We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ross Priory, University of Strathclyde
Nearby Hotels
$81
$78
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$157
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
123
25
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
25
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseloch lomondlarge wine glassesvalentines dinnerwalled gardenwedding venueviews are breathtakingbed breakfastamazing locationfirst floorminute drivescallopsrelaxed atmospherenight staygames roomsecond to nonefood was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 154 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed here on the 29th April for my niece's wedding and must say the disabled room was fantastic, very spacious, very comfortable, very relaxing. A wonderful venue for a wedding, the grounds are spectacular and so easy to get around in a wheelchair, if only all hotels had this standard for disabled visitors.

Room Tip: 'Torrinch' room for great access
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastkyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We live only 10 minutes away from this wonderful location. On Saturday 23 April, my husband made a last minute booking for dinner, bed and breakfast. As always the staff were excellent and the food was outstanding. We were lucky enough to get one of the downstairs rooms - Torrinch - very spacious and comfortable with a spectacular view of the Loch and Ben Lomond. Hope it wont be too long till my next stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindabourhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

my daughter was married in ross priory, it was a small weddding , but we had a lovely time, the staff was excellent, lovely setting with great views, the food was of a very high standard, full marks to the chef and his staff, a wonderful day our room was very spacious and spotless . will return for a hoiiday . yours, father of the bride

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strathdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We got married at Luss Church and had our wedding reception at Ross Priory. We actually got to stay there a couple of nights prior to the wedding day itself so we booked the whole place out (including the cottage) so that family and friends could settle in. In the run up to the wedding Leslie and Eleanor were absolute godsends, catering for every request and being extremely patient.

The building is gothic in appearance, very cosy inside and looks out over Loch Lomond. Our guests loved it, its only a 30 minute drive away from Glasgow so we were able to accommodate family/ friends from far and wide. The slight downside being that there are only 11 rooms and the cottage at Ross Priory but we had no problem getting the rest of our guests accommodated at local B&B's. The food really caught us by surprise - it was absolutely superb, no sloppiness or cutting corners - you can tell that the Chef pays plenty of attention to flavour and quality. I still can't believe how, compared to other larger/ more affluent wedding venues in the area, we were charged so little for the whole event. The only slight downside was the outside cottage - at the time it hadn't been decorated to the same level as the Ross Priory rooms, this may have changed now though. It also stated accommodation for 6 but this should really be 4 as it actually means that 2 guests would have to use a sofa bed. This didn't mar our time there, its just one of those things that we'd have liked to have known at the start.

Our special day was made so perfect by Ross Priory staff, Im so grateful to them and will be thoroughly recommending this venue to anyone else who asks. Hopefully we will be back in the future to remember our lovely wedding day.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineCoulthard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Although we live just 30 minutes by car from the Priory, we took advantage of the festive deal - double room, 4 course dinner and breakfast = great value. Our room was warm and cosy, despite the outdoors temperature being -8 degrees C at midday, and the views from the windows were stunning. The grounds are always beautiful but the deep snow and brilliant sunshine made them particularly pretty. In the evening, after our mulled wine, sipped while sitting in front of a roaring fire in the bar, we went through to the dining room, which was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season, for a superb 4 course dinner. We then returned to the bar for our coffee and chocolate fudge. The staff were very attentive and friendly, adding to our enjoyment of our stay. We went to bed wishing we could be snowed in so we could stay a few more days. If you have the time and need a short break to get away from it all, to totally relax as we approach the festive season, we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lam1-glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews