We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst restaurant experience in all my life (60 years)”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Meson o pazo

Meson o pazo
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Las Galletas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Biezenmortel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“worst restaurant experience in all my life (60 years)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

betreft Meson opazo AV Salazar no 1 Las Galletas
mixed grill: not grilled but heated; hake (half the meal) was raw and hardly unfrosted with strong deep fried taste; old bread .After simply mentioning the dish was taken away and we got -without asking or comment- the bill for the wine and the starter. Outside we've got the expanation (no excuse): it was monday (no fresh fish), price was to low (what to expect), it was not mentioned that the fish of the mixed grill would be fresh. That we waited 2 hours (without any complaining) to get this expierence was because there was only one person in the kitchen. 2014-3-10
The starter (primero) was a €4,50 fish and musselsoup that tasted well (besides the old bread obviously leftovers from other tables). white wine of the house tasted well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marinus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chips with everything?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We visited in February after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. Although the service and friendlyness was fine we did not particulaly enjoy the meal. We chose the lamb mentioned by other reviewers. Mine was absolutely swimming in greasy lamb fat - so much so that the bottom layer of chips on the plate were completely saturated, soggy and inedible. We were not offered an alternative to chips, which seemed to be served to.everyone. .Felt it was very basic. Ttwo lamb and chips + salad + 2 beers came to 22.60 Euros, so cheap and cheerful I suppose. Would not go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Special and unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

There is hardly any need to write a review for this as all the other reviews seem consistent and excellent but just really want to give credit for such a wonderful place. The service is excellent, it has a really nice atmosphere and the best fish ever. This place deserves all the praise it can get.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Service & cleanliness,good choice on menu and reasonably priced also made to feel welcomed,love waiters that always acknowledge you when u leave.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We got recommended this restaurant by friends staying in Ten Bel Alborada and the owners run a fabulous place
Food amazing cooked by the lady of the house and the front of house is managed by super character Carlos
Wines are brilliant too and he is so friendly. you feel like family from first visit.
Spend 10 euro or spend 50. Food is amazing at every price level.
i am going in march and will head straight there.!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChattySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson o pazo also viewed

Las Galletas, Tenerife
 
Las Galletas, Tenerife
 
Las Galletas, Tenerife
Las Galletas, Tenerife
 

Been to Meson o pazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing