We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Waldhotel Fehrenbach(Hinterzarten)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zartenbach(Hinterzarten)
View Hotel
Hotel am Bach(Hinterzarten)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Schwarzwaldhof(Hinterzarten)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Imbery(Hinterzarten)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adler Bellevue(Hinterzarten)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reppert(Hinterzarten)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sonnenberg(Hinterzarten)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Spa
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
161
128
35
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
128
35
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscuckoo clockblack forestmain buildingbig clockwonderful propertysouvenir shopfairy talespecial menugroup tourlocal attractionsboth breakfast and dinnerhotel groundsmajor roadwindow boxestwo singleshiking trailssleep quality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 345 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I cannot say enough about how beautiful this location is. As you drive down to the hotel property, you feel like you're arriving in something out of a fairy tale. The property has several different buildings - a main building has several rooms and then there are 2 smaller buildings with rooms as well. We stayed in the Goethe House, and our room was excellent. It was large (actually gigantic by European hotel room standards) and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean, and had a heating unit in it, which was a definite bonus.

We had traveled here on a tour, and we weren't the only tour group there on that night. I think this overwhelmed the staff a bit, because while they were extremely friendly, they were not the most attentive - many of us ordered drinks we never received, both during dinner and afterwards. We were sitting in the bar area (part of the lobby) after dinner and we heard the phone ringing and no staff member ever came to pick it up. This was the only thing that kept me from giving this hotel a 5-star review.

There was a giant cuckoo clock on the outside of one of the buildings which was a treat to watch when it chimed the hour. There was also a cuckoo clock shop on the property, and the staff there were very friendly and attentive. We had a demonstration on how the clocks are made, and then were shown the showroom. I did not want to buy a clock, and yet the staff was willing to answer all my questions.

In short, even though the hotel is slightly out of the way, I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely getaway.

Room Tip: It may not seem convenient, but the rooms in the Goethe House are beautiful, and really are just across the way from the main building.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DairyQueenWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

in a valley in the heart of the Black Forest, this hotel is ideal for a weekend break or a stop-over in the middle of Europe. Traditional building, lots of flowers and window boxes, and yet the rooms are fully modernised and very clean. The restaurant offers a good selection of regional specialities and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
There is a beautiful walk along the Ravennaschlucht ( a river rushes through a steep-sided canyon) directly by the hotel. The main road to Freiburg runs close by, but we didn't find the noise to be too bad. Very family-friendly (special menu offers too), but also good for couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel and arrived after dinner where we were welcomed by the sight of a beautiful wooden structure with flowers overflowing in profusion from the windows. This hotel is comprised of 4 buildings and one of those buildings even has a giant cuckoo clock on one wall, although we never did get to see the cuckoo perform anytime that we were there. We waited at the stroke of 9 and 10pm and again at 6 and 7 in the morning.

Our room, which was spacious and decorated in keeping with the wooden façade of the building and country theme was clean and spacious. It was at the second floor of the main building, reachable by stairs or by a small old fashioned cranky elevator which only seemed to work only when it wanted to. With luggage, there was no option but to risk the one and only elevator and you had to wait like sometimes 10 minutes for the door to close. Ringing the emergency bell in the elevator brought no one to assist. When we went back to reception and asked the lone staff at reception, she said to just manually pull or push the door if it refuses to close by itself! And already there was a long line stuck there waiting for the elevator. This elevator definitely needs some major maintenance, if not replaced. I'm not even sure its safe! There seemed to be only one person at check-in and was of course overwhelmed. Aside from our group of 29, there was another group waiting to check-in.

Upon arrival on our floor, all the lights were off and groping along a dark corridor with luggage is not my idea of a welcome specially after an elevator ride that left more than a lot to be desired. Then, our room was located in a corridor behind another closed door, again pitch dark and you had to go groping for the light switch.

Finally got to our room as described above, a little less impressive than the façade of the hotel but better than the cranky elevator ride and dark corridors. Bath and shower old fashioned and not well lighted, also the tub if you are standing to take a shower, dangerously slippery. No rubber or security bath mats provided. Beautiful views of the forest all around from the windows, though and wonderfully clean air all around.

There was a lone old fashioned computer for use by hotel guests at the miniscule lobby which took the longest time to boot up, so long that I never got to get it working. Very charmingly decorated country theme restaurant located on the ground floor of the main building which served a superb breakfast with wonderful breads and great choice of teas and cold cuts including some excellent black forest ham.

With the location, if we wanted to experience the black forest, this hotel would be excellent if it upgraded some of the facilities. Already the façade is beautiful and the food served is excellent. Were that the elevator, bathroom and computer were modernized, I'd give this another star or maybe even two. And maybe add some more front office staff. I love hotels with atmosphere only if the plumbing and modern conveniences were up to snuff.

I thought the children's playground with the plastic slides and stuff just outside the main building were rather jarring with the whole atmosphere and beautiful wooden façade of the main building but I guess the children need some of those too.

Room Tip: I didn't get to explore the other buildings but I would guess that most of the rooms would have a view since there is natural forest all around. Try to ask for a room at the main building though, closer to the excellent restaurant.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

On our Trafalgar tour of Germany, my wife and I stayed in this hotel for a night only and wished it could have been longer. This relatively small traditional "Black Forest" hotel is located in a tranquil valley, surrounded by trees, flowers, lakes and mountains. From the balcony of the hotel we even saw goats grazing at the top of the mountain. Our spacious room was comfortable with the usual conveniences. The food at breakfast was generous and very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level probably offer better views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights with some family friends and 5 girls under the age of 13. The property with the four buildings and the court yard in the middle allowed the girls to play outside and with the water pump without us having to worry about them getting into any traffic.
Our room was wonderful -- very spacious and comfortable; the bathroom was also large and very modern. Service was great as well -- when the maid came to set up the extra bed, she also provided a wonderful recommendation for dinner in a little town close-by. There were plenty of choices at breakfast and lots of tables to sit (if you want to sit outside, you might have to wait a bit for a table).
One night there was a big birthday party on the property with lots of guests and loud music. I worried about being able to sleep, but the rooms are well isolated and we couldn't hear anything.
Exploring the area around TItisee and other towns required driving. the property also gets visited by various tour buses during the day, which can get a bit busy sometime. They all come to see the large clock on the side wall of one of the buildings and shop at the glass and gift shops.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews