We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Trucks”
Review of Ermelo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ermelo Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ermelo
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Spent 2 x nights at the Ermelo Inn as we we working in the area. Unfortunately 1400 coal trucks pass through the town per day and you hear most of them. I swapped rooms with one of my clients as he could not sleep with the noise from the trucks. Unfortunately there is a set of traffic lights right outside the hotel and hear the trucks gear down and power up through the gears again when they pull away.

The staff at reception were very friendly and obliging. Breakfast was very busy and they ran out of coffee, cups and glasses on both mornings and we had to ask for them to be replenished. The breakfast was acceptable and a far selection. The rooms are spacious and have tea and coffee and a kettle. There is often a lot of noise from the parking area of the hotel and this is due to misbehaving clients.

Value for money hotel but make sure you get a room on the inside and closest to the shopping centre where the Mugg and Bean is situated.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the inside and away from the road and closest to the shopping centre wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Not value for money . One or more, sometimes a significant number of guests staying at the property, are a nuisance because of their behavior, Some of these behaviors can include racuousness in common areas, playing loud music or TV, public drunkenness, and prostitution, all while management is apathetic to this activity.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for three months with work at the start of the year and found the staff friendly and helpful from desk and management down to cleaners and gate guards. The room was large and clean as was the bed and the amenities comfortable. The food was plentiful and the serving and waiting staff attentive. The bar was nice with sports tv and comfortable seats but unfortunately prices on par with the UK. Over all a good stay in a nice hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel appears to be getting it wrong in attempting to adopt a low-cost strategy whilst charging more for the services that are obtainable at relatively lower rates at other local hotels.

Straight to the point..."OUR EXPERIENCE AS A FAMILY WAS TERRIBLE WHILST WE STAYED IN THIS HOTEL ON 14&15 JUNE 2013" as follows:

RECEPTION:
(i) We arrived in the evening and the front-desk person on duty was only three weeks old with the company and he had been left alone to run the entire complex. He clearly did not have good training at all.
(ii) It took more than 30 minutes fow his swaswitch POS machine to process our payment.
(iii) He definitely was very wet behind the ear in that I had to spend another 10 minutes or so convincing him that the R895-00 room rate appearing on his print-out implied that I had to pay R1,790-00 due to the fact that I had booked for 2 nights. He wanted to charge me a total of R895-00 for the entire period.

THE STAY (ROOM 118)
(i) Compared to other hotels e.g. Protea Hotel at R650-00, the rooms are TERRIBLE
(ii) As a family, we were issued out only with one set of towels (i.e. for one person)
(iii) When I raised this issue with the (freshman) receptionist, he told me that "The Laundry people left a long time ago. I will see what I can do and come back to you".
(iv) He never came back to me until I had to call him again in the morning around 5h30. His responce was "The Laundry people only start working at 06h00".
(v) We went out and came back in the evening only to find that there was still a single set of towels.
(v) Throughout our stay, the water in the bathroom came so slowly that one had to wait for up to 5 minutes to reach a sensible water level in the bath.
(vi) The wall socket was defective and we had to use our car to charge our mobile phone batteries as we drove around.

CHECKING OUT
.
(i) Once more, it took a long time for the swaswitch POS machine to process our payment for items we had not paid for upon arrival.

Overall, this hotel is TERRIBLE.

The only two things that were good are:

(i) The Potter (Xhosa-speaking) who assisted us upon arrival was EXCELLENT.
(ii) The parking spaces are wide and big that no one will scratch you car as they open their doors.

Regards
Unhappy Customer
South Africa

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Accommodation ok but with localised power cuts and water shortages made it an intersting stay. Generator and water tanks now installed to assist when necessary. Price of beer has increased since last stay probably to pay for the pool table, table tennis and dart board in games room. Not much else has improved, need more tv chanels to relieve the boredom. Wi-fi installed but only available in some rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I work as a medical rep and stayed here roughly 11 months ago whilst the hotel was being renovated, which was not the best experience. The room was dated and the hotel was basically very average on all fronts. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the newly refurbished rooms are very modern & comfortable - the new king sized beds are great, the linens fresh and the carpets seemed new. I also found the new restaurant/dining area to be quite nice, much better than before. I found the staff to be very friendly & professional and the buffet is definitely worth the price. I would say that the room service menu is definitely quite limited, as are the TV choices, but the pool area is lovely and the friendly staff more than made up for this. The lift has been replaced as well so all-in-all the place has improved quite dramatically since my last visit !

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms & check out the pool area. The bar is also nice &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayR848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We arrived late in Ermelo and tried this place for an over night. Arrived and found the place empty. Eventually we found a lady who sadi we must speak to the lady at reception. Then we said there is no one at reception. So eventually we were offered a room at a very expensive price.

The restaurant is bad, they did not even have music and it was deadly quiet and the atmosphere was not there at all. We could not wait to leave.

Definitely needs a remodel and a decoration.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ermelo hotels
4.5 mi away
Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
44 on Ennis Guest Lodge and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Lallapanzi Country Stay
Lallapanzi Country Stay
#3 of 21 in Ermelo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
West Street Inn
West Street Inn
#7 of 21 in Ermelo
16 reviews
1.4 mi away
LaPicasso Guest House
LaPicasso Guest House
#6 of 21 in Ermelo
26 reviews
1.4 mi away
De Villas Guesthouse
De Villas Guesthouse
#12 of 21 in Ermelo
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermelo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermelo Inn

Address: CNR. Kerk & Fourie Streets, Mpumalanga, Ermelo 2350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Ermelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ermelo
Price Range: $75 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ermelo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 160-room hotel, set in Ermelo in the Southern part of Mpumalanga, strides the Gateway to the fascinating Kingdom of Swaziland. This Sunshine Province hotel puts the full range of business communication tools at your disposal and can accommodate up to 320 persons.All rooms at the Ermelo Inn are spacious and fully air-conditioned with color TV that provides 4 SABC channels and 10 DSTV channels and coffee/tea facilities. Ermelo Inn also offers 3 executive suites with its own lounge and dining / conference area. Bertie`s bar is a cozy traditional bar for your enjoyment. The Waenhuis restaurant offers the best meals with a à la Carte and buffet dinners and full English buffet breakfasts.On the relaxation and activities side there is much to offer from this region, like beautiful grasslands and ravines with waterfalls which offer the ideal destination for hiking trails and other outdoors activities for the eco-tourist and leisure traveler alike. LOCATIONThe Ermelo Inn is situated 220 km from Gauteng, 180 km from the Swaziland border and 200 km from the Kruger National Park. ACCOMMODATIONThe Ermelo Inn has a total of 160 rooms, incorporating: 107 double / single rooms, 50 twins and 3 executive suites. Each room is fully equipped with en-suite bathroom / shower and toilet; wall to wall carpeting; Direct dial telephone; remote color TV; Electric shaver jack; tea and coffee making facilities. AMENITIES AND SERVICES• Room service from 18h00 to 21h30• Laundry and dry-cleaning service from 08h00 to 05h00• Non-smoking rooms• Inter Leading rooms• Safety deposit boxes• Swimming pool with pool deck• Fax, mail and Photostat facilities• Cell phone friendly• Free Wi-Fi• Doctor and dentist services on call• Free secured parking• Extra pillows and blankets• Ice machine• Check in time: 14h00 / Check out time: 10h00RESTAURANT & BARThe Waenhuis RestaurantBreakfast: 06h30 – 09h30Dinner: 18h30 – 21h30 Buffet dinners and A` la Carte Menu available.Bertie`s Bar15h00 – 23h00 daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ermelo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermelo Hotel Ermelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing