We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcolny with views of the lake”
Review of La Maison des Pins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Jorioz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison des Pins
Ranked #1 of 4 Saint-Jorioz B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Elegant comfortable beutifully furnished house.
Views from our large bedroom of the lake and beyond were amazing.
Breakfast ouside on a sunny morning ,yogurt freash bread with home-made cakes and jams perfectly french. 3 mins down the hill drive to lakeside and very close to gorgeos Annecy town (10-15 mins depending on traffic) Its a pleasure to stay here.
Tip a lot of restaurants close either sunday or monday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The owners of the property have renovated it beautifully - the photos on their website do not do it justice - our room was beautiful. Breakfast was always lovely - home-baked delights awaited us each morning.
Just be aware that the property is a way from the lake and up a steep hill, so driving everywhere is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arundec77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at la Maison des Pins for three nights in June and loved it. Our bedroom and bathroom were huge, with wonderful views of Lake Annecy. Breakfast on the terrace was a delight. Mado was friendly and charming, and produced something varied, home-made and delicious each morning. Philippe, whose english is excellent, was on hand each evening to help with our plans for next day. He also recommended a wonderful lake-side restaurant for dinner. We'd love to return to this great B&B in its beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in October. We were charmed by the house and its hosts. The house is tastefully decorated in the style of the region, the bedroom was spacious and clean, the bathroom well equipped and big for this type of accomdation.
The views of the lake are stunning and the location is peaceful, although not far from the centre of St-Jorioz (a few minutes drive). The hosts, Mado and Phillipe, are very friendly and helpful. Pilllipe speaks fluent English.They gave us brilliant advice on where to eat in the evening and on good places to see during the day. Mado served us delicious breakfast, different each day, with homemade jams and cakes. Great week-end, we are definitely coming back!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ZinaBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is a very nice B&B. The reception room/lounge is charming and comfortable, the bedrooms are spacious with nice furnishings, the bathrooms surprisingly large with very stylish, modern sanitary ware. The place was very clean and bright, and the views of Lake Annecy are lovely. As the weather was good, we were served breakfast outside - unfortunately, owing to the hedge there are no lake views from the breakfast area. Also, the house, while attractive in itself, charming and quite old, is surrounded by rather unexciting modern homes, with one more under construction right next door. The pine trees that give it its name, are a reduced stand behind the house, and, as they don't seem to belong to the property, may well vanish one day for yet more development. The breakfast goods were very nice and the bread very fresh - in fact, Mado popped out to the boulangerie just as we sat down to fetch fresh supplies.

However,overall somehow we were slightly disappointed by this place. Perhaps it was because we had experienced other slightly better B&Bs, rather than any specific issue with la Maison des Pins. Also, for the standard of accommodation and other offerings, we found the prices rather steep - but the whole Lake Annecy area is more expensive than other nearby spots.

Mado and Philippe were perfectly friendly and welcoming (Philippe speaks good English, Mado has a more limited command - but this wasn't the issue as I speak good French) but somehow they seemed rather formal and distant, rather than warm and sponteneous. As we were with friends, we were mostly ignored while they attended to another couple (who happened to be native French speakers).

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank SussexWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I must admit, the owners of this wonderful home are living my dream! We stayed 3 nights with our almost 2 year old son at this lovely B&B. Our room was spacious and so charming! The crib for my son was gorgeous, including the bedding. The balcony offered us spectacular views of Lake Annecy. A peaceful place to unwind and a great location to explore all that the area has to offer. Breakfast offerings were plenty and each day was something different and even more delicious. Our hostess, Madoline, was so very kind and especially sweet to our son. We highly recommend a stay here to truly experience a taste of what it might be like to live in paradise.

Room Tip: If you stay a minimum of 3 nights, you are eligible for the large balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed for one night in May 2011 with our 10 yo son. Our hostess Mado was very welcoming and gracious, sitting down to a pot of tea with us after our arrival in the pouring rain, and giving us the chance to practice our French.

In fact, the rain was the only bad point in our whole stay. The room was lovely, beautifully decorated with lots of nice little touches which showed great flair and taste. Our bed was very comfortable, as was the single bed for our son which was easily accommodated in our room (La Tournette). The view would have been superb from our balcony had the weather allowed! The bathroom was spacious with two separate washbasins and a shower, and the same attention to detail as we saw throughout the house. The whole place was very tranquil.

In the evening, we ate at the justifiably popular Restaurant Les Tilleuls in St Jorioz, an easy trip down the hill from the guest house.

Breakfast was taken at a large table in the guest house where we chatted with the other guests while enjoying the fresh bread and home made jams (including tomato jam, which was surprisingly good). We also tried Mado's homemade Savoie cake which went well with hot chocolate.

Hard to think of any way to make La Maison des Pins better. A definite 5/5.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Jorioz hotels
1.1 mi away
L'Oree du Lac
L'Oree du Lac
#2 of 4 in Saint-Jorioz
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence hoteliere spa Les Chataigniers
1.9 mi away
Le Pre du Lac
Le Pre du Lac
#4 of 4 in Saint-Jorioz
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison des Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Pins

Address: 1132 route de la Cote, 74410 Saint-Jorioz, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Jorioz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jorioz
Price Range: $106 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing