We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cameron House for a couple of nights after our wedding on 21 December this year. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend as a honeymoon location to other couples.

The hotel building and location were breathtaking (despite all the wind and rain outside!). We stayed in a Whiskey Suite, which was beautifully decorated and had stunning views of the loch. We loved the roll-top bath in the bedroom, the huge four poster bed and the card and chocolates from the manager congratulating us on being newly married. The room temperature was very good and easily adjustable and the room was cleaned to a very high standard.

We ate at the Martin Wishart restaurant on the first night and the Cameron Grill on the second night. We have already been to the Martin Wishart at Leith before so knew that the standard would be very high and were certainly not disappointed. We opted for the taster menu with wine, which entailed six official courses along with an amuse-bouche, cheese and chocolates. The elegant sophistication of the setting and the sumptuous courses made it a truly brilliant night. We were particularly impressed when one of the waiters overheard us talking about leaving our laptop charger at home and arranged for concierge to provide us with one of the hotel's spare charger leads. We also had a lovely night at the Cameron Grill - the food was delicious and the service was friendly and efficient.

The hotel has extensive leisure facilities and we didn't hesitate to try out the swimming pool and jacuzzi. Although our favourite by far was the water slide (even though we are nearly thirty!)

We booked a couples package at the luxurious Carrick Spa on our last day and were utterly pampered (my husband was so relaxed that he fell asleep during his facial!). The spa is slightly expensive but could be justified for the occasional treat.

Finally, just a quick thank you to all of the staff at Cameron House for providing a truly memorable start to our marriage (we stayed 22nd-24th Dec). We look forward to returning to celebrate many future anniversaries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Arfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,475
    1,146
    756
    362
    163
See reviews for
1,005
2,954
31
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hello Cameron House.

We are regular visitors to Cameron House and normally visit for birthdays, but decided this time to visit over Christmas, and would have to say it was wonderful. Cameron House thought of everything including how to keep all the children occupied with films, games and a visit from Father Christmas, and a Christmas gift for the adults.
Cameron House kept it's usual 5 star standard with it's facilities and the food served in the Boathouse and the set Christmas and Boxing Day events where the food was exceptional.
We as a family would like to say a personal thank you to Euan and Tony on the front of house and to George (Cameron House Butler) who on our many visits always take the time to make us welcome, and a we would like to say a thank you and well done to all of the staff who worked hard to make things run smooth.
Well done Cameron House, you got it spot on over Christmas and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you really want to indulge, try one of the Whiskey Suites, superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
A huge thank you for your review! I am delighted that you decided to spend Christmas with us after having enjoyed some great birthday celebrations at Cameron House! It is great that we were able to deliver a festive break for all your family and I do appreciate you acknowledging Tony, George and Euan for really making you feel welcome.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back next Christmas and wish you all the very best for the future.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoyed an excellent winter warmer break here. Very welcoming staff , thanks to darren at reception. Malcolm Wishart restaurant did not disappoint, really great food. Hotel and location are perfect for winding down and despite being quite large it felt intimate. Spa was a short distance away with courtesy car to transport you, unless you felt like walking! A real gem only 30 minutes from Glasgow airport.

Room Tip: Choose a loch view room to enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 692Susan692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed a great winter warmer escape with us. Your praise of the resort is really welcome and encouraging. I appreciate you taking the time to highlight the elements of Cameron House that you enjoyed such as our award winning Carrick spa and the delicious meal that you had in Michelin star Martin Wisharts restaurant.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future and wish you a very happy new year.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We arrived at Cameron House for our honeymoon and were greeted immediately as we stepped out of our car by the wonderful concierge staff. The hotel itself is stunning and the views are gorgeous, especially i the snow as we got to experience. The rooms were immaculate, the bed was enormous and staff outstanding. The manager in the Scots Bar was lovely and gave us a drink on the house after learning we were just married. The leisure facilities were great, we spent so much time in the pool, steam room and sauna which have a great view over the loch....and the slide is great too!! We ordered food to our room one night and were pleasantly surprised with the huge portions we got, and very fast service to the room. The only fault we had was that the starter we received at the Boathouse restaurant was very burnt but this was quickly resolved by the waiting staff and the manager even came to speak to us and apologise. I also visited the Carrick Spa on my visit and enjoyed the most amazing hot stone massage EVER!! And the concierge, Brian, was such a lovely man!! 10/10 for him!! Overall, we had a fantastic time at Cameron House and will hopefully be back one day....p.s. Brian the concierge deserves a pay rise, WE LOVED HIM!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Congratulations! I am delighted you chose Cameron House to celebrate your honeymoon and I am delighted that this was a fantastic experience for you both!
Your praise of Cameron House is very encouraging to all that work on the resort and I really appreciate you acknowledging Des our bar Manger and Brian for particularly standing out (and I do agree that they are both fantastic ambassadors for the resort).
I do hope to welcome you back and wish you all the very best for the future.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Fantastic, my family and I can't fault a thing! We have stayed at Cameron House previously and always been well looked after and had a fantastic time.... Very relaxing even with the kids! So as a Christmas treat we stayed Christmas Eve & Day and I simply can't stress how well organised it was, activities for the children (7 & 12)' not only that it is a stunning hotel location and I would recommend a loch view room.
The little touches the hotel staff do make for a fantastic time and you simply don't have to lift a finger, food it great and there's nothing better than relaxing in the great scots bar!
Thanks to all the staff at Cameron House.... We had a Christmas we will never forget!

Room Tip: Loch side on the 'new' area of building, top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
A massive thank you for your review. It is fantastic that we were able to provide you with such a great family Christmas. I really value your praise which is encouraging for everyone on the resort and I am delighted that this was such a seamless experience.
I do hope to welcome you back to spend next Christmas with us and wish you all the very best for next year.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

There is no doubt that this Hotel is situated in the most glorious surrounding which is yet another of many wonders one discovers when you stay here. We booked to stay here over Christmas and from the moment we arrived after our four hour drive, we were pampered by their incredible staff who cannot do enough to ensure that you have a memorable stay. Their hosting skills want you to return and return we will. Thank you the staff and management, you are very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart170649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. I am delighted that you chose to spend Christmas with us at Cameron House and that you were so well looked after following your long drive to arrive on the resort.
I am especially pleased that it is the warmth and professionalism of our team that makes you want to return. I wish you all the very best for the New Year and hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We just spent a couple of nights at Cameron House for my birthday and it was such a lovely get away. Having been there twice before I'm a fan of the place, but can see some little things it needs to work on. Food variety and quality in the restaurants is good, I've found it great on most occasions, but definitely could get sharpened up. The staff are so lovely, really friendly and this is so key to this place. It's such a luxury hotel but the staff are warm and friendly and keep it welcoming. This is something they need to use as an advantage and develop it as selling point! The location and hotel are amazing, staff are great, make that a bigger deal!
We went shooting and were so looked after, great friendly teachers, and they made such a fuss with complimentary drinks on couple of occasions and chocolates for my birthday. Nice staff and nice little touches.
We felt so welcome and looked after and it just felt warm and homely but so luxury.
I would say they need to work on their marketing tho, the hotel should be sold out constantly and the amazing lodges, which they aren't. As much as I love it being secret little getaway, it deserves more. What's with the marketing?!
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
A huge thank you for your review! I am delighted that you chose to celebrate your birthday at Cameron House and that you found the resort to be a really relaxing escape. It is particularly great that you found our team to be so welcoming and hospitable and I do agree that this is what truly sets Cameron House apart as a resort.
Please do note that your constructive feedback has also been taken on board for consideration and is valued. I very much look forward to welcoming you back when you return and wish you all the very best for 2013.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cameron House
#4 of 4 in Alexandria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Property: Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing