We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want fish & chips this is the one in Balloch”

palombos of balloch
Ranked #14 of 36 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: British
Description: scotlands finest traditional fish and chips. all produce sourced locally and use as many local suppliers as possible. right on the banks of bonnie loch lomond. also including fine bed and breakfast rooms. Eat, drink and relax.
Restaurant details
Description: scotlands finest traditional fish and chips. all produce sourced locally and use as many local suppliers as possible. right on the banks of bonnie loch lomond. also including fine bed and breakfast rooms. Eat, drink and relax.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“You want fish & chips this is the one in Balloch”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Does what it says on the tin. Always fresh, you may have to wait but that's a good thing. Now located across from Balloch green

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CraigiefortScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    15
    16
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ignorant staff”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I went to Palombos recently after the Lomond Folk Festival.
I was going to have a take away which in itself was pricey, however the portions did look good and my mum decided she wanted to sit down in their cafe to eat.
I say cafe because thats what it is, a greasy spoon which they are trying to pass off as a restaurant.
The portions of chips were absolutley lousy and when my boyfriend complained the waitress was very rude, she seemed to take it as a personal insult and preceeded to dump our condiments on the table without a word and with her face tripping her!!!!
She then ignored us and left another waitress to clear our tables.
All in all it was not good value for money.
Not to be recommended if you want a decent fish supper and service with a smile.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MysticJodie209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best chippy in the area”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Best ever chips from a chippy are in here. I would recommend the sausage, fish, black pudding,haggis suppers. Other things are probably nice but that's all I have had out of here ( not all in the one day)
take away or sit in, spoiled for choice. if it's nice grab a chippy and sit down by the river side or in the park, or sit in if raining.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank folkie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local Chippie”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Excellent service and quality of freshly cooked food. Staff very friendly, sit in available as well as take away.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Millienumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Excellent fish and chips with licensed premises. Quick and friendly service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Motorist626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed palombos of balloch also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to palombos of balloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing