We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Catimor Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jember
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catimor Homestay
Ranked #12 of 15 Jember B&B and Inns
melaka, malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here one night with 2 friends during April 2012. We reached Catimor homestay very late in the evening after our mt. Bromo trip together with other travellers. The front desk lady was nice, and we took a tripple sharing room with cheap price. Within expectation, the room is simple with a not-so-clean toilet. Dinner was served by set, so we ordered 2 pax dinner and shared among 3 person. We wake up at 12.30am to start our journey to Kawah Ijen (Usually tourists will go at 3.30am or 4am, we went there early because we wanted to see blue fire!).

In short, Catimor homestay is okay to be stayed for one night (less than 8 hours sleep if your destination is Kawah Ijen).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ume206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    38
    34
    80
See reviews for
8
91
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a one night stopover for our next day trip to Mount Ijen.

The only issue I had was the bedroom and toilet.

The bedroom was small, cramped and came with strips of wallpaper which was falling off. It was not an inviting sight and so we tried to stay outside at the common lounge, near the pool, etc till bedtime. Anyway, there is nothing much to do in the room except sleeping (no tv, toiletries, wardrobe, etc). We couldn't find any socket to charge our camera, phone, etc in the room.

The toilet was a nightmare when I tried to take a shower! The shower head was not working, i.e. water leaking and so I could never get any water to go to the shower head. To make things worst, the hot water heater didn't seem to work and the hot water ran out so quickly. I actually bathe in cold water and mind you that the climate was cold. The shower left me frustrated and really cold.

Other than that, the dinner, breakfast and free flow of hot drinking water and tea were ok. There was a jacuzzi and a pool which I saw some people using. The pools looked ok. We walked around the place/plantation but there were really nothing much to explore.

Was really glad that it was just a one night stay and I was really happy to pack to go the next morning. If given a choice, I don't think I would choose to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oliviamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jember hotels

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

arrived this homestay after long journey from Bromo area. It is limited choice at Sempol area, where most tourist stop for second day Kawah Ijen(Ijen crator)trip. Given superior room. The room atmosphere is poor, the light like lack of electricity supply. told that hotshower inside the room, and realise that it is actually not in function. anyway the counter staffs is friendly.breakfast morning , 2 bread with coffee/ tea, is very plain.
conclusion, the only reason to saty here is LOCATION.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived at the Homestay pretty late at night around 9ish to 10 pm and we didn't have time to look around the place. It was simply a short pitstop to rest for the night before we hit out early at 5 am the next day for Ijen Crater.

The food for dinner was great. We were famished. Too bad we couldn't finish up the fried chickens. Should have packed it up for breakfast the next day. We were too tired to do anything as we had a long day - went to Mt. Bromo, horse riding and Madakaripura waterfall..so after dinner everyone retired to bed.

The bathroom was in a pretty bad shape. There is a water heater but it was not functioning. You need to fill in water in a bucket to bathe. I would say it wasn't as clean as I would have wished it should be.

Breakfast was okay. A choice of tea or coffee with sugar on the side. Don't expect to have creamer or milk. One hard boil egg and a sandwich with butter and chocolate rice - which was edible to say the least.

All in all, I think they could have done better when it come down to cleanliness and would really appreciate if the bathrooms are in clean and working condition ( with water heaters). I had read through some previous reviews on this thread complimenting on the nice water heaters in the room yeas back. Unfortunately, that isn't the case anymore now.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestReview02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Catimor Homestay is located in the middle of beautiful coffee plantations, which are absolutely worth exploring. The rooms are of standard budget quality, as everywhere in Indonesia when travelling outside the main tourist track. The staff is friendly and helpful and speak some english.
A good dinner is served at 7pm and comes with nasi, mee, chicken, vegetables, egg and soup. The only other food option is to buy some heated popmie at the small shop nearby.

It's a short walk to the Blawan waterfall and the really hot water from the hotsprings.

I organised my trip to the Kawah Ijen crater via an ojek driver in Blawan village. He picked me up at 5 am for the 30 min drive to Pos Paltuding, the starting point of the hike to the crater. For 80.000 rp he waited for me until I returned from the crater and brought me back to Catimor.

About 3 minibuses make the bumpy ride from Bondowoso busstation straight to Blawan village at 10-11 am daily and will drop you of at the homestay. There're several more minibuses going to Sempol, from where you'll have to take an ojek for the last few kilometers to Blawan.
At 5 am the minibuses will depart from Blawan to Bondowoso.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gib T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a nice resort booked for our trip to Ijen. We listened to recommendation of a tour operator Nomad tours based in Jogja selling package of Nirwana Tour and Transport based in Probolinggo. We ended up having a 3 day nightmare trip around east java including one night stay in Catimor. They never hear the word hospitality there. They take advantage that you are in middle of nowhere without an option to escape. Food/drinks are overpriced, rooms look like a jail, beds are uncomfortable, not sure if they ever change sheets. They asked us to pay for the Ijen national park there, saying it is not possible to pay by the entrance to the park. They charged us double and it is possible to pay by the entrance. And it seems we were actually lucky. In Bali we met a guide who told us that there were even cases when people got robbed (computers, money etc.) from locked rooms...apparently cooperation of guides and the property management. Dont ever go there. It will just spoil your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuzana0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We arrived here pretty late, coming in from Bali. Food at the little cafe was good and the free coffee and tea they served was WONDERFUL! The coffee was from their own plantation and I purchased several bags.

As we arrived and departed both when it was night time we did not get the full effect of the hotel. The room we could see plenty well, though, and it was pretty awful. The bed was not terribly uncomfortable but not quality either. They give you towels which is nice, and the sheets and towels were all clean. The carpet was very old and made the room stink like mildew. The bathroom was tiny and pretty gross. I'm not extremely picky when it comes to bathrooms, but I refused to shower in there, choosing to wet my towel and sponge bathe instead. It could have used a nice scrubbing with some major bleach.

The staff were extremely friendly and always smiling, as most Indonesian people are. Too bad the rooms weren't nicer. Unfortunately, there aren't many other options if you want to see Mt. Ijen and seeing the crater lake was TOTALLY worth all of it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audjie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jember
35.5 mi away
JC Homestay Jember
JC Homestay Jember
#5 of 11 in Jember
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
35.7 mi away
Aston Jember Hotel & Conference Center
35.5 mi away
GM253 Hotel
GM253 Hotel
#2 of 11 in Jember
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
Bintang Mulia Hotel
Bintang Mulia Hotel
#3 of 11 in Jember
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
35.6 mi away
Panorama Hotel & Resort
Panorama Hotel & Resort
#9 of 11 in Jember
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ijen Bondowoso Homestay
Ijen Bondowoso Homestay
#1 of 7 in Bondowoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catimor Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catimor Homestay

Property: Catimor Homestay
Address: Jl. Gajahmada 249, Jember, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Jember
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Jember
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Catimor Homestay Hotel Jember

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing