We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, spacious cottage in stunning grounds...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mouliherne, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fernyword
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious cottage in stunning grounds, set up very well for a shared holiday.”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here in August with our 2 children (10 and 7) and some friends - another family with slightly younger children. We had such a fun holiday.

We drove and did the journey in one go from just north of London, using the Eurotunnel. The ‘aire de…..’ roadside service stops are amazing in France and we just stopped a couple of times for a run about/some food.

The house was beautiful and had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds were super comfy...such a peaceful area too, we slept so well. The set up of the house made it perfect for a shared holiday as it is almost like 2-in-1.

The grounds were a real pleasant surprise for us - not just the terraced area under the vines - next to the BBQ - but the lovely planting by the house, and the orchard. The children played together endlessly in the garden around all the apple trees and under the huge willow tree in the shade. Inside it was lovely and cool and there was plenty of space to get cosy and relax or play games all together.

In the village (we nipped in on bikes in the mornings) the corner shop sold freshly baked bread/pain au choc/croissants as well as cold local wine, and other supplies. It's not far to the supermarket to get a big shop in, but it's nice to have the shop there for breakfast and last minute supplies.

We enjoyed a few trips out. We visited the amazing water park in Bauge -15 mins away - a couple of times (water volleyball in the bigger pool, big slides, waterfalls and jets, and a little splash pool for the little ones, a crepe stand, tonnes of sun loungers, immaculate changing facilities). We also enjoyed a day out in beautiful Chinon. The Chateau gave stunning views, it was really interesting and had lots of hands on fun for the kids - the day we went there was a demonstration of the trebuchet which went down very well! Twice we drove to a leisure lake not too far away from the house where there was plenty of space to lie in the sun or under a tree, and lots of people were swimming and using their inflatables on the lake. My children loved it here - definitely take your dinghy if you have one! - and I enjoyed my book :o) There was a tuck shop/café there too but it was a perfect pain/vin/boursin territory. Within walking distance from the house is a smaller lake too for a nice walk/cycle/game of petanque if you just fancy a nice stroll.

We had a lovely time here and hope to go back one day.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daave
Worcester, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely stay here in August 2016.The accommodation is excellent- spacious and well appointed and quite different from the usual dark gites we have stayed in previously. The garden is large with an attractive patio area which is ideal for eating your meals outdoors.
The area itself is rural and peaceful ,but has a good village very nearby and larger towns with good supermarkets and shopping a short drive away. The beautiful town of Saumur and the Loire river and its riverside walks and cycle paths are only a 25 minute car journey away .
Overall, an excellent place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General Ambience of the property
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing week in a beautiful part of France”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a lovely week with with our friends in this delightful cottage. The facilities were great, and there was enough space, and more, for us all. We used the Maison d'Amis part of the cottage which has a delightful master bedroom and well equipped bathroom. Our friends were in the main house - it's all one cottage really. Especially well suited to adult couples like us with a choice of bedrooms with bathrooms.
The nearby village of Mouliherne has a lively feel with a small shop, butchers and the boulangerie where, after my first day, I was warmly greeted each morning when I arrived to buy croissants, bread and, sometimes, delicious patisserie. We ate lunch at the Bar/Tabac one day, three courses plus cheese with wine for €13.00.
In spite of the temptation to sit in the garden and enjoy the Autumn sunshine, we managed to do some local walks and cycle rides. A Saturday morning trip to the market in Saumur was a delight and provided delicious food for our supper that night.
We travelled by car ferry from the UK - Newhaven to Dieppe, then a 4-5 hour drive through Normandy to the Loire Valley. Our return drive was particularly pleasant, the sun shone and we enjoyed a picnic lunch on route.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet enjoying rural France - and the food and wine!
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmchurchi...
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic week at Le Vieux Pressoir”
Reviewed October 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We want to write the kind of review that we like to read: honest, informative and helpful in conjuring up a picture of the place you might go. That makes this review long but we hope it's helpful!

We spent a fantastic week at Le Vieux Pressoir in August with our 2 year old son and another family of four with two children under three. We flew with BA from London City Airport into Angers which was very quick and easy, and then hired a car with EuropCar at the tiny Angers airport and drove for 25 beautiful minutes to the house. Flying obviously restricted our luggage but as the house is so well appointed and child-friendly it made for a real home-from-home easy holiday. The owners were very helpful when answering our queries about the house and the local area which made packing easier too!

The house is wonderful (inside and out) and the outdoor space seems to go on and on, with lots of different areas within the garden. Most daily provisions could be bought at the local shop and bakery in Mouliherne but within a 20 minute drive from the house in a few different directions are large Super-U supermarkets (like Tesco) - complete with an English food aisle (helpful for a toddler win when Heinz beans are in demand!). We enjoyed a fabulous lunch at the local tabac in the heart of the village. No frills but a tasty, great value 4-course meal with wine included and an authentic French ambience!

Driving was a pleasure. The roads were scenic, quiet and well kept. The area is a mix of woodland, open agricultural land and apple orchards, with villages and towns made of creamy limestone. We had a really great day out in Chinon which is a fortress town 45 minutes from the house. On the way there we lost the apple orchards and rows and rows of vines took their place! We crossed the bridge at Chinon and parked along the river embankment. The river had a beach which was deserted so we all cooled down with a paddle before setting off to explore the medieval town. The pedestrianised centre of the town (the old town) is made up of atmospheric criss-crossing cobbled streets. Again, this was something that we welcomed - our son could get out of the buggy and roam safely. We tucked into traditional French baguettes from a boulangarie while enjoying a break from the sun in the shadow of the fortress above us. Then we cheated and took the free elevator up to the entrance road into the fortress and enjoyed the spectacular views. Definitely a great day out!

Other favourite excursions from the house were to an outdoor swimming pool complex in Bauge (15 minute drive from the house) - 3 different pools of various depths (including one very shallow and completely geared up for toddlers with a crate of toys to play with too) and waterslides which even our toddler could enjoy when sitting on a lap! No joke though - men MUST wear speedos (or equivalent tight fitting trunks/shorts) at all French public pools! We weren't prepared for this so made a trip to the Super-U for a €10 pair! The local park in Mouliherne was a relaxing favourite too. Next to the large fishing lake are lovely wooden climbing apparatus (including a train with carriages which was a hit!), slides and a sand pit. It's an easy stroll from the house.

There were seven of us staying in the house and it didn't feel cramped inside at all. When spending time together indoors it was easy to co-exist alongside each other as the downstairs space is so roomy. The bedrooms are all very comfortable (we slept in the master bedroom and kingsize mattress is so comfy!). Hot air rises so therefore the downstairs bedroom was the coolest, but it was August so it was always going to be hot. There were plenty of fans to share around and we still all slept well. Once all was quiet at the end of the day, the patio under the vines was a 'must' most evenings! BBQ, books, bottle(s) and games as the sun went down. Bliss!

We had a happy, relaxing, safe and comfortable holiday and we certainly hope to return :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing