our room was vary vary nice that over looked the stream that goes past the hotel. When we were there for our 3 nights the on location restruant does get vary busy and was unable to serve us 2 of the 3 nights, but that wasnt a problem. They do get busy with tour bus groupes stooping by. We really enjoyed this hotel and will be recommanding this to others that visit the area..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler-with-Kids1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent staff: extremely friendly, really could not do enough: Rooms are spacious and have that German charm. we were a party of 10 and all our rooms were together, which was great. Some rooms had not been fully modernised (bathroom), but all clean. Food was great. The only thing missing is a games room (they had a few board games only), and as the weather was not great for skiing, this was really missed. They could do with a table tennis room or billiard room.
very high standard generally, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Germany63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I cannot say enough about how beautiful this location is. As you drive down to the hotel property, you feel like you're arriving in something out of a fairy tale. The property has several different buildings - a main building has several rooms and then there are 2 smaller buildings with rooms as well. We stayed in the Goethe House, and our room was excellent. It was large (actually gigantic by European hotel room standards) and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean, and had a heating unit in it, which was a definite bonus.

We had traveled here on a tour, and we weren't the only tour group there on that night. I think this overwhelmed the staff a bit, because while they were extremely friendly, they were not the most attentive - many of us ordered drinks we never received, both during dinner and afterwards. We were sitting in the bar area (part of the lobby) after dinner and we heard the phone ringing and no staff member ever came to pick it up. This was the only thing that kept me from giving this hotel a 5-star review.

There was a giant cuckoo clock on the outside of one of the buildings which was a treat to watch when it chimed the hour. There was also a cuckoo clock shop on the property, and the staff there were very friendly and attentive. We had a demonstration on how the clocks are made, and then were shown the showroom. I did not want to buy a clock, and yet the staff was willing to answer all my questions.

In short, even though the hotel is slightly out of the way, I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely getaway.

Room Tip: It may not seem convenient, but the rooms in the Goethe House are beautiful, and really are just acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DairyQueenWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breitnau
3.4 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
342 reviews
3.9 mi away
Action Forest Active Hotel
Action Forest Active Hotel
#4 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#5 of 16 in Feldberg
143 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brugger's Hotelpark am See
Brugger's Hotelpark am See
#7 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
188 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof
#6 of 16 in Hinterzarten
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen

Address: Hoellsteig 76, 79874 Breitnau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Breitnau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breitnau
Price Range: $98 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Breitnau
Best Western Hofgut Sternen
Breitnau Best Western
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany - Breitnau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing