We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Nearby Hotels
Ardoch Cottage(Gartocharn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (6,182)
Filter reviews
6,182 results
Traveler rating
2,986
1,464
998
488
246
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,986
1,464
998
488
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscameron houseboat housethe grillvalet parkinggreat scots barcarrick spabeautiful hotelloch lomondmartin wishartsteakboathouse restaurantclaret jugceltic warriorleisure facilitiesafternoon teafirst classinfinity pool
Filter
Updating list...
5,986 - 5,991 of 6,182 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Just returned home after a 3 night break at Cameron House, where we’d managed to book a loch-view room at a really good rate, as a special treat for my birthday. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, which was well stocked with nice toiletries, however, the best bit was the superb view of the loch from the bedroom window!

There are 3 restaurants. The Georgian Room restaurant wasn’t open during our stay as it’s currently being refurbished (we were advised about this when we booked). Smollets, where we had breakfast, have a good and varied choice on offer, i.e. cooked or continental breakfast, cereals, fruit, etc – this will set you up for the day! The Marina Restaurant & Bar (approx 3/4 minutes walk from the hotel) is well worth a visit. Had a gorgeous meal here on our last night - the manager and his young team make this a very pleasant and welcoming place to have a meal or just a leisurely drink.

We’ve had a great break and will definitely go back again however it’s worth remembering that this is a ‘5 star’ rated hotel and obviously with this comes ‘5 star’ prices, so whatever good deal you may get on the room rate the price you will pay in the hotel for food, drinks etc will still be ‘5 star’, i.e. expensive! However, don’t let this put you off as you don’t have to eat or drink in the hotel – there are lots of pubs and restaurants fairly close by – try the Princess Rose Chinese Restaurant in Balloch, which is an easy 5 minute drive from the hotel – courteous staff, good service and lovely food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Warrington_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

A weekend at Fawlty Towers. We checked in, went for a walk and returned to find someone else had been booked into our room (wtih our possessions still there). Hotel staff removed some (but not all of our luggage) put it back, took it out again etc etc. Eventually sorted, but I was annoyed that my belongings had been handled by all and sundry. On departure we sifted through four bills before picking one that looked like it might be ours although our name wasn't on any of them. We eventually paid and received a receipt with someone elses name on it.
Dinner was well presented but very slow and mean. Averaged 1.25 to 1.5 hrs between clearing one course and serving the next. The entire meal wouldn't have fed a toddler - anything sliced was so thin it must have been shaved with razor blade. Dessert should have been served with ice cream but they had 'run out' by the time it came. We left the table £80 lighter and absolutely starving!
Our room was comfortable but a bit shabby. Old burn or scorch marks on chairs and bedding and stained wallpaper.

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank CriticalGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

We stayed one night at Cameron House Hotel to "treat" ourselves to a bit of luxury. It's in a lovely setting by Loch Lomond and had nice grounds - including golf course(s).

The room allocated was on the ground floor and had a view of the shrubs outside. Since the decoration and furnishings were dark; there was little natural light (the shrubs blocked that) and the lighting was "subtle", we felt little inclination to stay in the room more than necessary. I appreciate that others no doubt had lovely views looking out on to the loch but this was not our experience. When we commented on the drab room at check-out the following day we were advised that the rooms were due to be remodelled, which may have happened since, but it was hoped this hadn't spoiled our stay!

The Marina Restaurant & Bar was a reasonable walk from the main building and looked a nice modern place to dine - quite informal, and possibly popular with the golfers after a round.

We dined at the Smollets Restaurant in the main building where the food was very good and the service friendly and attentive.

The leisure pool was fairly large and luckily when we visited it was nice and quiet and unlike previous reviews we found it perfectly clean - no complaints there. For fans of squash you'll be surprised to find that there were a few courts in the same building.

We were disappointed with the drab room and some of the public areas inside the hotel looked in need of brightening up. Breakfast was self-serve.

We have stayed in many better hotels which did not have the Cameron House 5 star rating. It's nice but not great.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

Stayed for 1 night on the 18 December, on arrival was told the swimming pool and changing rooms were unavailable due to the Loch flooding. We were dissapointed as one of the reasons we chose the hotel was for the liesure facitlites, after explaining this on arrival are rate was reduced from £149 DDB to £99. My Wife and I still had a great couple of days as the hotel's setting if breathtaking specially looking out over the loch at the snow clad Ben Lomond. We had trouble choosing between which resturant to eat in as both menus looked fantastic, we finally chose the smollets and was very glad as the chicken liver pate was divine. Anyone who's wanting a night away in a nice hotel at a reasonable price ( no idea how the last reviewer was charged £300, especially in winter?? ) you couldn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Stayed here a number of years ago and was interested to see if it had changed. It has, but not for the better. It is still a wonderful setting, but the rooms are decidedly average and the drinks are VERY expensive. We ate in the Georgian Room; stiflingly dull atmosphere, stiflingly formal service, stiflingly expensive, pretentious food. An establishment apparently clinging to bygone glories. The hotel seems to be moving from a high class five star hotel to an accessible timeshare leisure centre, with plans to expand the latter. I have no problem with that but the prices charged should match the product. £300 a night for DBB for 2. Go elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2006
4  Thank AtouristUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews