We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, spacious, quirky, and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breitnau
Certificate of Excellence
Macon, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“charming, spacious, quirky, and lovely”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Don't be put off by the "Best Western" brand. The Best Westerns in Germany are pretty nice. I have noticed that they are also nice in the Rocky Mountain region of the US. I have no idea why the East Coast ones are so shabby. But, I digress . . .

I stayed at the Hofgut Sternen for two nights while I was on a Christmas markets tour and absolutely loved it. The hotel is in a scenic location, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is delightful, and the staff members are friendly (but not too friendly).

My room was quite large and very clean. Keep in mind that the beds here are European style-- two singles placed next to each other to form a king. I moved my single mattress across the room since I'm not big on bed sharing and I was totally comfortable.

This hotel is really proud of its water. In fact, your room will have a carafe and flute glasses . . . for the water. I certainly did not dislike the water.

The house maid leaves a wrapped gummy sheep on your pillow each night, which I found both clever and sweet.

Overall, this hotel was a winner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickB755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    116
    33
    16
    5
See reviews for
96
117
22
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We often travel with a set time during the day to begin our search for the night's accomodation. On this day the fog was getting thicker and the sun was setting. As we drove by the cluster of buildings we were drawn to the picturesque setting. Hotel Hofgut provided us with a very nice place to rest for the night. We had a beautiful view from our room, and it was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. We ate dinner at the restaurant, well prepared local cuisine, full size portions, and no complaints. My husband was thrilled as one of his favorite German beers was on tap. In the US hotel restaurants are often places one avoids. In Europe the standards and expectations of restaurants in hotels are higher ..good quality, hearty, local cuisine is often the norm. We enjoyed all aspects of our stay at Hotel Hofgut, took a few pictures and lingered in the two shops before we departed. The hotel staff, waitress and shop employees were professional, helpful, and friendly. All in all we would love to return and use this as a base for more exploring & hiking in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anothercalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

1 night staying at the hotel. we like enter to the Fairy tale world.
Our tour leader said the hotel scenery will be in great during winter time, but I had already amazed by their environment during our visit in end August.

The only appointment's is their food serve for dinner. The taste of pork knuckle is so terrible, I dun;t like it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeelinLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fantastic room. Good hiking. Good food. Good beer. Good service. If you just want to loaf, sit on the veranda and look at the view. Close enough to other Black Forest towns for easy access. Very helpful people at the desk. Get a story from the staff about some of the history. Go past the toll house to the little church. Allegedly Marie Antoinette stayed here.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter and the view from the second floor rooms are great. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasAggie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay (3 nights booked with sheerings) very friendly staff especially in the Restaurant(s). We shared the table at meal time with 2 other couples ;and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere.Excellent Dinner and Breakfast.Very good service at Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hofgut Sternen as an overnight stop in the Black Forest. We had not been able to book a family room, so originally booked two rooms, but when we arrived we were upgraded to a family room which was a double room with bathroom, TV and sitting area and a separate bedroom for the kids (but without its own bathroom or TV), through a connecting door … and were only charged for one room.

It was late (and bad weather) when we arrived, so we ate in the hotel restaurant. The food and service was good in the evening, but the following morning breakfast was chaotic and a little disorganised (perhaps we just hit a busy time).

Overall, it was a perfect relaxing overnight stop in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWW's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on 3 different occasions. Each time, I find more to recommend this hotel than not - the location is excellent. Previously I stayed in the main hotel building, while this time I stayed in the newer, separate building. The rooms in this facility were very large, with high ceilings and modern bathrooms. WiFi was included at no additional charge.
Food service was friendly but not very attentive. Our waitress showed us to our seat at breakfast but never reappeared. It was difficult to get another pot of coffee when the first pot ran out!
This hotel tends to cater to bus tours. Tour groups get priority in the restaurant - you will need to make a reservation to ensure that you don't miss out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REMCANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breitnau
1.9 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
318 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
292 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Baren
Hotel Baren
#1 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Brugger's Hotelpark am See
Brugger's Hotelpark am See
#5 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
169 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
4.0 mi away
Maritim TitiseeHotel
Maritim TitiseeHotel
#7 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen

Property: Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen
Address: Hoellsteig 76, 79874 Breitnau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Breitnau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breitnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Breitnau
Best Western Hofgut Sternen
Breitnau Best Western
Best Western Hotel Hofgut Sternen Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany - Breitnau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing