We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Sunny spot to relax
Kitchen with double oven, fridge freezer, washing machine, microwave etc.
Bathroom with shower/bath
View from the top of Duncryne Hill looking approx North West
View from top of Duncryne Hill looking towards the southern end of Loch Lomond
View of Duncryne Hill from the noth west edge of the village
5star retail outlet and coffee shop next door
Glengoyne Distillery 10-15 min drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Just perfect”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My fiance and I stopped here for a few days whilst visiting friends for cycling in the area. Having never been to Scotland before we were not sure what to expect. Mr and Mrs McGregor were fantastic and very welcoming with some beautiful local food left for us on our arrival. The house is very clean, very comfortable, in a central location and it's lovely and warm with lots of windows. Everything is provided in the cottage for cooking, cleaning and washing with many additional home comforts like an omelette maker, a washing machine, an iron and lots of Tupperware and crockery. The locals are incredibly welcoming and friendly and in fact we were sad to leave. We highly recommend staying here and advise that the three days we booked really wasn't enough; there's so much to see and do in so many locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2017
We would like to thank for your marvellous review. It gives us great satisfaction when our guests enjoy their time at our cottage and the surrounding area, and hopefully you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Fiona and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintipp
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely place”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ideal setting for Loch Lomond and area. Well appointed, private accommodation. Fiona was very friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again.
Kind Regards
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
1 review
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great stay. It was a lovely cottage which was well stocked and in very good condition. Exactly what we were looking for. Perfect for any couple or even with a small baby at any time of the year. We will definitely visit again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
1 review
“Tighbeag cottage”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely little cottage, nice clean and comfy and perfectly situated for exploring the surroundings, Fiona and Neil were really helpful in supplying us with info on places to eat and visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Thank y9u for your lovely comments, we try to give our guests as much information about the area as possible for them to enjoy their stay. We hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards
Fiona and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you very much for your extremely kind and comprehensive comments on our cottage. Our mission is to ensure that our guests are provided with as much information as possible to ensure they enjoy their stay at the cottage and this includes directions to the cottage and also advice on places to visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
indySheff...
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A stunning little cottage.”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The pictures really don't do the cottage justice. It's a charming little cottage well equipped with everything you need.
Ian and Fiona made us feel very welcome with the welcome gifts and even went to the trouble of providing us with fresh milk for a cuppa (very thoughtful)
They know the area very well and provided us with loads of info on the surrounding area and places of interest.
We will be visiting again in the near future.
Thanks again x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and think so highly of our cottage. We endeavour to provide our guests with as much local information as possible. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Fiona and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuderimDi...
Buderim
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and our hosts afford you a comfortable and quiet rural environment at the southern end of Loch Lomond. This is a spacious detached apartment with all the comforts you could seek. WiFi was good but mobile coverage was not available (possibly a positive when on holidays). The village location is peaceful and restful. Recommend this place to those who do not find stairs an issue (bedroom upstairs), wish to have off street parking and quiet nights with easy access to the Loch and all it offers. Thanks to Fiona & Neil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and convenience to a magnificent part of Scotland.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Unfortunately the mobile reception can be patchy.
Thank you for your comprehensive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing