We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sparkling Afternoon Tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sparkling Afternoon Tea!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Took my mother here after buying one of the Itison vouchers for a sparking afternoon tea.
I requested a table with a nice location and we were given a beautiful table by the window overlooking Loch Lomond. The table was a great size for all of our lovely goodies.
Service was great and the Afternoon Tea was a very close second to that of Gleneagles. We thoroughly enjoyed it and there are so many different sweet and savoury snacks.
I will definitely return again in the future for the Afternoon Tea!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julzy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,707
    1,273
    848
    417
    204
See reviews for
1,139
3,297
33
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had wanted to stay at Cameron House for many years but the journey from London delayed our visit. However our experience at Cameron House made me wish we had visited much sooner. The staff, hotel and grounds lived up to my highest expectations and I certainly intend to return. We dined in The Grill restaurant on the first evening and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal, however on the second evening we decided to try The Boat House restaurant just outside the main building. Unfortunately the meal was disappointing and, in particular, I thought the desserts were below standard. All in all though a great hotel with considerate and attentive staff - don't hesitate to book!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the lake if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlplat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in Cameron House for two nights, we chose here as we had stayed in November 2013 and had a great time, also a lovely room. I was disappointed with the reception i got when i drove up to the hotel, the Valets made me feel like i should not have been there, i got the impression they were only interested in big fancy cars, as i observed this from my room window! We had asked for same grade of room, have to say it was much smaller, cobweb hanging from the ceiling, valance on bed did not match, room was very dusty, although not dirty, toiletries not topped up in Bathroom. Dining in the Grill room, food was just okay, tables were dirty, had to ask a waiter to clean it as it was all sticky, the same at Breakfast cups were dirty and tables. We ate at the Boathouse for Lunch, this was an experience in itself, it's a lovely place let down by disgruntled staff, to be fair i think there was a staff training issue, the staff walked around like zombies and were certainly not happy in their work. Cameron House is a spectacular building on the outside. I think the place is tired on the inside. I don't think we will be back, shame as it used to be a lovely place to go. The Sea plane & Cruise were the highlight of our stay.

Room Tip: A Loch room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollydolly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Dark décor all over hotel. Pretentious.
Comfortable room but extremely dark décor. Good view over loch, nice bathroom though. Room service very slow.

Helpful?
Thank Jan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucifer_84
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a wonderful weekend celebrating my 30th birthday. This is our sixth time staying at Cameron House and it just gets better every time. From the moment you walk in, you know you're somewhere really special. Our suite (107) was unbelievable - spacious, dramatic and luxurious with unrivalled views of Loch Lomond from a private balcony, freestanding bath and walk-in wet room. We ate at The Boathouse (delicious crab cakes, mussels, smoked salmon and pizza washed down with a bottle of red) and spent an hour afterwards sitting on the veranda overlooking the loch. Breakfast was fantastic and the service was spot-on even though it was busy. We had a drink and a Caesar salad in the Great Scots bar for lunch, which is really relaxed and spacious. Stuart Broomfield - Residents Manager - was so friendly and helpful and we cannot thank him and his team enough for making our stay so perfect. We'll be back again soon!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lucifer_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I booked a room at Cameron House for my husband's birthday as a surprise getaway. From check-in to check-out it was a lovely experience. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, and they even left a nice surprise of fudge with a Happy Birthday greeting on a card for my husband, which was a nice touch. I didn't ask for this so it shows how attentive the staff are. The location is lovely and has some great views of Loch Lomond. There's plenty of activities but as we were there for only one night we just wanted to relax before dining at Martin Wishart's in the evening.

We had a standard double room, the décor is really nice. Some people might have said the hotel was too 'dark', but this is the deliberate style which adds a bit of ambience to the atmosphere while roaming the halls. I particularly loved the artwork lining the hall to the pool and bar area. Gothic prints and animal heads all add to the flair of Cameron House.

We ate lunch at the Boat House which I'd recommend! The meal was lovely and good portion size at reasonable prices.

The hotel facilities are great; good sized pool and the sauna and steam room were really good. Towels are supplied also, so no need to carry much back and forth from hotel room.

Parking is valet and there's no shortage of spaces.

We both had a great sleep, bed was big and comfy and the air con worked fine to cool the room down with it being a very hot day. We didn't hear a noise from the other guests even though it was a Saturday and was quite busy.

All in all, this is a gorgeous hotel with a great vibe and atmosphere. It is a bit pricey but perfect for a special trip away. A+ service!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Absolutely superb hotel
Stayed in room 102 which is a contemporary suite
4 rooms, cinema room, sitting room, bedroom, wet room including bath with TV
Staff were excellent
Location is perfect
Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
3 reviews
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing