We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel avoid The Boat House restaurant/caff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel and surrounding area is really lovely, the staff are friendly especially the guys on the door. However when trying to book for dinner on night 1 the hotel was let down by the 2 ladies taking bookings. They had an air of you should be thankful you managed to get a booking attitude. Since it was quite obvious we had no prior knowledge of facilities a bit of an insight into the restaurants before being rushed for a decision would have been nice. The availability for eating was really restricted so we chose based on time. My friend and I ended up in The Boat House which is pretty much an overpriced motorway caff including the overtired children, Yucko!! Food was quite average and in no way deserved the extremely flattering prices attached to each dish. Had we been made aware it was a family orientated atmosphere we could have avoided the major disappointment and the completely unjustified cash haemorrhage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZaraDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,683)
There are newer reviews for Cameron House on Loch Lomond
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,875 - 3,881 of 5,683 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked a junior suite for 3 nights as it was my husbands birthday. When we got to our room we were disappointed as it was not clean. Floors were dusty, hairs in the shower area and furniture worn. We complained and were told we would be moved to an upgraded room. While we waited for our luggage to be moved, what we assumed was head house cleaner arrived, and very aggressively asked us what was wrong with the room. She brought a young girl in and told her to mop the floor and clean the shower, and then told us that the hairs on the bathroom floor would have come from her mop and that this was unavoidable( nice !) She generally made us feel very uncomfortable as we waited to be moved. This should have been done once we were gone, we had explained our problems ot the manager already. This all happened at around 4pm, and the entire corridor was littered with room service trays and rubbish. So it appeared the cleaning was not being kept on top of generally.However, having been told that we were being upgaded we expected the next room to be better. This was one of the hotels "Whisky Suites". When we arrived at the room we were pleased with the size of it, however it smelled damp and musty. The bathroom floor was a mess as the grout was missing from the tiles, and the toilet was situated within the wet area of the shower. The room was again dusty. We decided not to complain again, but were not impressed. The following morning we used the shower, only to find that the shower head was faulty and sprayed water everywhere including all over the toilet area. The hotel fixed the shower, but everytime we used it, it still soaked the WC area, so not very pleasant or hygienic to have pools of water at your feet. The hotel in general has lots of style, its very dramatic in terms of lighting and dark colours, however dark lighting clearly means the cleaners don't see the dust. Room service trays and ice buckets in corridors seemed to take almost 36 hours to be cleared. Staff uniforms looked like they were donated from the local charity shop, clearly the staff had been told to wear black and that was it. The concierge staff are the hotels best asset, smart, cheery and hellpful. Apart from these guys all of the other staff members clothes seemed ill fitting, particularly the girl who showed us in for breakfast. And the older woman on reception was abrupt, unhelpful and scruffy. All in all really disappointing and not what we expected. The hotel is clearly poorly managed. We stayed in a Premier Inn shortly after for a business trip, the room was cleaner and the staff were incredibly helpful and well presented. So sad that a beautiful hotel in a stunning situation is slipping so badly in standards.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A large hotel with spacious, very well-equipped bedrooms and friendly helpful staff. Lots of facilities and activities in and around the hotel. Good for families and as a base to explore the beautiful local countryside.

There were only two drawback for us. One was the size - we would have preferred a rather more intimate, country house hotel - but then we knew that beforehand. If you like Gleneagles, you will like Cameron House.

Our main issue, however, was the bar and restaurants - a disappointment. Inevitably perhaps because of the number of guests, they have a sort of upmarket cafeteria feel and were not very good value, either.

The Martin Wishart restaurant was quite good but didn't do it for us. Generally a high standard but some way short of our expectations. Not all of the dishes worked. Not enough staff nor well-trained enough to pull it off. Surprisingly long wait for a menu. Amuse Bouche came before the bread and butter. Empty bottles and aperitif glasses left on the table too long; obviously told not to leave the bottled water on the table, which is fine, but lack of attentiveness meant we had to keep asking for glasses to be refilled. Awkwardness and a lack of style in serving and removing plates. Picky, yes, but with its promotion and prices, these individually small things should be second nature to the staff. Good but expensive wine list.

We preferred the Boathouse - less aspirational. We didn't eat at the Cameron Grill.

Overall we were glad we stayed there - the warmth and friendliness of the staff was memorable.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had a lovely 2 day stay here. Had bought a 4 day room and paid in advance. The hotel was very understanding about a family illness which meant we had to cut our stay short. Refund with no questions asked. All 5* except we felt there were not enough staff at breakfast or for the evening meal. Lovely meal, but had to wait for around 50mins. Apologies were made. All in all, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSprakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I spent two days here, and managed to take some fabulous photographs.
I can say that the staff are superbly helpful and polite. The room which overlooked the Loch was huge with a very comfortable bed. We ate at the fabulous Martin Wishart restaurant on the first night, and this was a great experience with beautiful food and attentive staff.
The second night we tried to book the Cameron Grill restaurant, but this was fully booked so we were mini-bussed 2 miles down the road to the Claret Jug; I was very disappointed by the limited choice of meals and the quality of the steak. Very expensive.

I also tried the hotel gym which was ok, but was put off using the pool etc because the changing room floors were not particularly clean :-(

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila_atty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the location is absolutely stunning. The bedrooms are a good size but why are the furnishings so dark? Talk about depressing. You couldn't see to put make up on and the room was very poorly lit - reading was a real strain on the old eyes. We had a garden room. Well, anyway, they obviously didn't look up the definition in the dictionary as what we looked onto was a steep bank just outside our window ( no flowers or shrubs), and just served to snatch any natural light. It felt like we were in the basement, not what you would expect for the price. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable.
Like others, I had an issue with the £100 per night on the credit card when we had paid for full board. When I queried this, I was informed that it was easy to run up this amount with a couple of whiskies!!!!
The gym facilities were great, although I was surprised it wasn't manned - good job I knew how to use the equipment. The pool was also great.
The main restaurant ( Cameron Grill) - well, that definitely left a lot to be desired for evening meals . The waiters were very young and inexperienced and didn't really deal with problems satisfactorily. However I found the breakfast very acceptable. Things were a lot better over in the Boat House, food was much nicer and presentation was good, however this was rather spoilt by the administration and they tried to double charge us for the drinks. Very unprofessional. It then took ages to sort out and when we checked out they also tried to charge us for the meals we had already paid for.
All in all, this is a lovely hotel but it needs a good refurb to make it light and appealing.Staff need more training. It would also benefit from some earthworks so that the rooms on the lower floors had some natural light and views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely hotel and most of the staff are helpful and efficient, with the possible exception of the staff waiting on at breakfast (disorganised at best). The hotel itself, location and facilities are fantastic. The restaurants in the hotel are over priced and are not good value for money, my advice is go into Balloch (Coach House and Tullie Inn were best). Rooms are well appointed, however a few minor niggles - no shaving mirror, kettle lead is about 2 inches long, no where appropriate for the wife to use a hairdryer and although advertised as a Loch view room should read 'enormous tree view'. Last point, the concierge service was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eviladj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
5 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $222 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing