We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A night to remember!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albannach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A night to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I have just had the most wonderful stay at Albannach Bed and Breakfast. We had booked one night with another couple and wished that we could have stayed longer. Jim and Margaret greeted us at the door with big smiles and made us most welcome in their home. Each of our large bedrooms were modern and spotlessly clean with all the facilities you would find in a top rated hotel. Jim is great front of house with a fund of stories and Margaret cooks a fabulous breakfast. The best scrambled egg I have had for a long time. If looking for a B&B close to Loch Lomond, phone Albannach first. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any room would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
81
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Thanks Jim and Margaret for wonderful accommodation and hospitality. We were there for a wedding in botruich castle and used the hotel as our base for 2 days. Great attention to detail everything you could ask for on offer for breakfast, and great company in Jim and Margaret.
will look forward to coming back.

Lynn Kevin and kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at Albannach a few weeks ago with some uni friends for a short post-exam trip to see the loch. We were blown away by the hospitality shown to us by Jim and Mags. The room was gorgeous - spacious, clean and full of amenities. The breakfast was delicious and varied (and even catered especially to vegetarians! We were offered recommendations and Jim and Mags did everything they could to accommodate us. They even rang us to check if we'd got lost! We would definitely stay here again and look forward to returning soon. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Albannach B&B for 2 nights. We got a warm welcome, a lovely spacious and clean bedroom and excellent breakfasts (including a veggie one). We brought our dog with us and our hosts were welcoming and relaxed about that - one of the reasons that we chose the Albannach in the first place. We would definitely recommend it and return. T be honest, the town itself isn't the most beautiful, but the Albannach has a lovely feeling to it, so once you're in the door that doesn't matter. And with the national park nearby, the hills and the John Muir long distance walks, you can't ask for more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoostyDug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Sadly out trip was to attend a funeral....Jimmy took our booking from his hospital bed!...hence the title.....another couple of nights at our favorite wee place....given the occassion both Jimmy and Magaret were extremley considerate of our feelings.....still managed a bit of banter with Jimmy though....again room was spotless and nothing too much trouble for our generous hosts....My husband and I cannot recommend this little Jewel highly enough....thanks so much Jimmy and Magaret for your kind words that helped to ease our pain.....such a wonderful couple

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CillDroichid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My second stay at the Albannach and just as good as I remembered. Warm welcome, lovely rooms, friendly hosts and excellent breakfast. You don't need to go any where else! Very handy jumping off point for Loch Lomond and other tourist spots.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CillDroichid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed @ room #4. That was really awesome. The owner family were really warm, and the room was as comfortable as a you would never imagine. I can advice to everybody to stay here.
Don't waste your time by searching any other accomodation to stay in Alexandria. Just Call or e-mail to that lovely family they would really help you by all means available and really good price.
Thanks a lot. I would like to come again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayhan Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
2.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunnyside B&B
Sunnyside B&B
#2 of 26 in Balloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queen of the Loch
Queen of the Loch
#1 of 26 in Balloch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albannach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albannach Bed and Breakfast

Property: Albannach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 274 Main Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 0NU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Hotel Class:4 star — Albannach Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Albannach Bed And Breakfast Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing