We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We booked for an overnight break intending to relax in the pool and sauna before eating. On arrival, after we booked in we were told the pool was closed due on Water Board instructions but the gym was open. Disappointed we decided to go to the gym anyway but then found the ladies changing rooms were flooded and my wife had to change in the gents disabled toilet. There were also no showers available.
The Boat House restaurant was also a huge disappointment. A bland single course meal with a single bottle of wine cost almost £ 80.00. This was after the dessert which we didn't have but were charged for had been grudgingly removed from our bill. The small print on the menu adds 10% "service charge" onto the bill. When signing for the food you are then invited to add a further "gratuity" - a bit much really.

Worst of all when I contacted the hotel to complain the response from a deputy manager was defensive and inadequate, the only compensation offered was that we would receive better service on our next visit! Considering the Cameron House was named hotel of the year 2010 I thought that was wholly inadequate.

All round a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimoedinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cameron House . We really appreciate your feedback and can only apologise for the experience you encountered. A private message has been sent to you as a senior member of our team would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,621 - 5,627 of 6,164 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2011

So we booked Cameron House last year as got a good deal on it and had always wanted to go - really wish that now i hadn't bothered as a complete waste of money!! There is no doubting that this hotel has a beautiful setting and looks fantastic from the outside but really thats the only good thing i've got to say about it. Upon check in we were charged £100 to our debit card and told we wouldn't get it back for 5 days. They then had no record of the table i booked for lunch and told me i couldn't get the special deal, we could have a table but would have to pay full price!! after taking £100 from us there was no way i was doing that. We walked into Balloch and had a lovely lunch at the Balloch Inn, which i would highly recommend!! Came back to discover that the 'infamous' whisky bar was closed (why when the hotel was full i have no idea!) went to our room which was lovely, very plush but had to pay for films and tray charge. can i just point out that having stayed at other 5* hotels very recently all this was included in the room charge. Had a view of the loch which was great but also had a view of the dining room and vice versa meaning that the curtains were closed the full time!! Clearly very thin walls as could hear the room next doors tv and music on full blast into the small hours. next day got breakfast in bed, items were missing and tea and toast were cold. I have also never been made to feel so inferior as i did by the girl on reception when i dared ask when i should expect to get my £100 back. all in all a really disappointing stay, absoloutely would NOT recommend far friendlier places to stay within Balloch. Have also written a letter of complaint to the manager which i have never done in my life

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiebelle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Thank you very much for submitting your review on trip advisor. We really appreciate your feedback, and apologise profusely for the experience you encountered at Cameron House. A private message has been sent to you as a senior member of our team would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Lovely hotel. Great mix of old and new. Cameron house will always have a special place in our hearts. We hope to come back sometime soon. Make sure you visit the spa....the rooftop pool is the best! I have also heard that since we were last there Martin Wishart has a restaurant there....even more reason to escape to this paradise just outside Glasgow on the banks of Loch Lomond.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrisuk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of Cameron House on tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Cameron House, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please review the 'Special Offers' section of our website when you are thinking of returning as we have some great Spa packages available that may appeal to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We had a "one nighter" and it was everything we thought it would be.

We arrived about 2pm and were met by a lovely receptionist who made polite smalltalk as we were checked in. we were taken to our ground floor room by a porter and when we got in the room itself all I can say was out of this World.

I wont bore you with the room details - simply 1st class.

We went down to the leisure facilities (the ones in the hotel itself) and had the run of the place - Sauna - pool - Steam room - Flume - Jacuzzi - All Spotless.

we were B&B so decided on a meal at the Grill in the hotel itself and were really impressed with the quality - and despite the 5* surroundings the prices were comparable to what you pay in a good City centre Restaurant - No Moans at all !!!.

We went through to the lounge and had a good few drinks - again quality location City Centre prices - and the company of other guests was friendly - no stuffiness whatsoever !!!

Morning Breakfast was IMMENSE - I am a Vegetarian and had the best breakfast ever - A Veggie "Fry Up ". My wife had a superb "Traditional Fry" and we followed this up with fruit salad and juices.

Checkout was seamless - and we are looking forward to our next stay later this year - hopefully !!

Highly Recommended !!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davymac786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Thank you very much for submitting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at Cameron House, and look forward to welcoming you back next year. Please review the 'Special Offers' section of our website when you are thinking of returning as we have some great promotions available that may suit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My mother selected Cameron House for her 80th birthday lunch. The rooms were beautfully set up and the meal was very nice but the service was not what I would expect of a quality hotel.
When guests arrived there were plenty of staff hanging around the front door but inside there was no-one to direct guests to the room. There was no-one to take coats or direct us to the cloakroom if there was one.
In the library the (ridiculously expensive) champagne was eventually poured into flutes but these were left on a table for the guests to help themselves. There was no-one with a tray offering drinks as people arrived.
Service during the meal was good - with the exception of coffee cups being held by the rim whilst being placed on the table.
Having experienced the De Vere service at Slaley Hall I would say that Cameron House service falls short of expectations

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_M1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Guest Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are really disappointed that you are unhappy with the service received, and can only apologise for this. A private message has been sent to you with the contact details of our Meeting and Events Sales Manager, who will willingly discuss any issues you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Was a little worried about our visit to Cameron House after reading a few negative reviews how wrong could they have been. We arrived a little early and were shown to the bar, once in our room wow what can i say we had been upgraded to a suite with a four poster bed, flowers and an amazing views of th loch. We dined the first evening in martin Wisharts restaurant the food was fantastic and the service impeccable on the second evening we ate in the boathouse again food great service excellent. We had travelled to Cameron House for a birthday treat for my birthday and yes the drinks are a little pricey but well worth the money and will definately be back could not praise the service enough.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Cameron House, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please review the 'Special Offers' section of our website when you are thinking of returning as we have some great promotions available that may suit you, alternatively you can join our mailing list to have these sent directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Cameron House promises a lot but fails to deliver in so many departments. Despite being kitted out to a high standard, it lacks refinement, attention to detail and the personal touch you'd expect with a 5 star hotel. Children are absolutely everywhere, unusal for a hotel of this stature. So if you want screaming kids running around the place, this is the place to go. We stayed for one night, lunched in the bar and dined in Martin Wishart's, paying just under £420 for the privilege. The room was new, spacious and clean but small touches like only two sachets of coffee, one pack of biscuits, no turn- down service and bath robes that felt like you were wearing Bacofoil spoiled it. Part of the lure was the spa but quickly realised this entails an extra charge just to use its facilites, not treatments. I never did find out exactly how much as I was told three different prices. The leisure facilities on site are OK but the sauna and steam room are exceptionally busy at weekends so expect to be sharing their intimacy with up to 8 others as we had to. Lunch in the Grill Room was at best average - on par with Brewers Fayre - service terrible and prices expensive. Expect to pay about £11 for soup and a small sandwich. Drinks, needless to say, are astronomical. Meanwhile, Wishart's restaurant is exceptional and food exquisite. But you pay handsomely for it: just under £200 we paid and we're both teetotallers! Expect to fork out an obligatory 10% service charge on top of being charged for coffee while the cheese course is a very hefty £15 each; you get 5 slivers so three quid a pop! Next day, after waiting in a massive queue to check out, we then discovered we were wildly overcharged which, because of the experience we'd already had, I fully expected. Seems they don't do very well when it comes to adding up so then had to wait in line for them to rectify the mistake which I don't think they ever quite go to the bottom of. Breakfast was the one shining light; very nice full Scottish, service was excellent and the busy staff very friendly. Just a shame this came as we were leaving. Overall, a very disappointing experience. Throughout our stay our only contact with staff was the next day when they took our cash - and they even messed that up. I'm therefore sad to say I wouldn't recommend Cameron House on this showing. They had so many opportunities to get it right but failed on the majority of ocassions. Go to the Old Course, St Andrews. That says 5 star...and is.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunroamin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2011

We are a family friendly hotel and welcome all guests, however we are extremely disappointed to learn that you were dissatisfied with your experience at Cameron House. A private massage has been sent to you with the contact details of our Rooms Division Manager, who will willingly discuss any issues you encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
6.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $230 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the extensive fire within the main building of the hotel on Monday, December 18th, Cameron House Hotel, the Leisure Club and the food & beverage areas within the main hotel are now temporary closed. A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing