We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Pietrantica
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mazzocca(Caramanico Terme)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Viola(Caramanico Terme)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
La Reserve Hotel Terme Centro Benessere(Caramanico Terme)
$217
$210
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terme Maiella(Caramanico Terme)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Cercone(Caramanico Terme)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ede(Caramanico Terme)
Hotel Di Piero(Caramanico Terme)
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
85
12
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
12
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarisahostmountainsmealsregion
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 102 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Pietrantica last September and enjoyed the whole experience so much, we decided to return in June for 8 nights.

Arriving at Decontra late afternoon, we were met by Marisa and treated to one of her a warm and friendly welcomes, you could easily think that you were part of the family. Marisa has a real talent as a host and is able to make you feel relaxed and very much at home during your stay. Marisa is able to speak several languages, including Italian, English, French and a little Dutch.

We came here to walk and experience the National Park and were pleased to get out walking in the mountains on 6 of the 7 days; covering Monte Amaro via Tre Portoni, the Orfento Gorge, the Fara San Martino Gorge & Val Serviera, Monte Porrara, Monte Marrone and Corno Grande (in the Gran Sasso Park). The walking here is tremendous with real variety and we were only really limited by our own fitness. If we could have walked more, then we would have.

In the evenings you can dine with the other guests and be treated to some of Marisa’s home cooked food - made with fresh produce straight from their organic garden. This is simple great tasting food that walks were made for.

Marisa & Camillo work extremely hard to make your stay one to remember. Stopping at Pietrantica is more of a complete experience compared to staying at an anonymous hotel; it is a place where you can feel at home, really unwind in peaceful surroundings and get closer to the Majella. It is somewhere special.

Our time passed all too quickly, but we leave with lots of great memories and very much hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in Decontra with our 3 children who loved the freedom of the countryside. Marisa took care of everything and we felt like part of the family. Everyone eats together around a big table and enjoys the daily menu. The price might seem high for the dinner and simple rooms, but you can go hiking or climbing with the owner in one of the local cliffs - which was included.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place for families

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the old houses
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you are looking for an air-conditioned room with satellite TV and a swimming pool, then book at one of the many hotels in Caramanico. However, if you are looking to really connect with the Majella, its people and experience truly spectacular, authentic Italian hospitality, then look no further than Pietrantica.

We discovered Pietrantica by accident on Google after considering a number of other arranged walking holidays in the area. Pietrantica is an “agriturismo“, run by a local Italian family that provides accommodation in the Majella National Park. We had not experienced an agriturismo before and were worried about stopping with an Italian family as our ability to speak Italian is limited to a few key words. After a few email exchanges in English, we took the plunge and booked directly for 10 nights.

Pietrantica is located in Decontra (a small village just outside of Caraminico Terme) in the heart of the Majella National Park. Our room had been recently restored and was nicely furnished, had well equipped cooking facilities and a very nice bathroom - the photos on the website do not do the rooms any justice as they are modern and clean.

The Majella is a walker’s paradise with a wide variety of different walking options available – from mountain tops, gorge walks or exploring the numerous hermitages. Some of the walks start from your door in Decontra, enabling you to leave the car and go straight onto the paths. Walking in the national park is simply stunning; Sunday excepted, there are very few other walkers on the mountains allowing you to experience the vast wilderness to yourselves.

Marisa and Camillo are from the region and have an extensive knowledge of the Majella and share a huge passion and a healthy respect for its wilderness. They are official mountain and ski guides and are happy to advise you on walks (and the ones to avoid). If you want an English speaking guide, Marisa can arrange this for you, but we found that this was not necessary. Walking here was relatively straight forward. Armed with the 1:25,0000 map and a compass, we created our own walks across the Majella using the official walking routes. The majority of the paths are well marked and easy to follow using the “red and white” markings (which had been recently refreshed).

Marisa and Camillo really made us feel at home and very much part of their extended family during the time we were there. Most evenings we were fortunate to dine at Pietrantica with the family and the other guests. This was a great opportunity to unwind and sample Marisa’s home cooked food, made with fresh produce straight from their garden. This was really really really great tasting food, cooked simply and with love. Respect.

We came to Majella for the walking and we were not disappointed; we managed to walk 9 out of the 10 days and still left many paths to discover for another time. What we did not expect was the experience of stopping with an Italian family and sharing the passion for the Majella. We feel privileged to have met Marisa, Camillo and their family and have left with an ache in our hearts to return very very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

On the first minute we arrived, we could feel that we found the best place. Marisa gave us coffee and home cake, and gave us advise where to go walking.
Than she showed us our room, and it was beautiful . Much more beautiful from what you see on the net.
At the evening she put all her guests together , and we enjoyed the company of other people from around the world, that love to hike. Dinner was very tasty.
Last good thing, she warmed the room at the evening, and it was very cozy , with the wooden flour.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaffa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews