We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“birthday getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Burnbeag Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul M
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“birthday getaway”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2016

absolutely stunning, everything needed for a great break hot tub is fab !! garden is enclosed and the dogs loved it to play and stay safe, cottage is fab nicely decorated all essintals in kitchen full sky tv and a lovely wood fire to relax at night, would love to comeback to this beautiful cottage just across the road from loch lomond BLISS !!

Date of stay: May 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulS1182...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful time was had by all”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We visited for a family wedding - 5 adults, 3 dogs, 7 days (the wedding was just one of them !!!). Cottage was exactly as advertised, the facilities were just what we needed, the weather was (mostly) fine. The younger members of the family enjoyed the hot tub; the dogs enjoyed the large enclosed garden. All in all, an excellent break, made special by fine accommodation.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very last minute mid-week few nights which was just what was needed. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the hot tub till after 8pm and then put a log fire on. All amenities provided. Kitchen was well catered for with glasses, cutlery, pots and pans. This cottage sits on it's own in the complex and nicely secluded.Will be back.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherdm...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Such a great cottage and lovely gardens. Perfect for a relaxing break, particularly with a dog! Hot tub was great! We'll be back!

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellabeebi
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Peaceful location”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage is so pretty and secluded which on arrival gives it a wow. The tv, hot tub are great. Once settled though the cottage is tired. Cobwebs in the bathroom, mould in places, sad kitchen and bathroom. The garden is beautiful, an oasis of green but then you sit back and look at the conservatory and it's just dirty and unloved looking. Also a small thing but I like to cook and not having a single knife that was sharp enough even to cut a tomato was frustrating. All in all lovely but 4 nights cost over a £1000 and the standard of accommodation would not have me racing back at those prices

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea E
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lovely location, staff were very friendly and helpful, but discreet! We rented the cottage for a 60th birthday, to celebrate over 3 days. It was fantastic, everyone had a great time. The age range was 74 - 23. The cottage was always comfortably warm, plus plenty of logs and kindling for the open fire.
The only downside was: no whisky glasses or soup bowls, not enough cutlery, or kitchen utensils.
I will definitely plan a return visit for a future celebration.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The ambience, and the comfort
Liked least: No whisky glasses, insufficient cutlery, crockery and kitchen utensils
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2015
Thank you for your kind review and feed back. Great to hear your family had a good time. We will check to ensure that the kitchen is not missing any items.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.David & Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jojane2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Loch Lomond”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked Burnbeag Cottage for my friends 40th Birthday. I emailed a couple of queries to Angela, who responded very quickly and was able to answer my questions efficiently. We arrived at the cottage and it was exactly what we were all hoping for. It was very spacious, clean and homely. The best thing by far, was the Hot tub!! Even in the rain, it was amazing.

This cottage is great value for money and I really hope we get to return. It's close to Balloch so you can stay in and order a take away or head out for dinner and drinks. The cottage has a huge tv in the conservatory, which we used to plug in the Wii and play Just dance!! It also has Sky tv and wifi so has everything you need for a fantastic weekend.

If you are using a Satnav to find this property, it takes you down the wrong road, so beware! If you're coming from Glasgow way, take the turn on the left just after The Cruin that is on your right. The turn off you're looking for is signposted Auchendennan Cottages. If you choose the wee road after this sign, you've gone too far. Just go to the Arden roundabout and turn back to take the correct road.

This property is great for everyone - families, girls weekend, stag etc. It's suitable for disabled people, young and old. It really does cater for everyone. :-)

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Wished we could have stayed longer!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing