We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I AM the one to review this place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I AM the one to review this place!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had issues with this hotel from the get go, but trudged on despite all the problems. On our arrival the hotel computers crashed, and I thought "here we go", but let me tell you the rest of our 3 days were spent in a clean well appointed room, staff were pleasant and friendly. Food, bar, and service was good. Grounds are lovely (despite the ducks and geese). I would recommend this place to anyone. Wifi good. Take the seaplane tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,561
    1,189
    784
    375
    168
See reviews for
1,043
3,069
33
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Everything about this hotel is quality from the rooms through to the food. Service throughout is excellent. The healthclub is very good but the spa is located at another location on the golf course a few miles away but with a shuttle bus connection

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyjames4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a special birthday break at the De Vere Cameron House Hotel, and it was a fabulous experience from start to finish. The staff were so polite and helpful. The spa was fantastic.Our room was beautiful and the grounds were spectacular. In fact if you get the chance to visit don't hesitate you won't regret it! It was out of this world luxury from beginning to end. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mair1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My now fiancé took me to Cameron House for a surprise. When we got there to check in everyone was very nice and nobody walked by us without saying hello. We are a young couple so I felt out of place at first but the hotel staff soon made me feel welcome. Anyway we were shown to our room and 2nd surprise was a bouquet of beautiful flowers organised by my fiancé but placed in the room for our arrival by the staff. My fiancé expected a garden view room but the lady he had been speaking to to set up my surprise had arranged a Loch viewing room. It was amazing!! once settled we went to the swimming pool which to me a non-swimmer I was dreading but enjoyed it as it was at a good temperature for me to just float about. After swimming we went and got ready for our meal which had been arranged to be in our own private room and we received our own personal waitress Nicole who was lovely and we could not fault her. The room also looked onto the Loch and added to the atmosphere for our stay. Candle lit dinner looking at the beautiful views! Stunning. Anyway once our dinner had been served we took a walk outside to the Loch side and my fiancé proposed!! We walked back into the hotel were the reception staff and the waitress Nicole where waiting for find out my answer. Apparently everybody new but me! After this we went to the bar to have a celebratory drink and the bar man surprised both of us with two glasses of champagne on the house and a big smile saying congratulations! When returning back to our room Nicole had taking chocolates up while we were outside and left a lovely note! I could not fault this place one tiny bit and I am now looking at getting married here as the service was amazing and if they can put that much attention to detail into a proposal imagine a wedding!! Amazing and thank you soo much!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseT90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights and the whole experience was excellent, it defiantly earns it's 5 star rating! Upon arrival my partner was a bit worried that it may be a bit snooty after some experiences of that at other 5 star hotels, however she couldn't have been more wrong, we felt very welcome and all the staff were very friendly and helpful, they are a credit to the hotel! The style of the hotel is very classy and I loved the scottish theme throughout. We had a meal in the cameron grill and it was excellent, and afterwards a few drinks in the great scots bar which is a really nice area and a totally relaxed feel! I honestly cannot fault the hotel at all after our experience, worth the money and we will defiantly be returning for another stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night break at Cameron House where celebrated our 7th Wedding Anniversary. The weather was typically poor everyday but the hotel was first class! I can not wait to go back!

Everything from start to finish was generally fantastic.....

The Pro's.......

~The concierge "Brian" was a true gentlemen, he could not have looked after us any better.
~All of the staff on reception were amazing, we were greeted with a free upgrade to a whiskey suite when checking in so were lucky enough to have a beautiful view of the loch. Thank you!
~Breakfast in the Cameron grill! Great selection in a amazing setting
~The Spa, my wife had a treatment and we both used the facilities at the Spa. It's the Best!
~The Carrick golf course! A real gem! Great staff in the pro shop and some of the very best views I have ever seen on a golf course on the 14th, 15th and 16th holes! (Wouldn't rush to play the wee demon course again)
~Clay pigeon shooting, Stan's the Man! A great morning of fun, a must do!

Con's
~My only criticism was with a few of the waiting staff. We were kept waiting 25 mins for our table at the Boat House and we had pre booked? We also dined in the Cameron grill on our first night and this was very average.

Overall one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in and will definitely be returning at some point!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwichGoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Having travelled worldwide, this is the best hotel I ever stayed in. From my booking conversations with Katie by phone, I sensed all would be great. She was so efficient, friendly and helpful. Told me about the local area so I knew what to book in advance. Super great employee. The room was exquisite, spotless - quite perfect. Breakfast was excellent. Front desk and everyone on staff were courteous, efficient and extremely helpful. The 2 girls cleaning my room were fantastic and did a great job. Couldn't find any complaint. Flew on the seaplane which was an extra highlight of my trip. Asked whiskey connoisseur in hotel bar for a scotch and he gave me a half hour talk about whiskey, and had me taste before I chose which one I liked. Dinner in the Cameron Grille was top class. Final word is that I just need to sort out which dates I'll return to Cameron House Hotel next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing