We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By yon bonnie Loch reside in luxury with great views.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cameron Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cameron Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“By yon bonnie Loch reside in luxury with great views.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The lodges at Cameron House resort are memorable. High ceilings and plenty of room to spread out both inside and outside on the balcony. Very clean and tidy with good quality fitting and fixtures. A home from home with 3 double beds and three TVs for those Scottish days with a little light rain.
The outside activities were a little expensive for what you could get and the area some were held in were a little faded and needed a little TLC. The value for money at the Boathouse restaurant was poor, reasonable food but unreasonable prices. £210 for 6 including 2 children was excessive. One persons was served very late and an item not requested was charged after assurance it would not be charged. The car park was potholed and those were full of water, not good.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms were all good, choose a Lodge facing south for the sun on the balcony. Even close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan R, General Manager at Cameron Lodges, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in our high quality and spacious lodge. We do pride ourselves on the standard of accommodation we provide and the excellent facilities on the resort. I will pass your comments to our Hotel General Manager with regard to the restaurants and costs. I do hope I can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Allan Reich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    89
    38
    8
    7
See reviews for
153
81
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Absolutely stunning very modern lodges, lovely quiet area and great views. The lodges were so big you could literally fit about 20 people in there comfortably!! We were just gutted we only stayed a few nights! The only negative I would say is the early check out, felt quite rushed to leave as staff turned up to start cleaning around us. But i guess this cant be avoided if they are booked up! Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our break at the lodges, the interior of the lodge was clean, bright and comfortable with all the mod-cons and facilities you would need for a self catering break. The facilities at cameron house were great, lovely swimming pool and gym and I had a manicure at the beauty bar which was fab. My other half had a round of golf at the carrick, resort staff organised everything for us and were very helpful. Would definitely recommend and will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeScotChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan R, General Manager at Cameron Lodges, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor. It is great to have feedback from you that you had a really enjoyable break on our beautiful lodges. We do have fabulous facilities here and guests can have a very busy time doing these or just relax in our leisure club at Cameron House or the spa at The Carrick. I am delighted to find our staff very helpful in organising everything for you and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Allan Reich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll & Bute
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Booked Afternoon Tea for three (two adults and child) as a celebration and on arriving, had only set out two places and not where requested with a window view. Immediately apologetic, waitress placed us in a bay and ordered enough for three. Took a long time form arrival to restaurant to the arrival of the tea - upto 25 minuies - but worth the wait. Individual coffee pots enough for two cups each and excellent quality of brewed coffee. Selection of sandwiches and cakes was superb but perhaps, few more finger sandwiches, as it was approaching 230 for 3 and had waited a long time. Overall three fingers each with three varieties of filling: veggie, fish and meat. Individual cakes were lovely, again three varieties and enough for one of each variety. Lastly, the half dozen dainty scones were brilliant, both plain and fruit, with cream and selection of preserves. And as we left some, the waitress even packed them up neatly in a lovely Cameron House bag. Great touch.

Room Tip: Order an aperitif, as wait for cake and sandwich stand, with coffee and tea, may take upto 25 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaneBBArgyll_Bute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Absolutely beautiful place, you would not believe you are still in Scotland. Gorgeous getaway, we had a huge suite room with amazing en suite bathroom, worth every penny. It is expensive but you get full use of spa and pool facilities and the view is lovely. The Boat House Restaurant has incredible food and wine. A must visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWilliam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan R, General Manager at Cameron Lodges, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank your for your comments which we have taken on board. As discussed with our manager at the time, we will review the heating as we have never been informed of any issues in this lodge previously. I am sorry that this has detracted from what should have been a fabulous stay with us. I hope that you come back to stay with us and give us the opportunity to demonstrate what a tremendous resort that we have here.

Kind Regards


Allan Reich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in the hotel on a previous visit, we were expecting something of a similar standard in terms of decor and comfort in the lodge. It was far from it. While clean and reasonably comfortable, the lodge was tired and dated. There were no provisions at all on arrival - no tea, coffee milk etc. nor were there any detergent tablets for washing machine. Toiletries were only in one bathroom. Floors and sofas were stained. For the 5* prices we were paying, we were disappointed by the overall standard and will not return (tho' the hotel looked as nice as ever)!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank QuincyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan R, General Manager at Cameron Lodges, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you found the lodge to be clean and comfortable and I do take on board your comments about the lodge being tired and dated. We are in the process of a refurbishment programme. Please accept my apologies that the lodge was not up to your expectations and your comments will be fed back to the relevant departments. I hope I can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Allan Reich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Booked a 3 bedroom lodge for a family celebration. Whilst the views and the weather could not have been kinder to us, we were let down by the poor decor and cleanliness of the lodge. Couldnt quite understand why the "lodge committee" had decided it was appropriate to put toiletries in only one bathroom. The main hotel staff were not helpful and in fact the concierge sent us to the marina to get coffee, only to find it was closed on arrival! The boathouse views did not disappoint either but unfortunately the service let it down again. Waited over an hour for our main course to arrive and then our drinks arrived sometime later. Not quite the 5* service we had expected for the price!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graze65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan R, General Manager at Cameron Lodges, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and I am incredibly sorry that as a Resort we did not live up to your expectations. We are undergoing a lodge refurbishment and with regard to the toiletries, the owners' committee feel that the outlay of putting toiletries in every bedroom would be reducing the monies available for refurbishment and this will be looked at on a yearly basis so may in fact change.

Again, I apologise that we did not deliver the great all round stay that you should have enjoyed and I hope that you do return and allow us the opportunity to demonstrate what a tremendous resort that we have here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.0 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bruach Lodge
Bruach Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Lodges

Property: Cameron Lodges
Address: Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodges are situated on the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, within the grounds of the world-renowned five-star resort, Cameron House. This truly is Scottish luxury reborn. Resplendent with leisure club, pool, bar/restaurant and grill all waiting just for you. Add to this, a great family restaurant on the loch, a cheeky nine hole golf course and beauty bar. Cameron House lodges offer an exceptional range of one, two, three and four bedroom self-catering lodges that offer the privacy of home with the benefit of having luxury resort facilities. Each luxury lodge has spacious bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, covered balconies and wonderful views of the resort, golf course or Loch Lomond. The award winning Spa at Cameron House and championship Carrick golf course are just 2 miles away and easily accessible via regular, free shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cameron Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Luxury Hotel Alexandria
Cameron Lodges Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing