We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRE-XMAS GETAWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We decided to escape and chill out for an evening and visited Cameron House, one of our favourite places. The welcome at reception could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Our room was spacious with a terrific view - even on a wet day in December. We were very lucky, as we managed to coincide the break with the Cameron House Xmas Market. It was completely different from any Xmas Market I have ever attended - superb from start to finish. We were offered lovely mulled wine and tasty xmas mince pies when we walked into the event room. The Executive chef and Pastry Chef were on hand to show us how to produce a top class Xmas Dinner - they made it look so easy. The turkey and potatoes looked picture perfect and 'sugar modelling' and Xmas Cake works of art. The wine tasting was informative and professional. We were even shown how to lay the traditional table, fold napkins and serve correctly. The Spa and Golf team, too, were on hand to advise on possible gifts and the floral arrangements just beautiful. One of the delightful aspects of the evening was there was absolutely no 'pressure selling'. We had such a fun evening. Breakfast, next day, was an experience, with a fantastic selection. Relaxing, looking out over Loch Lomond totally recharged our batteries. Every member of the Cameron House Team we met on our visit were so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Simply advise of your preferences in advance. We found they did try to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,321 - 5,327 of 6,172 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

The staff were friendly enough which is a good start but we had to walk a fair distance due to very poor parking facilities. My room had a strong smell of smoke which my partner hates. Also there were various stains on the carpet. The breakfast was nice tho. I just feel for a hotel with such a reputation I was let down. Also the facilities for smokers were absolutely terrible,there is basically the main door with no shelter,for me to go for s cigarette it basically took 10 mins to get there and 10 mins back. Surely the money spent on this hotel better facilities could be installed

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anydustybins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate your praise of our friendly team, and the breakfast experience offered. I do wish that you had taken advantage of the courtesy valet parking that we offer to avoid you having to walk such a long distance to your car.
Please be advised that we are a smoke free resort, but do accommodate for smokers with the provision of three smoking areas around the resort.
I do hope you return to stay with us again as I would very much like to welcome you and your partner back to Cameron,

Kind Regards,
John Keating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We arrived for a stay from 5-6th January to celebrate my birthday and our engagement . On Thursday we could only book the Boathouse for our meal . However it was good and the service there was also good.
Later we went to the Great Scots Bar - a stunning space with hopeless service . The staff were playing , yes playing, behind the bar and when scanning the room for clients seemed blind to requests for service. It wasn't even that busy . Staff when they did serve seemed untrained and inarticulate .
The following day we returned to this bar at around 4 pm and the service was exemplary . Such disparity is surprising in a supposed 5 star hotel.
Later we dined at the Cameron Grill . This was a depressing experience from start to finish. The oyster starter arrive reasonably promptly but without the Tabasco sauce I'd requested. The bed of ice was already half melted suggesting they'd been sitting around at room temperature for a time. Our mains arrived and my lemon sole , seafood mousse and oyster sauce was totally crusted and dried out from sitting under lights at the pass . My partners pepper jus had skin on it from sitting there too. I returned my fish assured that it'd be five minutes for a new portion . At 10pm after asking again where my food was the dish arrived . Presentation -zero. No seafood mousse or oyster sauce . Uncooked broccoli . On uncurling the lemon sole to eat it I found that it was totally raw on the inside but appeared cooked on the outside twirl rather than poached as detailed. It went back too and all notion of dinner left me at that point. We did have a dessert though just to get the " celebration " feeling back. A drambuie night cap and off to bed underwhelmed. We complained but felt unconvinced that this was taken seriously by staff although our puddings weren't charged on our bill - wow!
At five in the morning we both awoke and were horrifically sick turn- about for many hours and couldn't leave the bedroom to check out at eleven . They were good in that we were left to check out later in the day . However the Beverages and Food manager who spoke with us on leaving was very condescending and stated that it couldn't be food poisoning as it takes 17 hours to kick in ! He stated that the oysters were delivered fresh on Thursday . Surely fish should be fresh daily in a 5 star hotel ?
Overall a very poor show from their main restaurant and some very poor/ patchy service.
Oh and don't expect wifi in rooms if you have an iPad or iPhone ... That doesn't work .
At home now, exhausted.
We have sent an email today and await a response.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claricedarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am incredibly sorry to learn that your recent stay to celebrate your birthday and engagement was such a disappointing one. Please be assured that you will shortly receive a response to your email from a member of the team at Cameron, and a private message has also been sent to you with the contact details of a representative from the resort should you wish to speak to a member of our team directly,

Kind Regards,
John Keating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We went to Cameron House between xmas and new year as a family of 5 and had a great time

The hotel facilities and setting are wonderful as others have said but there is more to this hotel than that. We stayed in a family room which is fantastic, my kids didn't want to leave as they loved their little bunk bed "den"

We ate in both restaurants and had really good food in each. Yes this is not a cheap hotel but it's not as bad as some reviewers have said, you just need to have some common sense. Also you are paying for the superb facilities offered by the hotel and the high quality staff.

I do have some minor gripes, we had towait until well after 3pm to check in to our room which after a very long drive was disappointing. Others have mentioned this and I think When you are paying this much for a room I want to enjoy it as much as I can particularly when asked to check out by 11.

Also the main swimming pool has a number of long "adult" only sessions during the week which meant my children could not swim for much of the day. The hotel management will say that there is a kids pool but that is really only for very small kids, mine are very accomplished swimmers. I certainly think this rule should be suspended during holiday periods when the hotel is full of kids. The weather was awful when we were there so the pool was well used and it felt wrong to have 30+ people crammed into the kids pool whilst the larger pool was virtually empty.

Minor niggles apart great hotel and hope to go back soon

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank andrewmdsmith210263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing to spend the festive season at Cameron with your family! I am delighted that the children loved the bunk beds, and television in their special area of the family room. I also really appreciate your terrific praise of our Cameron Grill and Boathouse restaurants, the facilities available around the resort, and most importantly the standard of the team we have here.
I apologise that the early check in was not available, as the resort is incredibly busy during the festive season, and hope that this did not detract from your stay overall. I do appreciate your feedback regarding the leisure facilities we have for children, and please be assured that this will be taken on board for consideration to improve the experience delivered to families.
I do wish you all the best for the forthcoming year, and hope to welcome you and your family back in the near future,

Kind Regards,
John Keating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed in this beautiful property for one night and recieved absolutely fantastic serivice. Alan, Gabrielle and Jack couldn't have done enough for us... Fantastic family room and lovely decor! Oysters in the boat house are a must

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwinefinedine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

A huge thank you for your review. Alan, Gabi, and Jack are each a tremendous credit to Cameron, and I sincerely appreciate your lovely acknowledgement of the member of our team that helped make your stay so memorable. Thank you also for your recommendation of our family rooms, décor, and the delicious Oysters in our Boathouse restaurant.
I hope to welcome you and your family back in the very near future!

Kind Regards,
John Keating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My boyfriend took me here as a suprise and i was blown away by pulling up and the car being parked for us to the service at the front desk and being welcomed by the bag pipes... we got everthing hand carried up to the room by a lovely scouse gentleman who couldnt do more for us.. i was blown away with the suite and everthing in it.. then we stepped out on the balcony and go the most incredible view ever.... all this was perfect enough with the hand made choc and hand written welcome card addressed to us and then my boyf got down on one knee and proposed... it was truley the most romantic place he could have done it... i loved the whole expereince and would recommend to everyone to experience this.....

Room Tip: You get good deals so watch out for them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Se_Lou_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

A huge congratulations on your recent engagement! It is wonderful to learn that Cameron was the perfect destination for your partner to propose (and also ideal for a wedding), and thank you for conveying such an idyllic picture of the setting, from the Scottish piper at the entrance to the stunning view from the balcony of your executive suite! I am also delighted to learn that you were so well looked after by our Chief Concierge Alan, who also offers his congratulations.
Thank you for your review, and I would be delighted to welcome you back …

Kind Regards,
John Keating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have been using the dependencies of Cameron house for a couple of years now inviting our customers to join us for diner once a year. The service at Cameron house only gets better! Superbly decorated, friendly and very helpful staff. Every year our guests are extremely happy with the choice of venue. If you are looking for a five stars place to hold a party this is it!

Room Tip: get the lake front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaynaraSegurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

A huge thank you for your review. I am genuinely delighted to learn that we have proven to be such a great resort for you to entertain your important clients, and really do appreciate you bringing these valued guests to Cameron. It is tremendous to learn that you find our hotel interior to be so well upholstered, and even better to discover that the friendly helpful nature of our team contributes to Cameron being your choice of venue each year (and that you find the level of service delivered from our team to be continually enhancing).
I hope to welcome you and your clients back in the New Year, and wish you all the very best,

Kind Regards,
John Keating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
6.4 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
6.2 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $42 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the extensive fire within the main building of the hotel on Monday, December 18th, Cameron House Hotel, the Leisure Club and the food & beverage areas within the main hotel are now temporary closed. A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing