We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views, Culinary, Personable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antica Tenuta Le Casacce
Certificate of Excellence
Dothan, al
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Views, Culinary, Personable”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely spot to stay. Amazing views from our spacious duplex apartment (one of two on the property). The best culinary treats of our entire Italy/Sicily trip. Our host, Enrico was most gracious and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was amazing. Even arranging a private wine tour for us. We arrived very late in the evening. Enrico manages to quickly put us together a midnight snack of wine, bread, cheese n sausages. Can't say enough nice things about our stay here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarfryma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    47
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
91
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Actually it was an apartment, not a room as we thought. We stayed there 4 nights, and honestly we would return any time to relax. As I said, we stayed into an fully equipped apartment, with a huge terrace, and with a great view over the valley. The sunset was amazing every evening.
They clean your room every day, but if you want your towels to be changed earlier than 3 days you pay a small fee.
You have parking space, the WIFI is available only near the restaurant, it isn't available in the rooms.
The breakfast is a buffet with a lot of sweets, as any other breakfast offered in Italy, as far as we noticed. Also you can have option for yogurt, meat, vegetables or cereals.
We wanted to try the pool but it was a little bit cold when we traveled, so it wasn't an option but in summer time I think is great there.
The food, what can I say?Is exceptional, is a 5 stars experience, the chef explains you what you serve and how it was made, also all the ingredients are from his farm. Actually you just say if you are going to dine there, the menu for that night is established by the chef, so if you have some meal preferences or special regime you should say that, not to have surprises, especially if you are vegetarian or something else.
The dinner costs 25 euros per person, not including beverages.
You will receive an email from Enrico, the owner, after you receive your booking confirmation, informing you with all the details about your stay. If you want to rent a bike, you can announce with 2 days previous your arrival, but keep in mind that the hills from there can be a challenge.
The closest village is Seggiano and is at 4 km away, there you can find an ATM and a mini market, you can get there by car in 5 minutes or by foot in 30-40 minutes.
We loved our stay there and we will return for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ibormeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visiting Antica Tenuta Le Cassace just once is not enough. You miss it as soon as you leave and wish you could have stayed just another day. It is just like the name sounds: idyllic, quaint and delicious. Being here is like coming to a your own hideaway in the hills of Tuscany, with the convenience of truly great food being prepared for you daily. Each unit is a little country-style apartment that comes with a cozy outdoor area and a kitchenette, so you can be as self-sufficient meal-wise as you like to be. However it would be a shame to not eat dinner at the restaurant: the menu is a surprise every day, consisting of three courses (cost EUR25) with optional wine or beer selections. We stayed three nights and ate at the restaurant every night - lovely, delicious food every time. Breakfast is nice and fresh as well, buffet-style, and is included in room rate. The property itself is beautiful, with lots of room to run around (great for kids too), a donkey to pet and a few sheep grazing about. Lovely bonus is the pool - super great to lounge at in the afternoon with views of Val d'Orcia before you. Enrico Cassini, the owner and chef has created a special place here. Hats off to the chef!

P.S You'll need a car to make the most of the area and to visit the beautiful hillside towns on Val D'Orcia. Also ask Enrico where his other property is located and go on a short walk to check it out - the views along the way are beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Everything about this property is so beautiful, we wish we could have stayed much longer.
The villa was huge - the bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room must have been 50sqm.
The views are beyond amazing from this hill-top location - all of the guests were sitting by the pool late in the afternoon looking down & out over the Tuscan countryside with the sun setting in the distance - absolutely magic & romantic.
The dinner [at extra cost naturally] changes each night, with the host & chef Enrico (who once won an award for one of Italy's top 7 chefs!) preparing a set 4 course meal, which was outstanding, all made with very fresh very local produce.
Breakfast in the morning was a wide array of choices, again all very fresh.

The only negative I can think of was that the mattresses weren't the best - they could just do with a half-inch mattress topper on them, then they would be fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le marche, italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Authentic open and rolling countryside charmed us on our stay. As did the comfortable apartment and hospitable Enrico. He and his staff were the most charming hosts. Let him cook for you one of the evenings of your stay and you won't be disappointed. Wonderful base to see the Val d'Orcia and Monte Amiata. And so close to Siena too!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank calecerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have you ever dreamed of staying in a comfortable stone apartment in Tuscany, wine on the terrace, walk through the olive groves, visit Montepulciano and Montelcino by day and return at night to an amazing dinner cooked from local produce by host Enrico then this is your dream come true. A true highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We staid at the Antica Tenuta Le Casacce in September 2012. The host, Signore Enrico, was wonderful and accommodated a booking mistake without problem. Let's see, a few highlights:
- Location: high on the hills of Tuscanny, with a beautiful view. From there you can go and visit the beautiful towns of Tuscanny or just take pictures of this amazing landscape. Yes, it's as beautiful as the pictures you see on the internet.
- The place: Rustic, as it should be, comfortable
- The rooms: Nice, rustic, feel-good
- The food? Ah, the food...superb. Signore Enrico is a real chef and besides being a wonderful host, he's a great cook as well. Every night you can choose to eat at the Le Casacce and Signore Enrico cooks beautiful meals using only the best, freshest local ingredients. Drink some local wine and dip your home-made bread into the best local olive oil and Modena aged vinegar and...what more do you want? Food is plentiful and Signore Enrico comes out of the kitchen and introduces his culinary creations, to add an extra touch of value to the meal. Yum,Yum!
- The pool would have been nice had the weather been a little warmer. But, nice pool.

Any Negatives?
Not many. As mentioned earlier, you need a car to get there. The place is a little isolated, which could also be seen as a positive (peace and quiet).

Additional comments:
- You need a car to get there
- You need a car to visit the quaint Tuscan towns
- You need a car to explore the beautiful landscape
- In short: you need a car! Just make sure to hire a small-ish car or you'll raise your blood pressure by driving in those narrow roads! Something like a Citroen C3 or C4 is ideal - no bigger! You have been warned.
- The town of Montepulciano is a must-visit
- In September the local farmers have already ploughed their fields, so you're missing out on the yellow-coloured fields. Best time, aesthetically-speaking: June/July
- In September, you need clothes a little warmer than summer clothes. It was not cold, but a little uncomfortable at times with full-on summer clothes. Something like a light jumper should do, in case.
- Don't forget to pat the head of the local donkey at Le Casacce.

Summary: Highly recommended. We will be back next time we come to Europe, for sure. Grazie, Enrico (looking forward to your cooking)/

PS: Yes, we found the Termini stazione in Rome! Ha ha!...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuculatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seggiano hotels
0.0 mi away
Tenuta La Silva
Tenuta La Silva
#3 of 3 in Seggiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Pozzuolo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terre d'Orcia
Hotel Terre d'Orcia
#2 of 3 in Seggiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Casina di Giannetto
La Casina di Giannetto
#9 of 9 in Seggiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castello di Potentino
Castello di Potentino
#2 of 4 in Seggiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Antico Borgo B&B e Taverna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Tenuta Le Casacce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Tenuta Le Casacce

Property: Antica Tenuta Le Casacce
Address: Localita Casacce SNC | Val d'Orcia, 58038 Seggiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Seggiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Seggiano
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Tenuta Le Casacce overlooking the Orcia Valley and is located between Monte Amiata and Montalcino (16 km), surrounded by a park of olive trees poignant beauty. Its origins date back to 1260. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Antica Tenuta Le Casacce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing