We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Value”

palombos of balloch
Ranked #15 of 35 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: scotlands finest traditional fish and chips. all produce sourced locally and use as many local suppliers as possible. right on the banks of bonnie loch lomond. also including fine bed and breakfast rooms. Eat, drink and relax.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We often go here as I am Coeliac and this is the only Fish and Chip Shop that does Gluten Free. We live near Helensburgh which has many Fnd C shops none of which do G.F. My partner isnt Coeliac but has same as me as the batter is out of this world, fish fresh, fresh, fresh! The staff are very good especially the wee blond girl at counter who keeps track of everything!! Excellent value too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank allison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    15
    13
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fish and chips”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was the first time in ages that I have finished a portion of fish and chips. The meal was excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rwb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Chippy”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

There are 2 chip shops in Balloch and being local I would recommend the other one opposite the train station.
No comparison

Helpful?
Thank TheladyinredScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent cheap fish and chips”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a place the locals go: both the fish and chips are excellent with nice fat chips devoid of grease -- fabulous -- and the prices are as low as the service is cheerful! Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fish and chips mania!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Best fish and chips in Balloch and free WiFi! The kids just loved it!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrOtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed palombos of balloch also viewed

Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire
 

Been to palombos of balloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing