We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A RETURN VISIT”

The Admiral Rodney Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Martley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European, Spanish, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Good quality Country Pub/Restaurant
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A RETURN VISIT”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Although not my "local" this is the fourth time I have used the Admiral Rodney over the past 4 or 5 months and the second time with my group of 20 walkers. Once again Sarah and her team looked after us brilliantly and made sure the lunchtime meals were served as soon as our walk was over. This is not always the case in a lots of pubs when we are often made to wait even though our food has been pre-ordered. With 20 people to cater for the range of food ordered is quite extensive but the quality at the Admiral Rodney is always excellent, delicious and served hot. No doubt we will return again in the not too distant future for yet another local walk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    22
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“People who care”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We came for a family meal out and the gas ran out during the meal so we could not have our mains. The staff could not have been better. The owner was genuinely distraught that we could not have our main. It is rare to find a place with staff so dedicated. We will certainly be coming back as the food we did have was superb and the beer and atmosphere excellent!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Economysir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“TOP DRAWER”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Visited the Admiral Rodney recently as part of a group of 22. We pre-ordered our lunchtime meals before leaving for a long walk and we were all very hungry when we returned. The food was served very quickly and efficiently by cheerful serving staff and everyone enjoyed it. The food was excellent. The new manager, Sarah, and her team can be very proud.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Although the menu could be described as standard pub fare, the food was far from standard. Starters and mains were all well prepared - how many times these days do you get an actual salad that has been made up by hand rather than something out of a bag? The deep -fried brie was similarly hand-prepared rather than out of a packet, but top prize must go to the jumbo fish and chips. The fish was enormous, fresh and tasty!

The house wines - tempranillo and pinot grigio were also very acceptable and good value.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and allowed us to vary elements of our orders - again evidence that the food is not standard out of a box pub fare.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average food but smaller portions”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I've been here a few times with my family over the last few years (probably every 3-4 months or so), but have noticed a marked reduction in portion sizes in my last couple of visits. Food is ok (at best) but is generally 'standard pub fare' although is reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1958david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Admiral Rodney Inn also viewed

Martley, Malvern Hills
Wichenford, Malvern Hills
 
Clifton-upon-Teme, Malvern Hills
Whitbourne, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Admiral Rodney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing