We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only things is LOCATION”
Review of Catimor Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jember
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catimor Homestay
Ranked #12 of 15 Jember B&B and Inns
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“the only things is LOCATION”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

arrived this homestay after long journey from Bromo area. It is limited choice at Sempol area, where most tourist stop for second day Kawah Ijen(Ijen crator)trip. Given superior room. The room atmosphere is poor, the light like lack of electricity supply. told that hotshower inside the room, and realise that it is actually not in function. anyway the counter staffs is friendly.breakfast morning , 2 bread with coffee/ tea, is very plain.
conclusion, the only reason to saty here is LOCATION.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    38
    34
    80
See reviews for
8
91
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived at the Homestay pretty late at night around 9ish to 10 pm and we didn't have time to look around the place. It was simply a short pitstop to rest for the night before we hit out early at 5 am the next day for Ijen Crater.

The food for dinner was great. We were famished. Too bad we couldn't finish up the fried chickens. Should have packed it up for breakfast the next day. We were too tired to do anything as we had a long day - went to Mt. Bromo, horse riding and Madakaripura waterfall..so after dinner everyone retired to bed.

The bathroom was in a pretty bad shape. There is a water heater but it was not functioning. You need to fill in water in a bucket to bathe. I would say it wasn't as clean as I would have wished it should be.

Breakfast was okay. A choice of tea or coffee with sugar on the side. Don't expect to have creamer or milk. One hard boil egg and a sandwich with butter and chocolate rice - which was edible to say the least.

All in all, I think they could have done better when it come down to cleanliness and would really appreciate if the bathrooms are in clean and working condition ( with water heaters). I had read through some previous reviews on this thread complimenting on the nice water heaters in the room yeas back. Unfortunately, that isn't the case anymore now.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestReview02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jember hotels

Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Catimor Homestay is located in the middle of beautiful coffee plantations, which are absolutely worth exploring. The rooms are of standard budget quality, as everywhere in Indonesia when travelling outside the main tourist track. The staff is friendly and helpful and speak some english.
A good dinner is served at 7pm and comes with nasi, mee, chicken, vegetables, egg and soup. The only other food option is to buy some heated popmie at the small shop nearby.

It's a short walk to the Blawan waterfall and the really hot water from the hotsprings.

I organised my trip to the Kawah Ijen crater via an ojek driver in Blawan village. He picked me up at 5 am for the 30 min drive to Pos Paltuding, the starting point of the hike to the crater. For 80.000 rp he waited for me until I returned from the crater and brought me back to Catimor.

About 3 minibuses make the bumpy ride from Bondowoso busstation straight to Blawan village at 10-11 am daily and will drop you of at the homestay. There're several more minibuses going to Sempol, from where you'll have to take an ojek for the last few kilometers to Blawan.
At 5 am the minibuses will depart from Blawan to Bondowoso.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gib T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a nice resort booked for our trip to Ijen. We listened to recommendation of a tour operator Nomad tours based in Jogja selling package of Nirwana Tour and Transport based in Probolinggo. We ended up having a 3 day nightmare trip around east java including one night stay in Catimor. They never hear the word hospitality there. They take advantage that you are in middle of nowhere without an option to escape. Food/drinks are overpriced, rooms look like a jail, beds are uncomfortable, not sure if they ever change sheets. They asked us to pay for the Ijen national park there, saying it is not possible to pay by the entrance to the park. They charged us double and it is possible to pay by the entrance. And it seems we were actually lucky. In Bali we met a guide who told us that there were even cases when people got robbed (computers, money etc.) from locked rooms...apparently cooperation of guides and the property management. Dont ever go there. It will just spoil your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuzana0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We arrived here pretty late, coming in from Bali. Food at the little cafe was good and the free coffee and tea they served was WONDERFUL! The coffee was from their own plantation and I purchased several bags.

As we arrived and departed both when it was night time we did not get the full effect of the hotel. The room we could see plenty well, though, and it was pretty awful. The bed was not terribly uncomfortable but not quality either. They give you towels which is nice, and the sheets and towels were all clean. The carpet was very old and made the room stink like mildew. The bathroom was tiny and pretty gross. I'm not extremely picky when it comes to bathrooms, but I refused to shower in there, choosing to wet my towel and sponge bathe instead. It could have used a nice scrubbing with some major bleach.

The staff were extremely friendly and always smiling, as most Indonesian people are. Too bad the rooms weren't nicer. Unfortunately, there aren't many other options if you want to see Mt. Ijen and seeing the crater lake was TOTALLY worth all of it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audjie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

The homestay is one of a limited number of accommodation options for visitors to Kawah Ijen and provides reasonable accommodation at acceptable prices. However there are a few problems of which prospective visitors should be aware.

Firstly there is a real lack of organisation on the catering front! The actual choice of food was seriously limited and exceedingly unimaginative. Be aware there are no alternatives to eating at the homestay except to take your own food with you. The favourite phrase during our stay was 'Sorry - finish' which was shorthand for 'We have run out!' Whilst annoying when it relates to food it is a bigger problem when facing the climb to Kawah Ijen to discover they have run out of bottled drinking water. Only one shop in the village had any bottled water - the locals drink tap/well water - not advisable for visitors. Dinner time was chaotic with meals placed on tables to go cold without guests being aware which table was theirs or indeed that it was actually dinner time!

The two superior rooms are located in the old (1894) main building and are very spacious and well-appointed. However the walls are woven bamboo which has no soundproofing properties at all. Since they adjoin a common room with television set noise can be a serious problem.

Finally beware of the hot tub since many of the drivers and guides use it as a bath and the water is not always changed daily.

However the location is magical and the option to visit the coffee plantation and factory should be taken. Too many visitors arrive in the evening and leave the next morning to climb Kawah Ijen and move on. Take time out to explore the waterfall, hot springs and the fabulous surroundings.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Catering
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightweight_brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Just came back from East Java for a 5D/4N trip. We are a group of three independent travellers from Malaysia. When I enquired about accommodation around Kawah Ijen, a local recommended Catimor Homestay at Blawan, Sempol, Bondowoso. It is located approximately 266km from Surabaya (7 hours drive), 13km from Paltuding (Pos PHPA) Ijen i.e. the place where you commence your 3km trek to Kawah Ijen. The road condition from Surabaya to Kawah Ijen was fine except for the stretch from Sukosari towards Sempol . The right tyre of our Toyota Unser minivan was punctured after the extremely bumpy ride for 90mins. The homestay is actually located within a coffee plantation and processing plant 1500 m above sea level. Since the season for harvesting coffee is in July, the processing plants were deserted. We missed the fun of picking arabica coffee and milling coffee seeds. They have a few plots of land with strawberry and cabbages. Beautiful landscaping, lots of greens as well as fountains with Japanese Koi. The accommodation range from Rp 110,000 for a double bed room, Rp 150,000 for triplet (three single beds or one single and one double bed) all equipped with hot shower. The rates are inclusive of breakfast. The best part about the homestay was their friendly and accommodating staffs. Always friendly, smily and ready to serve. They are willing to prepare breakfast for us at 5am in the morning to enable us to have a early drive back to Surabaya to catch our flight !! Not forgetting a hot tub and swimming pool right in front of our room. The staff will fill up the tub with natural spring water daily, it was a real treat for us after the trek to Ijen. We also went to Blawan Waterfall which is about 1.2km away. I will strongly recommend anyone going to Ijen to stay at Catimor Homestay.

Helpful?
2 Thank lixT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jember
19.9 mi away
Ketapang Indah Hotel
Ketapang Indah Hotel
#1 of 15 in Banyuwangi
720 reviews
35.7 mi away
Aston Jember Hotel & Conference Center
35.5 mi away
JC Homestay Jember
JC Homestay Jember
#5 of 12 in Jember
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Ijen Bondowoso Homestay
Ijen Bondowoso Homestay
#1 of 7 in Bondowoso
36 reviews
19.9 mi away
Ijen Resto & Guest House
Ijen Resto & Guest House
#18 of 45 in Banyuwangi
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catimor Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catimor Homestay

Property: Catimor Homestay
Address: Jl. Gajahmada 249, Jember, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Jember
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Jember
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Catimor Homestay Hotel Jember

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing