We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, Fantastic views great service will return again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great room, Fantastic views great service will return again”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Was a little worried about our visit to Cameron House after reading a few negative reviews how wrong could they have been. We arrived a little early and were shown to the bar, once in our room wow what can i say we had been upgraded to a suite with a four poster bed, flowers and an amazing views of th loch. We dined the first evening in martin Wisharts restaurant the food was fantastic and the service impeccable on the second evening we ate in the boathouse again food great service excellent. We had travelled to Cameron House for a birthday treat for my birthday and yes the drinks are a little pricey but well worth the money and will definately be back could not praise the service enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Cameron House, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please review the 'Special Offers' section of our website when you are thinking of returning as we have some great promotions available that may suit you, alternatively you can join our mailing list to have these sent directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,603
    1,219
    807
    387
    179
See reviews for
1,074
3,140
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Cameron House promises a lot but fails to deliver in so many departments. Despite being kitted out to a high standard, it lacks refinement, attention to detail and the personal touch you'd expect with a 5 star hotel. Children are absolutely everywhere, unusal for a hotel of this stature. So if you want screaming kids running around the place, this is the place to go. We stayed for one night, lunched in the bar and dined in Martin Wishart's, paying just under £420 for the privilege. The room was new, spacious and clean but small touches like only two sachets of coffee, one pack of biscuits, no turn- down service and bath robes that felt like you were wearing Bacofoil spoiled it. Part of the lure was the spa but quickly realised this entails an extra charge just to use its facilites, not treatments. I never did find out exactly how much as I was told three different prices. The leisure facilities on site are OK but the sauna and steam room are exceptionally busy at weekends so expect to be sharing their intimacy with up to 8 others as we had to. Lunch in the Grill Room was at best average - on par with Brewers Fayre - service terrible and prices expensive. Expect to pay about £11 for soup and a small sandwich. Drinks, needless to say, are astronomical. Meanwhile, Wishart's restaurant is exceptional and food exquisite. But you pay handsomely for it: just under £200 we paid and we're both teetotallers! Expect to fork out an obligatory 10% service charge on top of being charged for coffee while the cheese course is a very hefty £15 each; you get 5 slivers so three quid a pop! Next day, after waiting in a massive queue to check out, we then discovered we were wildly overcharged which, because of the experience we'd already had, I fully expected. Seems they don't do very well when it comes to adding up so then had to wait in line for them to rectify the mistake which I don't think they ever quite go to the bottom of. Breakfast was the one shining light; very nice full Scottish, service was excellent and the busy staff very friendly. Just a shame this came as we were leaving. Overall, a very disappointing experience. Throughout our stay our only contact with staff was the next day when they took our cash - and they even messed that up. I'm therefore sad to say I wouldn't recommend Cameron House on this showing. They had so many opportunities to get it right but failed on the majority of ocassions. Go to the Old Course, St Andrews. That says 5 star...and is.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunroamin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
We are a family friendly hotel and welcome all guests, however we are extremely disappointed to learn that you were dissatisfied with your experience at Cameron House. A private massage has been sent to you with the contact details of our Rooms Division Manager, who will willingly discuss any issues you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willaston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We arrived after a four hour journey, and despite being early to check in, the concierge and man at reception were only too happy to help. We were upgraded on arrival to a suite which was fab! Huge suite with the biggest, comfiest bed ever! And amazing bathroom, living room, DVD room etc, it was amazing. We didn't want to leave! The leisure facilities were good and we had a lovely swim, jacuzzi and sauna. We went out to eat as we can't afford the ridiculous restaurant prices, and they seemed very quiet anyway. Lovely roaring fires everywhere, and lovely views of the loch, or so i'm told because it was that foggy I couldn't see anything! Gutted. Despite other reviews claiming poor service, we didn't experience any. Would definately return if we can ever afford to come back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mica91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Cameron House, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please review the 'Special Offers' section of our website when you are thinking about returning as we have some great promotions available, or join our mailing list to have these sent directly to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbartonshire
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I can't congratulate Cameron House enough for laying on such a fantastic display. My son and husband got to hold a bird whilst learning all about its personality. Even though it was a very cold day I found incredibly entertaining, the chap that did most of the talking was very informative and I thought it was a fantastic start to another year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline_johnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We enjoyed a very relaxing 2 night stay at Cameron House and couldn't fault a single thing! The service was friendly and efficient, the food delicious, the views to die for and our room was an added bonus - I had booked a standard garden facing room but we got a free upgrade to not only a loch view but a suite with a huge bedroom and a small turret room looking out to loch lomond :-)

We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the Cameron Grill, drinks in the Whiskey bar and lunch in the Great Scots bar and were very impressed with each. On our 2nd morning we took advantage of our suite to have room service breakfast which was just lovely. The hotel also has free wifi.

We can't wait to get back! (p.s. watch out for promo offers, we got a very good rate for 2 nights B&B with dinner on the first night)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you very much for submitting your review of Cameron House. We are delighted you enjoyed you're stay so much. Please check under the 'Special Offers' section of our website for promotions that would suit, or join our mailing list to have these sent directly to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I went there back in April for 1 day for a corporate event and was impressed by the quality of the room which were tastefully furnished and spacious.

The loch itself offered incredible sights and the hotel was beautiful too. The location is rather remote but the hotel do offer plenty of activities for you to keep busy and the staff were very friendly.

My only regret is that I did not get to stay there longer and I would like to go back with my partner as I believe it would be perfect for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarlawuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Cameron House. We are delighted you enjoyed you're stay so much, and that you would like to return for a longer stay. Please look under the 'Special Offers' section of our website for packages that would suit you and your partner, or join our mailing list to have these offers sent directly to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My mother chose to celebrate her 80th birthday at Cameron House with a lunch for 40 of her friends. It was extremely expensive and very poor customer service.
There was no one to greet us on arrival. We had to go and find someone to take the coats. We had pre ordered champagne and wine, and all the guests were waiting in the library but there were no staff on hand to serve the champagne, so we had to go and find someone again.
The food was very good but took a long time between courses. I was offered one glass of wine and had to ask for another one as there was no wine waiter hovering. There were only 4 tables so it shouldn't have been too difficult. The coffee cups were passed to us holding the rim of the cup, great for bugs!
A beautiful hotel in a fantastic location and the food is very good, but they need to improve their service, if they want to charge such a lot of money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fibuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camer0nh0use, Public Relations Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are really disappointed that you are unhappy with the service received, and can only apologise for this. A private message has been sent to you with the contact details of our Meeting and Events Sales Manager, who will gladly discuss any issues you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing