We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chimes

Chimes
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We love this restaurant”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This has got to be our favourite restaurant, the food is always fantastic, and very tasty. The staff are also very attentive and friendly. The only thing that stops us visiting us is it is a little bit pricey, and as we are a large family, we can only visit for the occasional treat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunbartonshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Value Business Lunch”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Group of keep fit ladies, we have lunch here every2/3 months and really enjoy it. Average £7.00 for 3 course lunch with huge choice on the main courses. Good portion size and very nice friendly staff. Graham the owner and the staff have been there for years and busy popular restaurant even on Tuesdays at lunchtime. Very busy on the weekend evenings though the main menu is a bit more expensive. Very busy with takeaways and home deliveries. We used to regularly have home deliveries but towards the end were quite disappointed with the quality of the food delivered and the length of time taken to deliver so stopped. However can't fault the restaurant menu and will certainly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWOWILLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Food was good but I found it a bit expensive would return The down side is we felt like we were getting rushed as one of the waiters was hanging about our table and making us feel uncomfortable,it must have been obvious we weren't Finnished our meal as their was still lots of food left on table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best value Chinese lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The lunch menu costs less than £7 for three courses and the choice is wonderful, portions are of a good size, service is very good. Chimes is comfortable and you are never hurried.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“poor meal and rush service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

awful meal and felt it was a takeaway Chinese café, the staff very rushed concentrating on the q at reception for takeaways , not personal service and food just dumped on tables as staff racing around with the q of people for takeaways , food tasteless , very disappointing

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunchtime837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimes also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Chimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing