We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“All perfectly nice - but somehow disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison des Pins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Jorioz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison des Pins
Save
You added La Maison des Pins to your Saves list
1132 route de la cote, 74410 Saint-Jorioz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Saint-Jorioz B&B and Inns
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“All perfectly nice - but somehow disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is a very nice B&B. The reception room/lounge is charming and comfortable, the bedrooms are spacious with nice furnishings, the bathrooms surprisingly large with very stylish, modern sanitary ware. The place was very clean and bright, and the views of Lake Annecy are lovely. As the weather was good, we were served breakfast outside - unfortunately, owing to the hedge there are no lake views from the breakfast area. Also, the house, while attractive in itself, charming and quite old, is surrounded by rather unexciting modern homes, with one more under construction right next door. The pine trees that give it its name, are a reduced stand behind the house, and, as they don't seem to belong to the property, may well vanish one day for yet more development. The breakfast goods were very nice and the bread very fresh - in fact, Mado popped out to the boulangerie just as we sat down to fetch fresh supplies.

However,overall somehow we were slightly disappointed by this place. Perhaps it was because we had experienced other slightly better B&Bs, rather than any specific issue with la Maison des Pins. Also, for the standard of accommodation and other offerings, we found the prices rather steep - but the whole Lake Annecy area is more expensive than other nearby spots.

Mado and Philippe were perfectly friendly and welcoming (Philippe speaks good English, Mado has a more limited command - but this wasn't the issue as I speak good French) but somehow they seemed rather formal and distant, rather than warm and sponteneous. As we were with friends, we were mostly ignored while they attended to another couple (who happened to be native French speakers).

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SussexWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I must admit, the owners of this wonderful home are living my dream! We stayed 3 nights with our almost 2 year old son at this lovely B&B. Our room was spacious and so charming! The crib for my son was gorgeous, including the bedding. The balcony offered us spectacular views of Lake Annecy. A peaceful place to unwind and a great location to explore all that the area has to offer. Breakfast offerings were plenty and each day was something different and even more delicious. Our hostess, Madoline, was so very kind and especially sweet to our son. We highly recommend a stay here to truly experience a taste of what it might be like to live in paradise.

Room Tip: If you stay a minimum of 3 nights, you are eligible for the large balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed for one night in May 2011 with our 10 yo son. Our hostess Mado was very welcoming and gracious, sitting down to a pot of tea with us after our arrival in the pouring rain, and giving us the chance to practice our French.

In fact, the rain was the only bad point in our whole stay. The room was lovely, beautifully decorated with lots of nice little touches which showed great flair and taste. Our bed was very comfortable, as was the single bed for our son which was easily accommodated in our room (La Tournette). The view would have been superb from our balcony had the weather allowed! The bathroom was spacious with two separate washbasins and a shower, and the same attention to detail as we saw throughout the house. The whole place was very tranquil.

In the evening, we ate at the justifiably popular Restaurant Les Tilleuls in St Jorioz, an easy trip down the hill from the guest house.

Breakfast was taken at a large table in the guest house where we chatted with the other guests while enjoying the fresh bread and home made jams (including tomato jam, which was surprisingly good). We also tried Mado's homemade Savoie cake which went well with hot chocolate.

Hard to think of any way to make La Maison des Pins better. A definite 5/5.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed here three nights during summer and didn't want to leave. Our room was beautiful and large with views over Lake Annecy and the mountains behind. The smell of baking would greet us after a day out. At breakfast these homemade cakes would be served with breads, brioche, yoghurts, juice, delicious! The location does require a car because it is not in the centre of St Jorioz but we loved it because it was in between the lake and the mountains so we enjoyed a few days by the lake swimming and cycling (there are plenty of cycle hire places close by) as well as walking in the hills (views of Mt Blanc, lots of cows!, very picturesque). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Philippe and Mardot have renovated this turn of the century house with impeccible attention to detail and style. The location is stunning. We toured around Lake Annnecy and honestly failed to find any building better located. Our room had a beautiful balcony with fantastic views over the lake.
The hosts are fantastic, giving superb advice on where to eat and go.
In summary we can;t recommed La Maison des Pins highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonandnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

In Sept 09 we had the pleasure of staying in the B & B La Maison des Pins ,an experience I could truly recommend .The owners, Philippe & Mado have beautifully restored this home to the highest standards and their attention to detail is amazing.The entire home is immaculately presented with artistic touches provided by the talented Mado .The guest bedrooms have views to Lake Annecy & the surrounding mountains and the location is extremely quiet. The bathrooms are stylishly presented and spotlessly clean.Philippe & Mado were charming, attentive hosts and extremely organised being able to provide helpful information as required.Breakfasts , served in the elegant breakfast room by Mado, consisted of homemade fruit compotes, jams, bread,bacon & eggs & even Mariage Frere teas ! La Maison des Pins was one of the highlights of our accommodation experiences on our recent European holiday & I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueandDavidSydnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jorioz
0.5 mi away
Auberge le Semnoz
Auberge le Semnoz
#2 of 4 in Saint-Jorioz
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Pre du Lac
Le Pre du Lac
#3 of 4 in Saint-Jorioz
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.2 mi away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#2 of 12 in Talloires
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Clos Marcel
Hotel Clos Marcel
#1 of 1 in Duingt
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
5.0 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#4 of 40 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison des Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison des Pins

Property: La Maison des Pins
Address: 1132 route de la cote, 74410 Saint-Jorioz, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Jorioz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jorioz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing