We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“what an experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of I Menhirs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
I Menhirs
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Castiadas
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“what an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have a holiday home close by and have never visited this place until recently and am sorry that I have missed all those years before.
We were a party of 6 adults and 9 children some of whom had nut, egg and fish allergies which proved no problem for the chef at all.
We had the 30 euro menu and dish after dish arrived all beautifully presented, delicious and plentiful...malloreddus a typical sardinian dish, lots of anti pasta, home made bread, varying types of meat amazing deserts and an abundance of wine liqeurs and coffee.
Value for money and service was second to none...it is a family run restaurant with a little bit of English spoken who were all very attentive.
The location is very peaceful with lovely furnishings and well tended gardens...they also run a bed and breakfast and I would imagine this to be of a very high standard.
So if you are staying in nearby Costa Rei or Villlasimius definately make a trip here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
89
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is an excellent 'agriturismo' close to Costa Rei. Food is excellent, serving a fixed menu of typical food from Sardinia. Note this will include pork, not fish as you are not on the coast!
But it will be plenty of food so get prepared in advance.

The location os very nicely maintained, with a small but very nice garden that is suitable for kids to play.
The service is also very good as they even provide games for the little ones.
You ned to book well in advance in the high season if you want to get a table on the terrace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We are a family of 3 young children and 3 adults. The rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious, and nicely decorated. Francesca is a fantastic chef. Breakfast is served with freshly made cream puffs and cannoli - a big treat! The Sardinian dinner is fantastic with local wine, freshly made pasta, lamb stew, and Gian Paolo's delicious roast pig. Dessert is not to be missed. Elizabeth is extremely helpful. They really make you feel at home. The animals are good entertainment for the kids. Though we speak no Italian, we hadno problem. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KensingtonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We chose this restaurant for our last night in Sardinia at the suggestion of a local olive oil producing family and we had an incredible dinner! Served in "family style" the dishes are numerous and all delicious. I especially liked the goat, but each dish was very tasty. We were with friends who spoke Italian well and the cook came out to discuss the dishes with our friends. The service was very good and friendly and the atmosphere on the covered porch was pure contentment. Every table was filled with family groups having a wonderful time. If I am able to come back to Sardinia I will definitely consider staying in this hotel and having many meals here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful location. Spent a long weekend here with my husband. Delicious home made food. Great to get away. Its a drive to the beach but the beach front places aren't great so better value and authentic ambience food staying in land. Rooms are lovely - not so big but there is a terrace and mostly you'd be out so not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I recommend this place to people who are looking for a relaxing and tranquil holiday rather than having fun among the crowds. It is located in the middle of nowhere with very few houses around, but still only 10 mins drive from the beautiful beaches on the East Coast of the island....At night, you do not hear much noise other than the sounds of animals...and almost complete darkness enables you to see so many stars in the sky..You can't have a beachfront view from this place..but it definitely has its own charm. PEACEFUL was the word that was always in my mind while I was staying here... So if you are looking for such a holiday, please keep reading this review to know more.

Rooms - Impeccably clean and spacious. Decorated with some traditional Sardinian elements. It's a simple, clean, and spacious room. Bathroom is also quite spacious with a shower and of course, very clean. I know that they have a baby cot available, so if you need one, just tell them before you arrive, and they'll have it ready for your use. Moreover, each room has a terrace overlooking a well-maintained lawn with two chaise longues, a lounge table and out door lounge sofa. There's also a drying stand on the terrace.

Small Farm with animals - They have a small farm with animals. One side for about ten goats..and the other side with three donkeys. It's small but well main-tained. It was pleasant to see these animals on the way to and from the breakfast and dinner...although I'm not a goat nor a donkey lover. I guess childern will appreciate it even more.

Parking space - More than enough...You'll get to park your car in front of your room.

Distance from the beach - 10 to 15 mins drive by car. While staying in Sardinia, we've been to beaches in Villasimius, Nora, Chia and here on the side of Costa Rei....They were all beautiful. Each of them has its own fascination and we liked all of them. While staying at i Menhirs, we loved Cala Pira and Cala Sinzias, always 10 to 15 mins drive by car.

Breakfast - Full of home made cakes and tartes. Even home made nutella-like spread as well as Nutella. Different types of home made jams. Different types of honey. Fruits.There are also salty stuff, such as different types of ham and cheese..and some other things from the dinner the night before. (I wouldn't call it left-overs, since it would have been such a waste and pity to throw them away.) Things on the breakfast buffet changes a bit each day for those who stay for longer than a night.

Dinner - Wow..Wow..Wow...It was just so good. All home made food by the lady owner. I have not seen the menu there..but the ladies who run the place come to you and explain what they have that day and check with you what you'd like to have for each course. You can simply say that you'd like to try them all, and they'll bring them to you. And if you like a certain Italian or Sardinian dish, just ask them if they have it..they might have it ready for you if they have the right ingredients. Wow..We've had a Sardinian meal at Sa Bingia in Villasimius..but the meal at i Menhirs..was just heaven. No touch of anything commercial but a simple home made food with love and passion of a lady owner from the starter till the dessert. The items vary each day for those who stay over a night on half-board. And the price...? You'll be surprised...to know that you pay so little for so many things you get...Quality, Quantity, Price...It's definitely worth having dinner here.

Service & Hospitality - Once you stay at I Menhirs, you can really feel that they run the place with love and passion. They might not over-smile at you or jump around you with joy..But they do care about you with their hearts. If you have complaints, they try to listen to you and fix it if possible. Already the fact that they have a baby cot ready for a room says something, not all the b&bs or agriturismos in Italy have it available. It's a family-run place and for the members at I Menhirs, you come first than the money you pay. At least, that is how I felt during my own stay.

We were a 100% satisfied with our stay at I Menhirs..and cannot wait to be back again for another pleasant holiday, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 090306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were staying at Villasimius and Sa Bingia restaurantw as closed so our hotel reccommend us to come here. It was a bit hard to find but definitely worth the drive up there. We had the set menu which is 30 Euros including wine, coffee and dessert. The amount of fodd you get is incredible, and although most people go there for the suckling pig, I think the goat was even better, The service was great and event hough they spoke no English we still managed well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r_vaswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiadas
5.9 mi away
Hotel La Villa del Re
Hotel La Villa del Re
#1 of 9 in Castiadas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Albaruja
Hotel Albaruja
#5 of 14 in Costa Rei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
10.5 mi away
Janas Hotel
Janas Hotel
#2 of 33 in Villasimius
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sant'Elmo Beach Hotel - Blu Hotels
2.6 mi away
La Corte dei Rei
La Corte dei Rei
#6 of 9 in Castiadas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel il Vascello
Hotel il Vascello
#8 of 14 in Costa Rei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Menhirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Menhirs

Property: I Menhirs
Address: Loc.Annunziata, 09040, Castiadas, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Castiadas
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castiadas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Castiadas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your I Menhirs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Menhirs Castiadas, Sardinia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing