We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely night away!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely night away!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I had always wanted to stay here & I was not disappointed, it was a lovely experience at a beautiful location with fantastic food & service. I will certainly return however I just feel it is very slightly overpriced in terms of accommodation, the food prices are equal with the quality so no fault there but the price of just a B&B is a but to pricey even though it is a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowMoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,561
    1,189
    784
    375
    168
See reviews for
1,043
3,069
33
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from two nights at Cameron House. Arrived at 3.30pm for check in which was available from 3.00pm. We were told that the head housekeeper was checking our room that moment and were given drinks vouchers for the bar until we were contacted by reception that the room was ready.

Arriving at the bar, there wasn't a seat to be had so we perched on bar stools. We quickly learned that most people were in the same position as us....no rooms. After about an hour, I spoke with the Duty Bar Manager, Desmond, and he undertook to find the Front of House Manager for us. He came back to say that the Manager had left for the day! We continued to wait, and wait, and wait, until I went to speak with the Deputy Manager. He simply apologised and said they were doing all they could. We continued to wait.

Finally, we decided to return home...some ninety miles away....and went to reception to have our car brought to the hotel. An Assistant Front of House Manager came down to speak with us. She was the first person, apart from Desmond, to offer to try to resolve the situation and help us. She was so sympathetic and helpful that we decided to stay. We were upgraded to a suite to try to make up for the shambles we had so far experienced.

We ate in the Cameron Grill and the meal was very good with good service. The following evening, we ate at the Boat House, where again, the food and service were very good.

Other let downs included our suite key being deactivated a day early and, when I arrived at reception to have this remedied, I was told that I must have put it beside my mobile phone. This was in fact not at all the case! Whatever happened to ...."the customer is right?". Not at Cameron House reception desk, I can promise you!

At breakfast on our final morning, one of the settings had a cup which was covered in dirty stains!
Again, disappointing.

As we checked out, my husband queried our bill as one of our meals was missing. At that, the Manager arrived to speak with us and advised that, because of our bad experiences, our dinner in the Cameron Grill had been removed from our bill. He was exceedingly gracious and assured us that our stay was not the norm for the Hotel. He hoped that we would return in the future.

We were both in need of a few days of complete relaxation and we certainly did not enjoy that. Desmond and Elaine did everything possible to try to resolve our situation and they certainly made us more comfortable for what remained of our stay. As I said earlier, the Manager made a point of seeing us and apologising for the hotel's failures.

At no time were we looking for anything for nothing. We appreciated the efforts by the staff and the upgrade and the meal......however, what we had hoped would be an idyllic few days turned out to be stressful and very disappointing.

Marilyn St Andrews

Room Tip: Make sure it will be available at check in times, particularly if you have had a long drive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarrow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

From the outset, i knew that this 2 night stay at Cameron House was expensive and i was hoping it was going to be money well spent, as it was our wedding anniversary and we normally push the boat out!
Well, were not disappointed, it was superb!!
Upon arrival,our bags were taken from us and the car parked by the very helpful staff. Then being very efficiently being booked in at reception by friendly staff, this was a good introduction.
A member of staff then took our bags and escourted us to our room, and looked embarassed when given a tip.
The room was magnificent and comfortable.
We visited the leisure facilities and although there were a number of children there, it didnt spoil our experience as the facilities were vast.
We ate on the first night at The Boat house and the friendly theme followed through. The waitress was very attentive and efficient and the food was very good.
We were offered a lift to the Boat House restaurant and back by the consierge staff. which was very posh by our standards!
The second night, our anniversary, we dined in the Cameron Grill. The food was sublime! Again not cheap but worth it for a special occasion. We were presented with a tray of confectionary wich was a nice touch, and greatly appreciated.
The main thing that struck me was that all the staff appeared to be from the locality, which is a good thing, servicing the local economy.
All in all, a memorable experience. Well done Cameron House!!

Room Tip: worth upgrading!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigginJarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Congratulations and many thanks for your review! I am delighted that you chose Cameron House to celebrate such a special occasion! It is great that you found both our Boat House and Cameron grill to offer delicious locally sourced produce and you found our largely local team to be so friendly and welcoming.
Overall, I am really pleased that we were able to deliver such a great anniversary stay for you and do hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best wishes,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a very 'scottish' place to stay. A dark entrance hall filled with tartans and beautiful heavy furniture, the walls adorned with fake stuffed local wildlife. Turn right at the reception desk, past the shop and onto the grille resteraunt, serving a wonderful array if Scottish smoked salmon and tasty fish and meat. The huge bar looks like a sports hall added on in the 70's from outside, but inside is beautifully furnished with an enormous bar in the middle and plenty of log fires. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite overlooking the loch with a balcony which we would have used if the weather had been better. What a treat. The slipper bath even had a built in tv screen on the wall. The furnishings are sumptuous and the bed and bedding is glorious.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Had a sneaky look when the cleaners were in and rooms look lovely, but room 111 is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am really pleased that we were able to deliver such a comprehensively great stay for you and your lovely praise of so many aspects of our resort is really encouraging.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from three night at the Cameron House hotel and it was a truly enjoyable experience. The room was excellent, the food sublime and although a little expensive the spa was an experience not to miss. The staff were attentive but not over the top and I would truly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
A massive thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed a true five star experience at Cameron House and that you found our resort to offer great bedrooms, delicious food and that you thought so highly of our award winning Carrick Spa.
I sincerely appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at Cameron House on the shores of Loch Lomond which we had heard so much about...

The things we liked;

- The welcome, check-in and valet parking were excellent
- The hotel is decorated wonderfully and the rooms feel opulent and are well appointed
- The breakfast is excellent, a wide choice of options, both buffet and a la carte, one of the best breakfasts we've had anywhere
- The Boathouse has an excellent range of locally sourced sea food
- There are lots of activity options at the hotel (although on this occasion we didn't try any)

The things we think they could improve;

- Restaurant service, Cameron Grill was good, but they forgot our side order (quickly resolved when asked). The Boathouse was worse,1 hour 15 minutes for the dessert (we had to ask several times just to see a dessert menu). The manager said they had had problems all day....
- Bar, we were looking forward to the whisky selection (which a big deal is made of), but the waiter struggled to advise on the big menu he had given us. After he brought the one we chose, he then said there was a whisky expert on that night and he 'might' be able to help.... It wasn't the most relaxed bar to sit in either, which is a shame.
- Pool area, there are 2 pools, one for adults one for kids (accompanied by adults). When we visited both were full of kids, so were a little noisy and hectic to try and swim in.

Overall, an interesting family resort (but we were a couple!), which I had great expectations for, but was ultimately let down by poor service and lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeakTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased that you were welcomed warmly to the resort and found the resort to offer a very luxurious feel in the public areas and that you mentioned the delicious breakfast selection and fresh seafood from loch Fyne available in our restaurants.
However, I apologise that we did not deliver the seamless level of service that we strive to deliver at certain points of your stay. Please contact me when you wish to return and I will do all I can to ensure that you enjoy a perfect stay.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just got back after a two night stay at the Cameron House Hotel. Yes its 5 star, and you would expect nothing but the best, but we can honestly say that the experience was wy beyond our expectations. The accommodation was excellent, the food outstanding, but the greatest asset this hotel has is its staff. From the first meeting with the valets as they unload your car and park it for you, through to the welcoming reception staff, then the restaurant staff, the houekeepers, barmen and waiters, they are just the best and most friendly staff it has ever been our privilege to meet. 5 stars indeed, but it is the staff who make your stay. Well done everyone at the Cameron, there are too many to remember all the names, but Des in the Great Scots Bar, Laura and Nicola in the restaurant, Joe the valet, just some of the staff whose service was excellent, they couldn't do enough for you. Sooooo looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We had booked a loch facing room, and the views, particularly waking up in the morning and watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline N Ia... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
A huge thank you for your review. It is wonderful that Cameron House surpassed your expectations! I am particularly pleased that you found our team to demonstrate such genuine warmth and hospitality as I firmly believe that it is our terrific team that set us apart as a resort. I also appreciate you acknowledging our team members that particularly stood out and please be assured that your feedback has been shared with, Des, Laura, Nicola and Jo.
Thank you again for your lovely review and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Bet wishes,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
22.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing