We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wedding anniversary”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel check-in was very efficient and the receptionist very pleasant.We had booked a thermal experience but this is in the Carrick which is not at the hotel but about a mile away.The receptionist did offer courtesy transport,but we opted for the hotel swimming pool on site.The pool was very nice and we struck it lucky as it was adult swim time only in the main pool.The pool area was very busy with lots of families not really a quiet relaxing pool.There is sauna and steam room available as well.After our swim we retired to the bar although there seemed to be plenty of staff getting served was not so easy.The room looked as if it had been recently refurbed.There was robes and slippers,high quality toiletries.The room we had was on the ground floor and a view up the loch.We had a meal in the cameron grill which was excellent,the staff were very attentive.The breakfast in the morning was good quality with plenty of choice,unfortunately because the hotel was busy everybody turns up for breakfast in the last hour so be ready to stand and wait for a table.Would certainly recommend for a stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,652
    1,244
    831
    401
    191
See reviews for
1,103
3,222
33
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Was very dissatisfied and disappointed with our stay at this hotel ,not what we expected from a 5* at all . My husband had booked and paid for this stay as a treat . We were so looking forward to staying and relaxing at this hotel . Concierge and most of staff were very pleasant except receptionist ,she was very unwelcoming and unhelpful .. Also one of the requirements when booking in was to take £100 pounds out of our bank account which we felt was a bit extreme .. We would get it back when we left , have never had to do this in any hotel anywhere !!!
Supposed to have a welcoming glass of champagne on arrival thought it would be in room as nothing was said ,was not the case .. Just forgot to give us a slip of paper to go to bar !!! Room was in great need of some TLC .. Paintwork very patchy .. Wallpaper torn , and carpet stained in some parts of the room ..very shabby for such a quality hotel . Very noisy in hall .guests roaming about in the middle of the night , kids running up and down hall , staff knocking on doors early morning ,counted up to 9 hello's and good mornings in one go . Not what we expected .. Such a shame with such a beautiful place .. Don't think we will be back . Couldn't wait to leave !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FY1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

was great to have concierge park your car and bring up your bags - check in took a while, but that's because everyone obviously arrived at the same time.

the room was a classic one and was very spacious - excellent bathroom and massive bed. unfortunate thing was that the bed was rather hard and therefore we didnt experience a good night's sleep. there was also a lot of tv noise from another room and corridor noise. i think we were just unlucky.

the scots bar was lovely - great atmosphere. We ate in the cameron grill - good food but a little pricey.

we also used the leisure facilities which were great. it wasnt busy so all areas were relaxing and very enjoyable.

breakfast was busy but enjoyable - plenty of choice.

overall, a great stay and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lovely welcome as we came in,staff were all really really nice made a fuss over my daughter as it was her birthday she loved it.room was beautiful lovely view onto the loch.food was delicious would highly recommend a visit here we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolamclevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here with the wife foe a long break and we found it to be an excellent hotel with excellent service. the grounds are lovely with a great view of the Loch.

Pros: Excellent service, breakfast lovely ad had a good range, rooms were nice and well provisioned. Gym was excellent and had just been refurbished.

we had dinner in the boat house and the food was a good standard if not a little pricey.

Cons: can be a bit dear but you do get what you pay for.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Had a two night break in a lovely well appointed room with a view of the loch. The furnishings are tasteful, bed and pillows extremely comfy. Fresh milk in the fridge for coffee. No skimping on the lovely toiletries and big fluffy towels!

Staff very helpful and friendly. The leisure pool was nice and warm, changing facilities very good.

Recommend a stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tranquil8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I haven't stopped raving about my stay at this Hotel,from the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty.Everyone was so helpful,efficient and friendly,it was a present for my daughter and myself from my husband and he wishes he had come now as I've gone on about nothing else since I got home.

Room Tip: We were in room 78 which was quite far from reception so if you have mobility problems it may have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing