We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel in need of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alborada Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Las Galletas
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tired hotel in need of TLC”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

26th June -3rd July 2014. Rooms fine. Pay for the safe, a must. Reception staff helpful. Pool ok, cold for a few days after emptying for cleaning.(Once a week). No lifeguard regardless of what the chap's T shirt says. Pool rules totally ignored, didn't see anyone drowned this week. Keep an eye on your kids.
The food !!!! Un-adventurous salads, very limited warm dishes. The food is prepared, and cooked in a factory and transported in a few hours before service, this is normal practice in these sort of places, and kept warm, sort of ??? It would appear that when a dish runs out that is it, there is no more. Food safety does not apply to the Spanish, raw eggs, undercooked fish and lukewarm food is the norm. New low depths of culinary cuisine have been plumbed, they have found things to do with SPROUTS you wouldn't think possible, hot, cold and undetermined what it was? and just in case you thought that was it, liquid potato.(They call it mash?)
If you do want to eat and want a choice make sure you get in early as certain nations are prone to (will) load their bags with food. (esp breakfast and lunch). Against the rules, what rules !!!!!
If you are a single traveller once at your table don't leave to get anything,if you do it will be cleared, relaid and someone else will be sitting there before you get back. The waiters are fast.
Numerous complaints from other guests were made regarding the food standard and lack of choice, but these fell on deaf ears as have previous comments.No change there.
The bar now has bar service only, you have to queue for all drinks, this is to cut down on wastage and abuse, two drinks per person at any one time, including soft drinks, take a friend. Be prepared for a long wait to get a drink, worse at weekends when the locals descend enmass.
If you set your expectations low then you won't be disappointed if they don't reach that high.

More poor reviews I know, in this case you really do get what you pay for.

If the management took any notice of the reviews a few small changes would make all the difference, unfortunately they are accountants, so that will never happen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betjeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    651
    560
    242
    314
See reviews for
680
870
69
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Ok. The facts.
10 nights all inclusive, single traveller mid thirties, booked through teletext holidays, flights with Thomas Cook. Transfer with Viajes Urbis.

Overall - this was a smooth running no frills break in the sun in a handy location at a great price. Don't expect miracles and I do think experiences will differ at different times of the year.

I arrived late on the Saturday. Simple transfer and didn't have any concerns. Booked in quickly and my apartment was on the ground floor in the first block. 127. From reading reviews I was not happy with this as I was concerned about security and as a solo traveller wanted to be able to sleep with the window open without worrying. I asked to move but the night reception man said no (nicely) so I didn't unpack, slept ok and moved no problem in the morning. I then was in block 5 room 550. Facing the sea but there was some road noise as my room backed on to the road.

The room. Spotless, retro, sparse, but everything I needed. The hideous brutal look of the building is made up for the fact that it is cool in the rooms. Bath was small but I didn't mind. Bed was comfy and large. Loads of storage. Kitchenette had all I needed. A kettle too!! It was regularly cleaned and the staff were nice. I sleep with ear plugs so wasn't disturbed at all. I paid for the safe after reading reviews and this made me feel better knowing stuff was safe. It's not going to win any fashion shows but it did the job just fine.

restaurant. This is where I think a lot of the reviews are a bit off. There is nothing wrong with the food. Don't get me wrong it's not amazing, but again for the price, people are not being fair. I don't eat bread / pasta / sugar etc (of which there was loads) but every meal there was fresh salad, meat and fish. I certainly was well fed. Some of it wasn't to my taste, but it was ok food. Breakfast is cheap meat but the fried eggs were spot on. The service staff work hard and can seem grumpy at first when clearing tables, but a friendly smile and thank you and before long they were chatty and really helpful. Also. I was pleasantly surprised by the cost of food on Tenerife, in restaurants and supermarkets, buying the odd meal here and there really won't break the bank.

The bar. Simples. Place to hang out, chat and drink. No frills but fine. The AI booze was fine and the staff good fun. The entertainment was fairly rubbish but I'm not there for that. Karaoke night was actually way better than the paid acts. Over my time there it got busier and busier, there were no queues at all to start with but more by the end. I guess in peak season it could be a bit of a scrum to get served.

The wifi. Ok everyone. The wifi is a pain. As there are so many people wanting to use it and it's just a domestic router, it can't let everyone on at once. Ask the staff to reset it regularly and you have a chance. When on it it's great. I used it to face time home. Also - to be guaranteed a connection just pop down at 8 in the morning. Simples. Every cafe outside the hotel has free wifi - so it's easy to get elsewhere.

The pool. It's the shining star of the place. Loads of space, great view, loungers a plenty, massive pool, lovely sea water. Yes you get the odd bit of seaweed mossy stuff in it but meh - you are in the biggest, most lovely pool. It gets a bit filmy on the bottom nearer the end of the week, but then the guys clean it and it's good as new again- although cold! Great for kids.

The people. A bit of a mix! Lots of Russians, Germans and Poles - all very nice. Quite a few older people and young families. More and more Brits arrived as I was there, and some were a bit 'Brits abroad' - loud and a bit rude but ok in the main. It's very much a family hotel, not a nightlife hotel. I met some lovely and interesting people - great conversations in the bar of an evening.

The area. Ok. Well for me perfect. Close to the airport (but not on the runway!) small and quiet, close to the sea and easy to escape from on public transport. Las Galletas is great. It doesn't look much but it has everything you might need. Supermarkets (my favourite was Coviran) bars and cafés, clothes shops, pharmacies etc. the marina is a short walk and there is a stone beach. For 1.5€ Each way you can take the bus to Los Cristianos - they don't run to time, but hey, you're on holiday! Cristianos is nice. Small and cute. Lots of shops - amazingly cheap tobacco prices. Lots of nice ice cream shops. Playa de las Americas is less nice in my opinion - but I like quiet.

I went to chill out, de stress and get brown and not break the bank. Mission accomplished. Would I go back? probably not as I'd like to try somewhere new next time, but would I recommend it? hell yes! Don't expect the moon on a stick, be nice to the hard working staff, learn how to say thank you and please in Spanish, ignore the ugly building. You're going to be too busy looking at the pool and the ocean anyway.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
16 Thank memmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

First sight looks like a car park but the design is to get the breeze into the apartments. The blocks are divided into different levels but in one site.
We had a second floor one bedroom apartment looking inside. However the balcony had good rear views. The site and gardens well maintained. It in Las Galletas and you could see the local area and visit other places easily as the bus stops yards from the hotel entrance.
The apartment was in good order but you have to see if Ants present. Call the reception and one spray treatment kept the Apt clear for the duration of our stay.
The food was edible and adequate but not much choice.Breakfast, Lunch, afternoon selection of snacks, evening meal. The drinks were good. You have to self serve beer, wine and cold drinks plus tea and coffee throughout the day. We really liked this method. Only spirits and cocktails were served by Barmen.
We had no problems with serving.
The evening entertainment was mediocre to good. The oudoor see water swimming pool is very big and this meant people were not on top of each other.
Overall good value for money in a nice quiet location.
For partying people you can visit Playa de las Americas or Los Christianos by bus easily.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor Apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anjulifrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

when u paying 300 £ maximum for 7 nights(including flights) all inclusive what can u expect ? caviar and champagne ????? been here last year,more exactly from 8 th of october to 15 th and from my point of view was nearly perfect....if they improve the night entertaiment will be really good....checked the reviews here,people complaing about the food,wonder why !!! its a buffet and u have a lot of options to choose from !!! as i said at the beggining of my review if u want caviar and champagne go to a 5-6 star hotel in Dubai but for sure u will find something bad to say as well.....get a grip people....ALBORADA IS A GOOD PLACE FOR A GOOD HOLLIDAY ....see u in october guys xx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian_1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Staff were very helpful, the rooms were of a decent size but basic. Not much to keep older kids happy (ended up spending €200 on pool/ games etc) the food is very basic and of the same, dont expect too much but overall for the money not bad. Buses into the nearest town cost around €2 each

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Well what can I say about this place. If your not retired don't go here. The place is a dump and run down. There no nightlife and there nothing to do during the day. If you want to a quiet holiday and not move then go buy otherwise don't waste your time

Rooms yes there spacious but this is no 5* hotel and your getting what you paid for.

Room is boring and you end up eating out most nights as there quite nice restaurants on sea front.

The beach well there isn't one get on a bus go somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Las Galletas hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel looks horrendous from outside not much better inside needs loads of work food disgusting same for dinner & tea over & over saving grace of this holiday was the pool , we paid for trips which we enjoyed but had to make our own way to las Americas 20 euros in taxi which is a bit of a liberty when you've paid 200 euros for a trip all in all was glad to get home & wouldn't go back to Tenerife if it was free the whole place is run down except for the bars

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Andreadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Galletas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
Hotel Palia Don Pedro
#1 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
1,210 reviews
29.0 mi away
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
Blue Sea Puerto Resort
#66 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marino Tenerife
Marino Tenerife
#2 of 5 in Costa del Silencio
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Blue Sea Callao Garden
Blue Sea Callao Garden
#4 of 4 in Callao Salvaje
894 reviews
28.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Tenerife
Hotel Perla Tenerife
#46 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
441 reviews
5.9 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alborada Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alborada Beach Club

Property: Alborada Beach Club
Address: Avda Fernando Salazar Gonzalez S/N, 38631 Las Galletas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Las Galletas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Las Galletas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alborada Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alborada Beach Club offers spacious apartment accommodation and is located 50 meters from the fishing village of Las Galletas in Costa del Silencio and within a few miles of the vibrant Playa de las Americas resort (the local bus stop and taxi rank are just 50m from the hotel). Adjacent to the hotel is a small beach (with direct access from the hotel). The apartment units are set amongst beautiful sub-tropical gardens, which offer easy access to the complex's facilities. The nearest town, Las Galletas, is just 50 meters from the aparthotel, and has a good variety of shops, restaurants and bars to suit all tastes and budgets. The apartments are just 20 minutes from the airport, which means you can be off the plane and on the beach in no time. This complex comprises of 285 fully equipped apartments, offering great views of either the gardens, pool, or the Atlantic Ocean. Staying at the Alborada Beach Club guarantees a fun time for all with plenty of activities on-site as well as the beach just a short walk away. The focal point for fun and activities is centred on the beautiful saltwater swimming pool (with a surface of over 3,800m2) and separate children's splash pool, both set amidst spacious sun terraces with plentiful loungers and parasols. A poolside bar is on hand, serving you with drinks and refreshments from 10am until 11pm. If you're after a more active holiday, then why not join in with the daily program of activities, including water polo, aerobics classes and rifle shooting, kayak, etc, whilst those wanting a taste of adventure can take part in the diving lessons. Children will also love their holiday at the Alborada Beach Club where a playground and an on-site Mini Club provide them with daily activities and games to enjoy. Evening entertainment includes a mini disco for the youngsters, followed by live music, cabaret or other professional shows suitable for all the family. Whilst providing fantastic self-catering accommodation, the hotel also boasts a beautiful buffet-style dining room with panoramic sea views, where guests can delight in a range of international and local dishes , all prepared freshly for breakfast, lunch and dinner (with one themed evening meal per week). There is also free Wi-Fi connectivity free of charge in the bar area for guests to stay up-to-date with the latest news. (Wifi is also available in the apartments at an additional charge). All of the spacious apartments have a lounge area with a sofa bed which sleeps up to 1 adult+ 1child, satellite TV, a full bathroom and a kitchen with a two ring hob, microwave, fridge and basic kitchen utensils and crockery. All inclusive includes Buffet style breakfast from 7am until 10am, buffet style lunch from 1:15pm until 3pm, cold snacks from 4:30pm until 5:30pm and evening meal (including two themed dinners per week) from 7pm until 9:30pm. Unlimited soft and alcoholic drinks from 10am until 11pm from the pool bar (and also during meal times in the restaurant). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alborada Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Bel Alborada
Ten Bel Alborada Hotel Las Galletas
Ten Bel Alborada Las Galletas
Alborada Beach Club Tenerife/Las Galletas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing