We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was fine, restaurant wasn't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Fleur de Roques
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puisseguin
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Hotel was fine, restaurant wasn't”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Hostellerie du Roques for 3 nights on our visit to the Bordeaux wine region. The employee at the reception desk that did our check-in was friendly and helpful and our room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was a little bit disappointing. We could only stand in the bathtub while showering. There was no wall-mount for the shower head, so we ended up just holding it while showering. Without any form of shower screen it became a water ballet everytime one of us used the shower. I find that a bit of a pity for a €100/night hotelroom.

The room was very warm during the nights. The walls are thick, but not enough to keep the heat out during summer. A stand fan was provided, but some form of airconditioning would have been nice.

The restaurant, however, was just terrible. While the food we ordered was "ok" although a tad overpriced for what we got. Evening staff was not. They answered our "Parlez-vous anglais?" with a simple "Non". And that was the end of it. Coming from the Netherlands, where restaurant and hotel staff will very often be able to speak 4 languages, I was amazed at the unwillingness of restaurant staff to help us. I really don't expect a long conversation or perfect English sentences, but in my opinion a simple "yes/no/please" and a basic understanding of the menu and different dishes isn't too much too ask. Restaurant staff looked and acted unfriendly and uninterested to both foreign and French guests. If I were restaurant manager there, they would be looking for another job real soon.

We ate in St. Emilion the rest of the nights, which was excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROK_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    83
    34
    18
    0
See reviews for
32
97
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were told that they did not need air conditioning as the walls were so thick. Nonsense, our first night was terrible. Fortunately a very helpful receptionist found an alternative room for the rest of our stay which was better but still very hot.
We had dinner on the first night which was awful and expensive. Breakfast was ordinary and hardly the type to set you up for the day.
The bath was never cleaned properly and there were cobwebs everywhere. In all the hotel was very pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau de Roques last weekend.
The room was a good size with high ceilings, and a modern bathroom.
Breakfast was French - minimalist, but it is the only offer for miles around.
Dinner was excellent, although I agree with a previous review that the profiteroles were "different" and not very appetising.
Parking is a little disappointing as it is some distance from the hotel and is not paved.
On the whole an excellent place to stay while visiting the numerous vineyards of the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandSStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

More character than most hotels, satisfactory accommodation and helpful staff. Overall a pleasant stay although the atmosphere at times resembled a library without the books.
The menu slightly short on choice and portions small . Quality was very good apart from the profiteroles which my colleague thought were made by deep frying a car tyre and the after dinner cup of tea was lukewarm water with a tea bag on the side. Perhaps the above is a bit harsh because despite these comments I wouldn't be afraid to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeWillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axat, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Off the general path, but just 10 minutes drive to St-Emilion, avoid the hustle and bustle (and lack of parking) of the village by staying in this Historic and Romantic Castle. Amazing views of vineyards, beautiful roses, and tweeting birds will relax and refresh after a full day of visiting wine chateaus or shopping. Worth the treasure map journey - you'll be rewarded!

Room Tip: On a budget? Stay in a room on the top floor with twin beds...the views are stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystrocare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaziantep, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed there last night and we werpower very happy with this choice we did. It is a cery old castle, big rooms with high sealing. The bathrooms were big and clean. We would definitely go there again, hopefully in summer. The breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Tip: make a small tour in the village and dont miss visiting the cafe, the guide is great and very f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Denis sur richelieu
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Chateau de roques is a very nice castle in the middle on the wine region of st-emilion,the castle is very well maintain and clean.the room was very comfortable .the castle is right in the middle of a winery,the staff was very friendly and helpful,we did not try the restaurant but for the breakfast it is like many hotel in France minimal.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puisseguin
6.5 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.6 mi away
Auberge de la Commanderie
Auberge de la Commanderie
#4 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Palais Cardinal
Hotel Palais Cardinal
#7 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Fleur de Roques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Fleur de Roques

Property: Chateau Fleur de Roques
Address: Lieu dit Roques, 33570 Puisseguin, France (Formerly Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Puisseguin
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puisseguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Fleur de Roques 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau Fleur de Roques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Hostellerie Du Chateau De Roques Hotel Puisseguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing