We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““” Clean,Lovely Home stay with nice décor and surroundings ……..””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Himalayan Abode Home Stay
Ranked #1 of 16 Joshimath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““” Clean,Lovely Home stay with nice décor and surroundings ……..””
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I too stayed in this wonderful home stay after my Valley of flowers Trek. I cannot extol it's virtues high enough. the staff were very helpful and welcoming.. Good location! The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Free high speed internet. The menu choice excellent and lovely fresh fruit etc.. I will certainly recommend this Home Stay and would stay there again........

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guptamohini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
14
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Himalayan Abode is truly as the name suggests - a home surrounded by the majestic mountains, breath taking scenery and enconsed in nature. But that is just the external beauty. The home itself lends to the charm of the place. Serene, clean to a fault and well maintained the rooms welcome you from your first step. The staff are quietly efficient looking after all you needs.
We were 4 girls and two guys who took a stop over at the abode both ways to and from our Kuari Pass / Curzon's trail trek. Mr Ajay Bhatt the owner and his family just extended themselves to our group like true family -be it while guiding us on the best routes or serving us meals. We did not feel that we were so many miles away from home. All this without being intrusive or interfering. A truly warm stay. Highly recommended. A prime example of following the age old doctrine : Atithi Devo Bhava!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NMerchant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had been to Himalayan Abode with group of 6 freinds for our Kuari Pass Trek (1st Week of May 2013) and Group of 16 Persons for Valley of Flower Trek. (August 2012)
Its an amazing experience to stay at Himalayan Abode and very homely environment.The hospitality, the facilites, the location, the courtesy of the staff will give 10 out of 10.
The owner Mr. Ajay Bhatt is very helpful and courteous and has a very vast experience in Skiing, Trekking, Etc.
He is very flexible and very accomodating in nature, never ever will make your feel away from home.
If you are visiting / passing by Joshimath then this is the place to stay with all the amenities and spacious rooms with a view.
Experience it!!!! and have wonderful memories to take back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jayesh2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I feel glad to write this review because our group has experienced remarkable service consistently at this Guest house. Among the guest house at Joshimath which are similar to Himalayan Abode at Joshimath, the Himalayan Abode Guest house gives homely environment.

Our group of 20 trekkers stayed in the guest house and rooms were neatly maintained.
This is an amazing place to stay where you feel closer to the nature, you will not be disappointed staying at this guest house.
Early Morning you can see snow clad mountains from your room, Sun rays will fall in your room & hear Sound of Alaknanda River.
We love and prefer to stay at Himalayan Abode. Person can witness Elephant Mountain from Guest house, Alaknanda River flows near Gust house & opposite there is beautiful water falls.
Guest house is 5KMS away from Joshimath City which is calm and good for meditators.

Room Tip: You will definitely enjoy being at Himalayan Abode Guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RamBhagavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I am surprised by any negative reviews about this homestay- our family of four had a fantastic time. If you plan to visit this area and need some expert advice, then you must contact the owner, Ajay, and stay here! He can arrange anything and knows everybody in Joshimath and Auil and is an expert on this part of India.

Don't come expecting a five-star hotel. This is a home stay! But the facilities are great- hot water with a push of a button, a generator for electricity so there is power during outages in the town, and a clean and comfortable room. Ajay went above and beyond to accommodate us on our stay. I hadn't realized there was no TV/DVD, but Ajay was happy enough to arrange to get one in our room to entertain the kids while my husband and I relaxed on the balcony. The food was great and my kids were delighted by the puppy and happily played for hours with the cook's daughter (she spoke no English, but that didn't seem to matter!). It was a true home stay experience.

We came to ski the Himalayas and were thoroughly enchanted. Be warned- the trip takes 8 hours by car from Rishikesh, even though it is only 160 miles away. The road at some points was treacherous and we were very thankful that Ajay had hired such a good driver for our family. It was truly and Indian adventure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mvmalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I just visited this place a week time ago and there is no hot, our room was not very clean and after many time we ask to change the room, they said that they have given the best room, we stayed that night and check-out very early in the morning and bookd other hotel Dornagiri and then we had proper shower, this one part of Complain. In the begining of reservation we had chat with Mr. Ajay Bhatt and they given one rate and when we deposit the advance payment then he told me that the rate has been revised just two days after, how it could be possible, as i was reading the review on trip advisor and i thought this really this is interesting Guest House BUT Not at all recommended for Night stay. Bed was also too hard and you can not sleep well... over our experinec was very poor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We travelled Auli in the month of January 2013. We all are friends and stay there for two nights. Place is nice, neat and clean, but little far from market. Food is also good but a little costly. Roome Service is also excellent and mountain view from rooms are fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yash0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshimath
0.0 mi away
Shivalik Valley Resorts
Shivalik Valley Resorts
#2 of 5 in Rudra Prayag
44 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clifftop Club
Clifftop Club
#4 of 4 in Auli
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Tattva
The Tattva
#3 of 16 in Joshimath
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Royal Village - Auli Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Auli D
Hotel Auli D
#9 of 20 in Joshimath
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount View
Hotel Mount View
#11 of 16 in Joshimath
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalayan Abode Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Abode Home Stay

Property: Himalayan Abode Home Stay
Address: Near JP Company, Gref Camp | Marwari Village , Joshimath, Joshimath 246443, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Chamoli District > Joshimath
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Joshimath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalayan Abode is a luxury homestay very conveniently located 5 km away from Joshimath main town at village Marwari, (Near J P company/GREF camp), on Badrinath highway. Accommodation at Himalayan Abode: Himalayan Abode, a luxury homestay, offers very beautiful and well-furnished guest rooms with wooden flooring and attached private bathroom/toilet. All guest rooms have a great view of Alaknanda river, high mountain range and lush green fields Top Floor The Himalayan Abode Rooms • 03 Super Deluxe rooms • Furnished with wooden flooring and large glass pane windows • Private balcony with view of Himalayan Mountain range and Alaknanda River • Attached private bath, toilet • Verandah with mini library and board games Ground Floor Nanda Devi and Nandan Kanan Rooms • 03 Deluxe rooms • Furnished with wooden flooring and dressing area • Large glass pane windows facing Himalayan Mountain range and Alaknanda River • Verandah sit-out facing of Himalayan Mountain range and Alaknanda River • Attached private bath, toilet Annex Building Himalayan Backpacker Rooms • 03 Standard rooms in annex building • Furnished with dressing area • Large glass pane windows facing Himalayan Mountain range and Alaknanda River • Verandah sit-out facing of Himalayan Mountain range and Alaknanda River • Attached private bath, toilet Facilities: • 9 luxurious guest rooms (3 Super Deluxe and 3 Deluxe 03 Standard) furnished with wooden flooring and large glass-pane windows overlooking Himalayan mountain range and river Alaknanda • Attached private bath, toilet in all guest rooms • Geyser in every guest room, 24x7 running hot and cold water • Tea and coffee maker in every guest room • Private balcony to each room on top floor facing Himalayan mountain range and river Alaknanda • Verandah on top floor with mini library and board games • Verandah on ground floor and annex building facing Himalayan mountain range and river Alaknanda • Open Terrace (Yoga mats available upon request, free of cost) • Dining area and kitchen (open from 5.30 Am to 10.30 Pm, serves veg and non-veg meals) • Internet facility / Wi-Fi (free) • Safety deposit boxes (free of cost) • Laundry services (with nominal charge) • Free parking • Pets NOT allowed Activities: • Yoga Training (could be arranged at nominal fee) • Photography, painting, botanical or other excursions (could be arranged for a fee) • Adventure treks, adventure sports, winter trekking, skiing and snowboarding lessons, mountaineering expeditions and other adventure activities can be arranged through Himalayan Snow Runner at applicable costs • We can also arrange cultural experience tours, pilgrimage tours, leisure trips, local sightseeing trips through Himalayan Snow Runner at applicable costs Attractions near Himalayan Abode: • Joshimath Shankaracharya Math and Narasimha temple 5 km • Govind Ghat (start point to Valley of Flowers Trek) 13 km • Auli 14 km • Badrinath 40 km • Mana (last village on India-Tibet border) 65 km • Lata village (famous for Chipko movement) 35km Other assistance • We can assist with your hotel bookings at Ghangria (base village to Valley of Flowers and Hemkund Sahib trek) and Badrinath • We can also arrange tour, trips and hotel bookings for whole of Uttarakhand Himalayas, Tariff Room type Tariff (room only) Per Room, Per Night The Himalayan Abode Rooms Super Deluxe Guest Rooms on Top Floor (total 3 rooms) Nanda Devi and Nandan Kanan Rooms Super Deluxe Guest Rooms on Ground Floor (total 3 rooms) Backpacker Rooms Super Deluxe Guest Rooms in Annex building (total 3 rooms) Tariff policy 1. The above room rates are applicable upto 31 March 2015 2. Check-in time is 2 pm and check-out time is 12 noon 3. Each room can accommodate upto 2 adults and 2 kids OR maximum of 3 adults 4. Extra floor mattress (1 No) is available at INR 700 per night 5. Extra blankets are available at INR 350 per night per blanket 6. Please note the meal options and cancellation policy below Meals Himalayan Abode's dining and kitchen serves delicious hot meals from 5.30 Am to 10.30 Pm. A La Carte menu offers variety of Indian, continental and Chinese cuisine. We serve vegetarian, non-vegetarian and Jain preparations. We are happy to offer meal options as under: • Breakfast: INR 200 • Lunch: INR 300 (Veg ) or INR 400 (Non-Veg ) • Dinner: INR 300 (Veg ) or INR 400 (Non-Veg ) • A la carte Chargeable as per menu card • Mineral Water INR 20 per bottle (1 ltr) Cancellation policy • Before 15 days of check-in date - 85 % refund • Within 15 days to 11 days of check-in - 50% Refund • Within 10 days of check-in date - No Refund ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Himalayan Abode Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing